We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good standard of accommodation, value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Vere Cranage Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cranage
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed over a weekend visiting friends in the Northwich area. Was a little disappointed that the period house shown on the company website was really a façade for a bigger, modern annex, but couldn't really complain as the cost of the room was very reasonable and in keeping with other lesser rated hotels in the area. The standard double room was quite basic but was clean and in a good state of decorative order. High points for me were the pool and gym facilities which were larger and better equipped than you would find in a similar chain hotel, and the breakfast which was a plentiful buffet served efficiently by friendly staff. All in all value for money and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want to stay in the rooms in the small period property, be very clear about this when you boo...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

PaulM, Thank you for staying with us.
Glad to see you appreciated all the facilities,
especially our recently upgraded leisure club.
Just to clarify, unfortunately we do not have any
bedrooms in the old house.

Look forward to seeing you again at Cranage

Warm Regards
RMansell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,195)
There are newer reviews for De Vere Cranage Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

679 - 685 of 1,195 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Myself and my wife got married at Cranage Hall in early July, and to summarise from the moment we booked the venue in late 2012 up to the day itself the whole experience was flawless.
Our amazing planner Rachel provided the most professional, friendly service and nothing was too much trouble for her and she bent over backwards to ensure all our requests could be accommodated and we knew for the 18 months from booking the venue right up to the day itself that we had made the right choice in venue.
The big day itself was (in my opinion) spectacular and exceeded our expectations. The weather was dry and hot (and had been for a few days previously) so they were able to turn everything around and hold the ceremony outdoors for us with just a couple of hours notice in the beautiful gardens behind the main hall themselves and they ensured it looked spectacular (we were over the moon that they were able to do this) and also all the other services eg setting up the drinks and canopes etc was always without interruption and the guests all commented on the high quality of the serving staff.
The meals were also excellent which was also a high point raised by our guests too.
We stayed the night in the Byley Suite in the old part of the hall and this bedroom was absolutely spectacular with luxurious furnishings and really contemporary decor, it is a fabulous way to spend your first night as a married couple together.
Unfortunately due to time restrictions we were unable to use the gym and pool (although I was once a member of the gym many years ago and the facilities in my opinion are fantastic).
The whole experience was flawless and we had absolutely nothing to worry about for the whole day and we were lost for superlatives to describe the high quality of service we received. The venue is very photogenic and there is no shortage of places both around the hall and gardens for spectacular photos.
We would both highly recommend hosting your wedding at Cranage Hall, you will be in very safe hands.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duststorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Duststorm, Congratulations and thank you for the amazing review.
We are very lucky to have Rachel on our team and I know that
show was truly inspired by your kind words.
I will ensure we share you note with all the team, especially
those staff members that helped make your day so special.

Once again thank you for the support and we look forward
to welcoming you back to Cranage for many years to come.

Warm Regards
RMansell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Don't be fooled by the lovely old building in the pictures because you will be directed around a maze of corridors reminiscent of a hotel chain. Room was ok for the price we paid £65 for a block booked room for a Saturday night. Very hot (no aircon) room. Wouldn't want to pay more. We had to walk through lots of wedding guests which seemed a bit strange. However fab breakfast - lots of choice.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank CarolynChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

carolynchester, Thank you for staying with us.
Sorry to see our large conference venue did not quite meet your
expectations, however delighted to see you thoroughly enjoyed
our breakfast offering.

Warm Regards
RMansell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 days. Beautiful rooms and a good service. It's an olde world hotel with lovely big beds. Set in lovely grounds and perfect for a weekend away.

Breakfast is ok.

We went out for dinner - the Vicarage Hotel; five minute walk away. Excellent fresh food and a nice change from the hotel menus.

Room Tip: Wifi is weak
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank elfiemarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

elfiemarden, Thanks for the great review!
Delighted to read you had such great time
Come back and see us again soon

Warm Regards
RMansell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of getting married at Cranage Hall a few weeks ago, and in all honesty, we have not one single complaint.

From the first time we stepped onto the property until we left the bridal suite, not one thing was too much trouble or met with any kind of negativity. The grounds were extremely well kept (lucky for us, the weather held out and we were able to have the ceremony outside). The food -the canapes,starter, main meal, dessert, and evening buffet- had a lot of compliments from our guests. As well, I highly recommend booking the bridal suite as it is a fantastic place to get ready before the wedding.

We also loved that breakfast was included in the stay and allowed us to meet up with our guests the next morning and review how everything went down.

I do agree that some of the actual bedrooms may need to be updated some, but as a wedding venue I don't think that we could have asked for anything more. To anyone looking for a venue where you get to do things your way and have top notch service all the way through from the first time you contact them, I really encourage you to have a good look at Cranage. Our photographer even told us how great of a job our host did, and that he may have been one of the best he's ever worked with.

We will always thank them for making our day a success and for giving us such an amazing backdrop for our pictures.

Room Tip: If you are there to be married do book the bridal suite. 100% a great decision
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank MandaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

mandagirl, congratulations from all of us here at Cranage!
So pleased you enjoyed your amazing day and thank you
so much for the suport and great feedback.

We look forward to seeing you on your first anniversary!

Warm Regards
RMansell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

First of all don't be fooled by the nice posh photos of the "hotel", as this isn't actually where you stay. Its just the reception and a couple of other rooms on the side. Everything else, the bar, the restaurant and from what I could see the guest rooms are in side buildings which, inside and out would be more at home at the local Travelodge and the like.

The place is clean, the staff are very friendly, and room serviced was delivered quickly so no complaints in that department. But when your paying around £100 a night thats what you should expect.

On the whole the place could do with being dragged out of the early nineties and given a new lease of life.

(oh and the miniature irons and ironing boards attached to the trouser press' need to be replaced, as for a bloke who is 6"7' it takes quite a while to get your ironing done!)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TomM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

bigtx1, Thank you for the review.
Sorry to see that the venue did not live up to
your expectations on this occasion and that
our layout and hotel did not suit you.
However we appreciate you staying with us
and hope that one day you may give us another
opportunity

Warm Regards
RMansell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My room was adjacent to the Service Area, staff comings and goings and various interesting conversations and delivery vehicles from 6.30 AM, warm temperatures (no a/c) necessitated keeping the window open - a very poor nights sleep.
Restaurant staff were confused at the pricing for D, B&B menu.
The room was tired, you'd be excused if you thought you were in a Travelodge.
Not impressed.
Receptionist reduced my bill by a third on checkout.

Room Tip: Ensure you as far away from the Service Area as possible!!!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

simond, thank you for posting your feedback and
I am sorry that I did not get the opportunity to speak with
you directly regarding the noise and unfrotunate early
alarm call you had. We strive to be very clear that as a large
conference venue, we do not have any amenities in the old
hall building and all our offerings are located within the
conference centre. I am sorry that your expectations were not
met regarding this, although it appears we ticked all the boxes
regarding fast and efficient service.

Warm Regards
RMansell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranage
8.9 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,204 reviews
9.5 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
7.5 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
998 reviews
10.9 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cranage Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cranage Estate

Address: Cranage Hall Byley Lane, Cranage, Holmes Chapel CW4 8EW, England (Formerly Cranage Hall)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Holmes Chapel > Cranage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cranage
Price Range: £75 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cranage Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your De Vere Cranage Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranage Hall Hotel Cranage
Hall Hotel Cranage
De Vere Cranage Estate Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing