We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
HPTDC The Chail Palace
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Chail
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
504 results
Traveller rating
150
219
78
36
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
150
219
78
36
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslog hutsmain buildingchail palacehimneel blockmaharaja suitehimachal tourismentry feeantique furnitureroyal experienceroyal touchthe cottageswarm watermaharaja patialafirst floorhuge lawnthe ground floorpine forest
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
304 - 309 of 504 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

It was like a ghost House nothing was there. The location was good but the architecture has not used it.. Kilometers far , there was nothing.
It was like a Dangerous Ghost House..
Please don't go there and don't stay.. it is the wastage of money .. In the hotel there was the smell of ceiling. Specially the Maharaja Room was like a garbage.. A stupid bed there. No much lights were there. Only darkness. It is made fake bathroom as at the time of the Maharaja there was not such Bathrooms
This review is of 23 peoples who went with me .

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shankygupta79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

we stayed at this palace cum hotel for one night and 2 days. was a terrible experience in every way. we almost felt stuck without anything to do. the lawn is beautiful and the main attraction of the hotel. apart from that there is almost nothing to do. the palace looks absolutely haunted in night time. with huge number of monkeys outside its almost impossible to step out after sun set. though the property is built in huge land, they have no provision for any entertainment in or out of the palace. we took a walk around to see the log huts. they are so far away from the hotel and when it gets dark its hard to imagine how someone survives in there. food variety in the hotel is very limited. hotel booking amount on website doesn't include taxes. it also doesn't include any meals at all. there are hptdc buses operating at cheap prices between Shimla and Chail which was quite a help. apart from that, hotel needs big time renovation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bharti7980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I went just as winter was ending and had a great time. The service was excellent - much better than a private heritage hotel we stopped at first. The prices were very reasonable - we styed in the Maharani suite - so my impressions are based on that. Large spacious and comfortable rooms and bathrooms. Probably the best two person jacuzzi anywhere in my world travels. I found the service wonderful.
The only real challenge is that when it gets cold, the space heaters provided would not be adequate for the large room and the bathroom would be cold. The views around of the mountain peaks were spectacular and one does not haave the tourist traffic of Simla and Kufri but you hve the imilar views and elevation. Come here to relax and enjoy ambience.The HPTDC has done a wonderful job. I am not sure that the rooms in the lower elevation would be as charming but then if your budget is limited, you can stay there and enjoy the grounds and the main building.

Room Tip: I loved the Maharani Suite
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atamrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Eew sums it up for this place. Filthy rooms and bathrooms. Insects, cobwebs, dirty trash bins, peeling paint, weird smells, questionable stains on furniture, walls,bedding and towels. All that for 5 star prices is just messed up. Won't stay here ever again. The only saving grace was lawn and scenic views for which the rs 100 day pass is enough. Another HP government mess.....it needs to be privatized right away. They say (lie) the cheapest rooms are booked to maximize revenue but all the cheap rooms were empty. Food was mediocre and so was service. Overall rating 2/10

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Anuj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We visited chail and this was showing as one of the places to visit so it had to be visited. We planned to stop over for Tea and snacks. You are charged INR 100 per person to enter the Palace premises(with your vehicle ofcourse).There is only one restaurant. The palace is average but their Lawn is beautiful and there might have been a cafe there which only has a sign board left now. You could sit for hours and not be bored. The washrooms are not clean and lack basic amenities.I was just a visitor and not staying so cannot comment on the rooms and other services. The staff help was average.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neha b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews