We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent wedding venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Vere Cranage Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
De Vere Cranage Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cranage
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent wedding venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Cranage specialise in weddings and functions and they did not disappoint when it came to our wedding last year. We booked Cranage mainly because of the friendly staff and we are so happy we did because we were really made to feel like nothing was too much trouble from the very start. Rachel. Our wedding coordinator was fantastic-she thought of every single detail and took all the pressures away from us in planning the day.
Sindu, our 'host/master of ceremonies' was a perfectionist and attended to our every need.
The food is absolutely beautiful and so many people commented on how much they enjoyed their meal.
We upgraded to what must have been the best suite in the hotel for our wedding night-amazing!! We cannot wait to stay again for our anniversary!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahmayberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
SurreyBugs, Great to see you had such a memorable time, while
staying in this special part of Cheshire....
Thank you for specifically highlighting the wonderful team we have
here at Cranage. We are truly blessed to have such
amazing ladies and gentleman working here and they
were so inspired to read your comments.

Thank You!
Warm Regards
Richard Mansell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    395
    202
    100
    57
See reviews for
153
482
16
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Very nice hotel - we stayed Friday and Saturday for a friends wedding. the wedding was wonderful and the staff were brilliant in every way. Food was good too. the room was comfortable and clean. Didn't use the spa/leisure facilities. The only down side was the price of the drinks really. My praise goes to the staff at this hotel as they were all very attentive and accommodating. Especially Toby - he seemed to be in every part of the hotel working and always helpful and professional.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyBugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
SurreyBugs, Great to see you had such a memorable time, while
staying in this special part of Cheshire....
Thank you for specifically highlighting the wonderful team we have
here at Cranage. We are truly blessed to have such
amazing ladies and gentleman working here and they
were so inspired to read your comments.

Thank You!
Warm Regards
Richard Mansell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

stayed at Cranage Hall for a conference, and shared a twin room with a colleague. We shared the cost of a room as with a special discounted offer it was still over £90.00 including breakfast. The room was very small and very tired. The single beds were narrow and the pillows oddly small, the bathroom was dated, with a very un-powerful shower, there was a cobweb hanging from the ceiling and the wall paper was marked and torn. This was not what we expected at all, especially for the high price we had paid to stay at the hotel. The food however was OK, breakfast had lots of variety, as did the lunch (both buffet) and the evening gala meal we enjoyed was reasonable too. The rooms really let Cranage Hall down though, the vast majority of our group were very disappointed as the pictures on the website certainly don't reflect what you get and nor does the price.

Room Tip: I would recommend a premier inn, you will pay a 3rd of the price for triple the quality, if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeicesterDonna79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
LeicesterDonna79,
Thank you for sharing your recent comments with the TA community.
We have received great feedback regarding the venue over the past year and especially that we provide genuine, sincere service at great value for money, therefore I am sorry to see that our venue did not meet your expectations on this occasion and that overall you did not feel we offered true value for money for your stay.

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with honest and sincere feedback.
This will assist us a we continue to improve and strive in our goal of creating
a truly unique conference and event venue.

Warm Regards
Richard Mansell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed here for one night and it was a very enjoyable stay. The staff at reception were very good, and they were very helpful and accommodating with us regards our booking that had become muddled, that was our fault not that of the hotel. The room was comfortable and the food in the bar was very good. And we had very good service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritchiescotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Ritchiescotland, Thank you for sharing your feedback.
Great to see that we managed to recover you, with the
sincere and genuine service that we strive to deliver.
It truly inspires the team to receive such great comments

Thank you!
Warm Regards
Richard Mansell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed here in December as an anniversary celebration with my wife . Can not praise Carnage Hall enough the room was superb the food excellent we also used the gym and pool facilities during our stay and these were also fantastic . Will definitely be going back there again .

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Mark N, Thank you for posting such a great review.
Its great to see you had such an amazing time celebrating
your anniversary with us.

Please come back and see us again soon

Regards
Richard Mansell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rode Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

From the moment we booked our wedding in May 2012 to the morning we left as a married couple on 1st Dec 2013 the team at Cranage were exceptional. Rachel, our wedding coordinator was incredible, making some excellent suggestions and every request we made was never any trouble. Rachel and the team accommodated without any hesitation.

The main part of the building is a stunning old hall with beautiful grounds, a lovely setting for a wedding. There are more recent extended parts of the building which are decorated in keeping with the traditional feel of old hall.

As a wedding venue Cranage is a very well oiled machine. From the moment we arrived from the Church each & every member of staff from the receptionist to the waiters/waitresses were really attentive, again every need & request was catered for.

The Food. WOW! We were given the flexibility to adapt the suggested menu and the food was amazing. 10/10 to the chefs. All our guests commented on how good the food was.

Sindo was our banqueting manger for the day. What a guy. Everything ran on schedule and smoothly. We couldn't believe how amazing the Baird suite looked when Sindo showed us. It was exactly how we had planned and hoped it would look. He even solved a laptop technical issue for the best men, ensuring they could play a very humiliating video of me!! Not great for me but the guests liked it!!

On the night of our wedding there was a Black-Tie Christmas party in the opposite room. We knew we were running the risk of their being another function on near Christmas and were a little nervous about it when we found out. Once again, Cranage went the extra mile to help keep the two functions completely separate. They arranged for a curtain (which looked amazing) to separate the two functions in the main corridor between the Baird and Stephenson suite and put on a drinks reception for the arrival of our evening guests. I expected the upstairs bar to be really busy later in the evening but I didn't see a queue all night and as Cranage is such a big place we felt the other function added to the atmosphere.

Another special mention for Matt (Ops Manager) who managed the door in the evening to ensure everyone arriving for our wedding and the Christmas party knew where to go. Again, everything ran like clockwork.

Cranage really do have an incredible team. The service from all the staff was of a really high standard throughout the weekend.

If we could we would have the day over and over again which I think speaks volumes about Cranage Hall and their team.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyndon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Lyndon H, Thank you for sharing your amazing comments with the TA community.
The team were truly inspired to receive such great feedback and we are so thrilled
you enjoyed your day.
As you mentioned, we could not possibly achieve what we do, if it were not for the
amazing ladies and gentleman who work here at Cranage. Thank you for specifically
noting Rachel, Sindo & Matt - truly shining stars of the venue.

Once again congratulations on your special day! and we look forward to seeing
you back at Cranage soon.

Warm Regards
Richard Mansell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We attended Cranage Hall for a wedding last year, When we arrived the main building looked fabulous and very authentically OLD!! ;-) if you take that an episode of "Most Haunted" was probably filmed there and you are into that sort of thing, then you will love the main house.

As with all Principal Hayley hotels ive stayed in, the staff are always courteous and helpful. I found the place to be spacious and well equipt.

The only problem I see is, the ugly terrace looking hotels rooms which are in full view to the right of the frontage of this beautiful building, really take the authentic sheen off it. there is no contrast between old n new, this is just economic building methods and no attempt to cover it. If they had grown ivy or something all over it, that would have at-least made it look like it belonged there.

The rooms were small and the bed we had in our room must have been also used as a trampoline for the childrens play area, very very bouncy and difficult to get comfortable.

That said, we enjoyed our stay but probably wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: This hotel is used widely for corporate events and as such is equipt for this more than a luxurious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBateman1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
dbateman1980, Thank you for your review, following your recent stay.
Great to seem the team took genuine care of you during your stay
and that you overall enjoyed your stay.
I appreciate the honest feedback regarding your room and am sorry
that our venue accommodation did not meet your expectations.

Hopefully one day you will give us another chance if you are in the area.

Thank you for staying with us

Warm Regards
Richard Mansell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranage
9.0 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
9.5 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
13.9 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
7.5 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cranage Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cranage Estate

Property: De Vere Cranage Estate
Address: Cranage Hall Byley Lane, Cranage, Holmes Chapel CW4 8EW, England (Formerly Cranage Hall)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Holmes Chapel > Cranage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cranage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cranage Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK and Odigeo so you can book your De Vere Cranage Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranage Hall Hotel Cranage
Hall Hotel Cranage
De Vere Cranage Estate Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing