We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really bad place to stay” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Grand Sunset

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Grand Sunset
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Chail
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really bad place to stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

- Very dirty room (Premium delux)
- Broken TV / Remote
- Broken Shower
- Flys in the room
- No soap & towel, when asked they provided one which should be used for wiping the floors

This stay has left me wondered how in a country where labor is cheap, the hotel management can not get it cleaned and have amenities repaired. So much for incredible India !!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksachdeva17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harish K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Grand Sunset, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi ksachdeva17

We promise to take up your complaint with utmost concern. Following are the points that you mentioned -

- Very dirty room (Premium delux)
This category of room is most preferred by our customer, to be frank we got some complaints regarding the delayed service, but this type of feedback we are getting for first time.

- Broken TV / Remote
Request you to share your room number, so that we can check the same. But if you are having the problem, you could have shared this with our reception staff, so that they can change your room, or provide you the new remote control.

- Broken Shower -
Request you to share your room number, so that we can check the same.

- Flys in the room -
This problem is being reported by many of our customers, but we will assure that it will be taken cared by coming season.

- No soap & towel, when asked they provided one which should be used for wiping the floors -
Again we are getting this type of feedback for first time, but we will check if you share us your booking details.


As you can see that many of your feedback is coming to us for the first time, which according to us is not at all genuine. But we will recheck these points & make sure that the problem will be taken cared of by coming season.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    87
    18
    11
    14
See reviews for
131
34
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

the hotels location is nice, the rooms are spacious with nice view from the glass window. the major lag is a nice balcony in the room. the interiors of the rooms are just average. Food was not so good and the service was slow. they have sufficient parking in the front of the hotel. its easy to locate as it is on the main road. I was lucky to enjoy a nice rain on the terrace with my friends. The terrace are common. a budget hotel.

Room Tip: 302 and 303 have nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnuragOlhyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harish K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Grand Sunset, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi AnuragOlhyan

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Most of our customers prefer Premium & Family Suite rooms because they are having very nice view of valley. We dont prefer balconies in the rooms, because as per experts, in these hilly areas their might be a possibility that some animal can enter into your balcony, & troublesome our guests, because of our management dont prefer balconies in the private rooms. But we are having a facility of common terrace for our customers. But all your feedback is being taken, & will try to serve you better in your next stay :)

Thanks
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here for a night.....its a small, neat and clean hotel with basic amenities like clean rooms, running hot water, fresh towels etc. The kitchen has its timings, you need to order early to get your food on time, dinner served was satisfying.

The hotel has a nice parking, which is very rare and essential in the hills. Although the hotel is 3 kms away from Chail market, its location makes up to it and the view of the valley from the terrace and some of the rooms is wonderful.

Room Tip: Premium delux rooms have a view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wickedvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harish K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Grand Sunset, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi wickedvik

Thank you very much for your genuine review. We know our hotel is small, & only provide some of the basic necessities, like towels, running hot water etc, but I would like you to tell you that we are also having other amenities like table tennis, carom etc which is free of cost for our customers. And we are also planning to introduce some more amenities like internet, video games for children & many others, which will help our customers to have nice time with their stay. For rooms, we prefer you to take Premium rooms & Family Suite rooms for your next stay.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

we stayed for three nights four days with four roooms in june month,,it was nice..awesome place,Hospitality was nice,,food was awesome,rm service excellent,,staff was very friendly,,hotel need improve recreational facility ,,area was not looking nice,,,,no internet in the room,,,,,overall from the Terrace velley view and sunset view looking memorable,,we were be there third time,,,but this time very hot in day time,,please put the fans in lobby and restu... rooms and toilets was well maintained......

Room Tip: i suggest everyone to stayed there,,,,nice and peacefull place and choose the room in valley facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 111Ashwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harish K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Grand Sunset, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi Ashwani

Thank you for your appreciation of our efforts.We usually give food hygiene the utmost priority. Many of our customers appreciate our hotel because of the view they get from room, balcony & terrace. The best valley view you can get from our Premium Deluxe rooms, which are situated at our third & fourth floors. We got a feedback to add more recreational activities in the lobby, for which we will be adding some more things like Chess, Foosball table in the lobby by next season. We are also planning to introduce internet facility at the lobby area. Hope that you will visit our hotel for the fourth time :)

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

nice place for foodies, photography lovers, people who want to relax with family. Big rooms, nice food is the usp. i have been there for four nights in june 14. i suggest everyone to there once it will be good experience.

Room Tip: select premium room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rajivmehta79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harish K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Grand Sunset, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi rajivmehta79

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. As per your review we would able to make out that you must have stayed in one of our Family suite or Premium Deluxe room, which are very spacious, & among them Room Number 307 is a best room because it is having a 360 degree view of the valley. Apart from our rooms, our service & food is also tasty & affordable.

Hope to see you soon at hotel again :)

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Hi everyone. Actually I stayed here in November 2010. At that time it was very newly refurbished. It is located 4km before the town of Chail. But this is a good option as there are 4 hotels only in the town. We were on 3 motorbikes & found a suitable place to park them. The rooms & toilets are very well maintained. That was an off season, only 3 rooms were occupied, but the service was prompt. As it was off season, not all the items in menu were available immediately. Few were available handy n for few we had to hold little patience. The regular food items are good. Inside the hotel, the ambience is good, lobby n the common dining area was very neat n clean. The special attraction was their open terrace towards the valley. One can have break fast while watching the stunning lush green valley, the poly-house nurseries, etc. During dusk you can see sun set very clearly. It has ample of parking space in front. In short it was value for money with such an average budget. From April to Aug its peak season & the rooms are packed. The tariff may also vary. I went to Chail for 2nd time in August 2012 & tried luck with this hotel, but it was packed. I stayed in another hotel. The manager was very cooperative, staff was not very professional though, but again may be due to off season most of them were on off. So it may not be right to judge on their on-season staff.

Hope this review would help. Keep traveling n keep exploring places we have not been.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SirishG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harish K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Grand Sunset, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi SirishG

Firstly I would like to thank you for writing this review, even after 3 years of your stay in our property. I really hope that you had a really nice experience. The location is the USP of our hotel, as we are having a direct view of sunset from most of our rooms. One can also get a beautiful 360 degree view from our terrace. The best valley view you can get from our Premium Deluxe rooms, which are situated at our third & fourth floors. Apart from our rooms, our service & food is also tasty & affordable.

We really see forward to serve you again in season time, you can contact us in our official website to get the best rates.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I live in panchkula.Planned a drive till sadhupul with my family however stretched it till chail .Stayed in this hotel for a night.The guy on the reception at night was rude.Service and staff was good.Enjoyed the view from the balcony.However chail can be hot and recommend the hotel to have fans installed.We had a hard time sleeping due to no fan.The toilet in the room was mess.Enjoyed the scenic beauty and calmness.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angleyes83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harish K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Grand Sunset, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi Angleyes83

Thanks a lot for your review. It is very shocking for us to know that the guy at the reception was rude, because we never got a review like that before. Most of our guest prefer to have their meals on the terrace so that they can enjoy direct valley view, along with the sunset. If you want to have good view from rooms we prefer you to go for Premium Deluxe rooms, as they are having a very beautiful view of the valley. Your feedback about the fan installation is genuine, and we also installed fans in our 90% of our rooms, but in some of the Deluxe rooms, this needs to be done. We assure you that this work will be done by your next visit :)

Seeing forward to serve you again.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chail
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ekant
Hotel Ekant
#1 of 14 in Chail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chail Residency
0.4 mi away
Maple Resort Chail
Maple Resort Chail
#5 of 14 in Chail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Aamod
Aamod
#1 of 3 in Shoghi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
13.6 mi away
Marigold Sarovar Portico
Marigold Sarovar Portico
#13 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tarika's Jungal Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Sunset

Property: Hotel Grand Sunset
Address: Village Mihani, Chail 173217, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Chail
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Chail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Grand Sunset 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Sunset is located at 3 km milestone from Chail. We are one of the biggest hotels in Chail with 20 rooms. Hotel is equipped with all modern and state of the art facilities. We are situated at the most prominent location of Chail, from where each room gives the most exalting and scenic view of Sunset and Sunrise. Each room also offers the picturesque view of the Chail valley and the surrounding Hills and a soothing view of lush Green vegetation of Chail. Nestled at the cool, calm and relaxing serenity of Chail, Hotel Grand Sunset is located at the starting point of Chail which offers the most attractive view of Sunset from every rooms. Not only the sunset, Hotel Grand Sunset offers the best view of Chail valley and the surrounding views of Hills and Lush Green vegetation of Chail. You will find every room an ode to synchronicity, a rare harmony of the classical elegance and modern comfort. Friendly room service is part of ambience. Yet, the desire to look outside is irresistible. Unfold curtains of Glass Windows and an entire Panoramic View of the hills and valleys reveals itself. Coupled with taste of cuisines served, there's just one word... Perfect!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Grand Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing