We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Vere Cranage Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cranage
Crewe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wedding”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We got married at Cranage in April and from start to finish, the whole experience was amazing! Our wedding coordinator was Danielle and she was brilliantly helpful throughout. Always available to answer questions and provide ideas and tips to make our day even more perfect.
The facilities at Cranage are great and we had a lot of family staying over the night of our wedding. They all commented on how nice the rooms are. The Byley Suite in particular for myself and my husband is beautiful, a real treat for the bride and groom! The breakfast at Cranage is buffet style with a huge selection to suit even the fussiest of eaters and if you really want to work off the breakfast, the swimming pool is lovely! Though after our special day, we headed for the jacuzzi and sauna instead!
All the staff at Cranage were outstanding, particularly Danielle and Dave who was our Master of Ceremonies on the day. Nothing was too much trouble and he never seemed flustered or stressed. It really puts you at ease.
Cranage is situated in gorgeous grounds, the facilities are great and the rooms are lovely. Cannot recommend it enough for a wedding venue, my husband and I had a perfect day and will definitely be taking some trips up to Cranage to try and re-live some of it!

Room Tip: The Byley Suite is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Woodkinson, Congratulations! & thank you for the amazing support and feedback.
Your amazing comments have truly inspired the team, as we continue our
vision to create a truly unique venue. Thank you for highlighting Danielle and David,
I know they were certainly inspired by your comments.

Were delighted all your guests enjoyed the occasion and thank you
once again for choosing Cranage Hall.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards
Richard Mansell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    410
    204
    103
    58
See reviews for
160
498
17
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Our stay was based on a travel zoo deal which included entrance to Tatton Park 2 course meal and a bottle of wine ,and a standard room . We booked a mid week stay (Thursday ) as we had read that the hotel was used extensively for weddings most weekends . We arrived early as we needed to collect our entrance tickets to Tatton Park and at the same time we checked in as we were informed that our room wasn't yet ready . Tatton Park is a must see attraction if your in the area.
All of the the staff were very attentive and made you feel welcome , the reception staff were polite and very helpful as were the bar staff . I cant understand why you aren't allowed to take the complimentary bottle of wine into the restaurant as I would have thought it would entice other diners into possibly buying wine with their meals (something that may need to change).
The meals were very nice but due to it being a mid week and few diners there was no atmosphere but that's not the hotels fault. , The breakfasts were buffet style hot and plentiful and very good( loved the fresh bread and mini muffins ).
We would use the hotel again if we were in the area. and understand the previous comments that the rooms do resemble a travel inn appearance but for what we paid it was value for money .
Your biggest asset is your wonderful and helpful staff , thanks

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharpyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
SharpyUK, Thank you for the great recommendation!
I agree with you that our Totally Tatton Package is amazing
value for money and am so please you enjoyed your visit
to this special part of Cheshire.
Keep an eye out for our summer deals, which will be out soon!

Look forward to having you stay with us again
Warm Regards

Richard Mansell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atherton, Manchester
Level Contributor
141 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night and 2 full days on a course at the hotel.
1st impressions are of a beautiful period house in manicured grounds , lovely location.
Reception located in the main period building smooth check in.
The rooms are in new build annexes .
Finding your way round can be confusing .
Rooms clean tidy normal hotel stuff - no complaints.
Breakfast and lunch , buffet style , good quality & choice.
Evening meals are pretty expensive for what you great and not the greatest choice , nothing to complain about or rave about either.
Public areas are nicely presented & airy .
There are teas cakes juices etc dotted through the hotel - free flowing throughout the day , plus we had free ice creams one afternoon in the sunshine which was a nice touch.
All the staff i came into contact with were helpful polite and a credit to the hotel.
Going back in July for more of the same - and looking forward to my stay.
Apparently my colleagues said there was a nice gym & pool to use - i was at the bar!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JonathanPaul66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
JonathanPaul66, Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your recent stay at Cranage Hall.
Great to see you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your time at the venue.

We look forward to seeing you again in July, next time you’re in this part of
Cheshire.

Warm Regards
Richard Mansell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Helpful, attentive staff - pretty front house. Buffet style meals- catered for difficult allergies very well. Delicious dinner in main room on first evening. Rooms are comfortable and quiet. Excellent tea and coffee facilities throughout the day.
Good location for a business trip with a group.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Eire_NiMhurchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Eire_NiMhurchu,
Thanks for the great comments regarding your recent business stay at Cranage Hall. Glad you enjoyed it so much! Thank you for staying with us
Warm Regards
Richard Mansell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Booked a surprise Saturday night stay for myself and partner. We rarely get the chance to get away on our own due to family commitments so when the opportunity came up to go away lat weekend I scoured the internet for some last minute deals. There weren't many Saturday night deals available but managed to find an excellent looking deal with great little breaks.
1 nights accommodation with a room upgrade, 3 course meal,free bottle of wine and breakfast.
Sounded too good to be true.....unfortunately it was.
All looked good when we arrived lovely old building and gardens, although the back of the hotel resembles a large high school or office complex.
Check in was easy and straightforward although we were informed there were no room upgrades available!! Don't put it on the offer if you can't fulfil the obligation.
Made our way to the room, it seems the hotel caters mainly for weddings as we passed through a couple on the way, no issues with that.
Got to the room and it was nothing like the images on the internet, beige, drab and shabby would be an accurate description. The tap dripped constantly and the shower temperature control had a mind of its own. I stay in premier inns with work whose rooms are far more stylish, clean and comfortable.
Despite sensing the other halfs disappointment we decided to make the most of it and enjoy a nice dinner in the restaurant.
We cashed in our free bottle of wine voucher before we dined but we had to drink it before going into the restaurant. It wasn't too bad to be honest especially for a complimentary one.
We were seated at a nice table by young, professional and friendly staff.
Orders were placed and the starters arrived suspiciously quickly. I had a chicken spring roll and my partner had the pate. My food was Luke warm at best but tasted ok so I let it go.
For the main event the sirloin steak was ordered (£25 or £7.50 supplement on the deal) as well as spiced chicken breast by an award winning spice chef.
Ordered steak rare it came medium and engulfed in salt. We sent that back I was going to wait but I tried the chicken... Cold and tuff as old boots. That went back. Turns out they sent the wrong order to our table. Replacements arrived steak was cooked rare this time but so were the chips..virtually raw and tasted of soil. Chicken was ok but tasted like a morrisons microwave curry.
We cracked on and had given up on a nice romantic meal and just found it laughable. We ordered deserts cheese and biscuits were fine. I had the sticky toffee pudding.. This wasn't just cold it was chilled it hadn't seen any heat whatsoever, had to send that back.
Worst dining experience we have ever had. I have to say that the staff were really apologetic and had a reasonable understanding of customer service, they didn't charge us for our wine or surcharge..fair play but that's not the point, weekend had been ruined.
We decided to retire disappointed and listen to our tap and shower for the rest of the evening.
When checking out the next day we raised our concerns but the systems were down so not a lot was done.
Really disappointed after looking forward to this rare opportunity for a break.
We shall not be returning and will probably look to paying a bit extra to guarantee quality in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank danladd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
danladd,Thank you for sharing your recent comments with the TA community.

We have received great feedback regarding the venue over the past year and especially that we provide genuine, sincere service at great value for money, therefore I am saddened to see your stay was ruined by us not meeting your accommodation expectations. We take great care in ensuring that our website is correct, up to date and give a true reflection of the venue; nonetheless we appreciate the feedback as this allows us to reassess our offerings and review the information with our marketing team.

I am sorry that our venue did not meet your expectations on this occasion and that overall you did not feel we offered true value for money for your stay.

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with honest and sincere feedback.
This will assist us as we continue to improve and strive in our goal of creating
a truly unique conference and event venue.

Warm Regards
Richard Mansell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Had an overnight stay in a standard room. On arrival at the room, the door and the window were open, despite chill outside. Seemed a bit strange, but we closed them and went off to the function we were attending in the area. On our return, we realised why the staff had tried to air the room - it smelt most unpleasant, very musty, we weren't sure whether it was the bathroom or the bed. We didn't complain, it was clear the staff knew there was a problem by their ventilation efforts so we assumed there was no other room available. (We were told the next morning that they could have moved us - too late!) Suffice to say we didn't enjoy our stay here and wouldn't return.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
lesleyj,Thank you for posting your feedback

I am very disappointed to see your stay was ruined by the unacceptable experience you encountered during the check in to your bedroom. We take great care in ensuring that our rooms are in working order and I sincerely apologize that this has not happened on this occasion; however I do appreciate the feedback as this allows us to ensure this does not happen again

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with honest and sincere feedback.
This will assist us as we continue to improve and strive in our goal of creating
a truly unique conference and event venue.

Warm Regards
Richard Mansell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in a family room the room was spacious and clean and the hotel itself was beautiful
The restaurant was lovely and the food gorgeous. I have to say the restaurant staff were all amazing breakfast and dinner
Our little girl loved the girls in the evening they were so lovely with her and very attentive
They are an asset to the hotel fantastic customer service this is the second time we have been and will definitely go back
Thank you for a great stay

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaby015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
gaby015,
Thank you so much for the amazing review.
It was particularly heart warming to receive such support
for our restaurant team, who I know where thrilled to see you and the
family had such a good time.

Such an inspiring review!!
We look forward to seeing you back at Cranage Hall soon

Warm Regards
Richard Mansell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranage
8.9 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,104 reviews
9.5 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
14.0 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
7.5 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cranage Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cranage Estate

Property: De Vere Cranage Estate
Address: Cranage Hall Byley Lane, Cranage, Holmes Chapel CW4 8EW, England (Formerly Cranage Hall)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Holmes Chapel > Cranage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cranage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cranage Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, LateRooms, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Cranage Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranage Hall Hotel Cranage
Hall Hotel Cranage
De Vere Cranage Estate Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing