We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Vere Cranage Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cranage
Liverpool
2 reviews
“Location issues”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Although I did not stay in this hotel I attended for two days for a business course. The website states 5 minutes is the time from the train station to the hotel, however this 5 minutes appears to be based upon visitors owning a superbike, as a non car owner I was left with a 40 minute walk up and down roads on hills with very limited pavement space on a road that stated that there had been 4 deaths on the last 3 years on the road but failed to equip speed cameras and put pavement junctions on blind bends. If you are travelling by train to this hotel I urge you to get a taxi from the station to avoid a 40 minute death walk dodging speeding motorists on country lanes. From the hotel I expect more clarity for visitor planning

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danordidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
danordidge, Thank you for sharing your recent comments with the TA community.
We take great care in ensuring that our website infomration is correct, up to date and gives a true reflection of the venue; nonetheless we appreciate the feedback as this allows us to reassess our website and review the information with our marketing team.
Thank you for providing us with the honest and sincere feedback.
This will assist us as we continue to improve and strive in our goal of creating
a truly unique conference and event venue.

Warm Regards
Richard Mansell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    429
    219
    107
    62
See reviews for
173
525
17
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Booked this place because we liked the idea of staying in a "country hall". Unfortunately the accomodation is not in the hall. It is spread out over a network of badly signed corridors and is of the same standard as an old Travel Lodge. Our room and the last parking space available were just about as far as you can get from reception. When we finally found and arrived at our room the key didn't work. This might have been forgiveable if it had been a modern electronic key, but it was one of those plastic ones with holes in that hotels used to use in the 1970's.
The bed was very small and the room tired. Definately not worth the £110 per night we paid.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gasimen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Gasimen, Thsnk you for your feedback.
Sorry to see that our conference venue did not quite meet your
expectations and that overall you felt it was not value for money.
I will share you comments with the team so that they can
absorb your feedback.

Thank you again for staying with us

Warm Regards
Richard Mansell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Visited for one nights stay last Friday night 4th July. Lovely old building in beautiful grounds looks quite grand on arrival. In the heart of Cheshire Countryside. £110 with breakfast and a cheap bottle of bubbly in the room on arrival. Nor Bollinger but not battery acid and very drinkable.
Booked in for evening meal, steak was £25 and not very big but very tasty. Mussels to start were gorgeous we have eaten mussels all over the world and the sauce was great as well and the bread. Serve your self English breakfast but lots of fruit and fresh juice too. Ham, cheese cereals etc. Went in spa and pool on arrival and before I left not very bust, clean and tidy. All the staff very nice. Restaurant ( Manager ) a young man with ginger hair was very attentive.
Beds were very comfy

Great overnight stay will be going with my girlfriend's for a girly sleep over

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
TraceyL, Thank you so much for the review.
What such positive words and the team here truly appreciate
your support!!

We look forward to seeing back at Cranage Soon
Warm Regards
Richard Mansell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

In a hotel i really only need 1 thing to be brilliant, my sleep
I stayed last night and really excited that I had a day off so could have a long lie in after an extremely busy non stop month
But no. My room looked out onto the hotels service entrance so had a steady stream of the door opening and closing followed by a rubbish collection that lasted from 730 to 820. The engine revved every time a new bin was loaded making sleep and relaxation impossible. I'm disgusted that your care for customers allows this to happen because it completely ruined what was really important to me, a good rest. Guests have to be out of rooms by 11. Why can't you ban lorries outside guests windows until then.
Also at check in at about 4 pm I wasn't told about breakfast, not offered the wifi code and the key wasn't even ready
All in all I'm extremely disappointed and angry that my stay was not up to standard

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Emma154, Thank you for your feedback.
I am sorry that your lie in was disturbed by noise and
that this combined with the others items you mentioned
caused you such distress, that ultimately you
did not enjoy your stay with us.

Please accept my apologies and thank you for the
honest feedback as this will allow us re-evaluate some of
our operations to ensure avoid future disappointments like this.

Warm Regards
Richard Mansell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Old part of the hotel looks nice but surrounded by modern accommodation blocks. Rooms adequate, looking a bit in need of a refresh. Food good and very nice staff.lots of meeting rooms, mostly seems to be a conference venue.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sadie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
sadiem, Thank you for the review.
Glad you enjoyed our conference venue and that
the team delivered.

Warm Regards
Richard Mansell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just stayed the weekend at cranage hall and had a great time. Reception staff on check in were great.
Rooms a little tired and you could hear a lot of noise but overall we were happy.
Evening meal was great, lovely food and great young staff managed by a lovely lady manager where you could clearly see the customer in both the restaurant and bar was her priority making sure everything was spot on. (The young staff seemed to have the upmost respect as well for there manager which was nice to see )
Breakfast the next day was busy but great and what a great selection.
Lovely location and great to visit Jodrell bank.
My partner has stayed here before and now he has taken me to see how great it is we will be back again! !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline197601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
caroline197601, Thank you for the fantastic review.
What amazing feedback and support.
The local team were so inspired to recieve such a review.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to
seeing you soon

Warm Regards
Richard Mansell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The main building is fine, the rest of it, where the accommodation is located, is a net walk of narrow endless corridors off which are small characterless rooms. The beds are easily the most uncomfortable we can remember staying on. The whole experience felt a lot like being back in a hall of residence from Uni days.

While the grounds are nice enough, don't come here for a restful experience. The only slight glimmer of hope is that the service was marginally above average.

Room Tip: None of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al_and_Meli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Al_and_Meli, Thank you for sharing your recent comments with the TA community.

We have received great feedback regarding the conference venue over the past year and especially that we provide genuine, sincere service at great value for money, therefore I am saddened to see your stay was ruined by us not meeting your accommodation and service expectations. Thank you for staying with us and providing us with honest and sincere feedback.
This will assist us as we continue to improve and strive in our goal of creating
a truly unique conference and event venue.

Warm Regards
Richard Mansell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranage
9.5 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
8.9 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,173 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
982 reviews
14.0 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
4.3 mi away
Chimney House Hotel
Chimney House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandbach
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cranage Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cranage Estate

Property: De Vere Cranage Estate
Address: Cranage Hall Byley Lane, Cranage, Holmes Chapel CW4 8EW, England (Formerly Cranage Hall)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Holmes Chapel > Cranage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cranage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cranage Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your De Vere Cranage Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranage Hall Hotel Cranage
Hall Hotel Cranage
De Vere Cranage Estate Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing