We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heritage property - must visit once”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chail
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
HPTDC The Chail Palace
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Chail
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Chail is a very small town in himachal just 45 kms from Shimla, or about 30 kms from NH22. Hotel Chail palace is a big estate occupying some of the vantage points overlooking valley. There are forest treks inside estate. While staying palace is quite a luxury, other low cost yet interesting options including log huts and himneel block. The palace once owned by king of Patiala, now managed by tourism department of himachal pradesh, is built on lines of british Manor houses architecture.
We stayed one night in super delux log huts. It was really beautiful and decorated really well. It is located in middle of forest and is quite an experience of its own kind, and just outside the door there is a swing and a point which overlooks Shimla valley. However, to some people it can seem a bit spooky ;). We stayed another couple of nights at Diwan room, main palace, diwan room has east facing window which lets room filled with sunlight in morning and it really feels good. Interiors are again good. Room and the hotel looby, reception area, gives a royal feel. On a down side I didnt quite enjoyed the food served by restaurant, however i will discount them on that.

Room Tip: Super Delux Log huts - Simply awesome for their price. A night in woods, is a great experience at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParagAwadhiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had made no prior booking as we had decided to stay at the hotel after seeing the rooms.
We reached the hotel on 1st Oct. evening and asked to see the rooms. We were shown the rooms ranging from Rs. 6000 / day to Rs. 2500 per day. All the rooms shown had a smell of stale air as if the rooms were not opened for a long time. All the rooms had worn out carpets and were quite dusty. We gave up the idea of staying at this much hyped up hotel. The best part was at the reception we were asked to pay Rs. 100 each per person to be shown the rooms. The front desk executive told us that any one entering the premises have to pay Rs. 100 as admission fee and in case of staying at the hotel the same will be adjusted against the room tariff.
Anyway it cost us Rs. 400 just to see the rooms.
Please stay away from this much hyped up hotel and nothing we saw reminded us of the royalty that stayed here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank UDAY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The location of The Palace, Chail on the Rajgarh Hill, and spread over a vast thickly forested area is the most unique thing about the hotel. The Palace is built on a grand scale with spacious rooms and amazing views of the surrounding cedar and oak forests.

The Palace, Chail, offers the nature - lover ample opportunity for enjoying the scenic beauty of the Himalayas. Staying at The Palace, the visitor can use it as a base for exploring the numerous places of interest in the area. Trips to Kufri, Simla, and the wildlife sanctuaries nearby can be conveniently made from Chail . For the spiritually inclined, the Sidh Baba Mandir, The Mahakali Mandir and the more than 100 years old Chail Gurudawara are only short drives away from The Palace.

The Palace Hotel has an excellent restaurant, bar , cafe , ayurvedic massage center as well as conference facilities. For the sports minded , there is Tennis Court, Table Tennis, Billiard Room as well as a play ground with swings etc. for children. Recently the management has also introduced adventure sports and horse riding.

In other words , The Palace is complete holiday resort catering to all tastes and budgets.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms are bright and sunny with spectacular views of the hills and forests around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We took a short holiday to Chail - a quaint hill station near Shimla - and stayed at the HPTDC-owned The Palace Hotel. The old-world charm of hotel nestled in the salubrious environs of chail made our stay truly memorable. The staff of the hotel particularly the manager Ms Sarla were most caring and prompt. The food cooked to perfection only compliments the ambience. Will visit again and again...

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ashishvachhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We went there on our mini-moon and it was amazing. Truly amazing. My wife still loves the place after 4 months.

Pros:
- Excellent food. I still have the taste of their "Vegetable Zalfrazi" in my mouth.
- Superb rooms.
- Excellent service.
- Very big property.
- Great location.
- Daily HPTDC folk dance in garden area.

Cons:
- Some rooms stink. But, staff was friendly enough to quickly spray the room freshener.
- Almost nothing else.

If you go to Chail, this is the absolute best option. Little overpriced though.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shamittomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

A very nice and grand palace but lacks the maintenance it deserves. Food quality was so so but the rooms were quite comfortable with a very nice view all around. The peace and tranquility of the place makes up for all the shortcomings. Too many monkeys ruin your stroll in the garden but indoors is nice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We have been staying in the Chail Palace regularly for the last 7-8 years. The natural beauty , the peace and calm of the surrounding forests, and the fresh clean mountain air is what brings us back here again and again. The rooms in the Palace are spacious and have wonderful views of the surrounding forest covered hills. The hotel has numerous walking paths and garden is unique because such large gardens are rare in hill stations. The staff and management of the hotel are extremely courteous and make us feel welcome. The service is excellent and food is consistently good. Like us, there are several other guests who are 'regulars' and have been coming every year for years to enjoy the restful ambiance.

Room Tip: All the rooms on the first of the main Palace are bright and airy and have breathtaking views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shivanibabbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chail
0.3 mi away
Maple Resort Chail
Maple Resort Chail
#4 of 13 in Chail
121 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ekant
Hotel Ekant
#1 of 13 in Chail
195 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Chail Residency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Kasauli Regency Hotel
Kasauli Regency Hotel
#7 of 17 in Kasauli
252 reviews
2.4 mi away
Vue Magique Resorts & Camps
2.3 mi away
Tarika's Jungal Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HPTDC The Chail Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HPTDC The Chail Palace

Address: | Solan, Chail 173217, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Solan District > Chail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Chail
Price Range: £21 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is run by Himachal Pradesh Tourism Development Corporation Ltd. The Palace was built in 1891 by Maharaja of Patiala and is a Premium Heritage Property. Distance from Shimla to Chail is 45 km. The suites, rooms and cottages are sumptuously furnished with ornate and antique furniture with fire place. The Palace has Kings Dining Restaurant (Serving Multi Cuisine Indian, Chinese, Continental & Himachali food),Royal Bar, Conference Hall Capacity 70 Pax Theatre style), Open Air Cafe Royal, Ayurveda Rejuvenation Centre, Guide for trekking, Lounge, Taxi on demand, Laundry facility,Gift Shop, Billiards, Badminton, Lawn Tennis, Intercom, Cricket, Table Tennis, Children Park, Doctor on call, Drive in with Parking Area, Instant Reservation of HPTDC Hotels and Luxury Coaches ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hptdc The Chail Palace Hotel Chail
Hptdc The Hotel Chail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing