We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pity about some of the detail - could be great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Vere Cranage Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cranage
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
178 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Pity about some of the detail - could be great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed here just one night to attend a nearby wedding.
Of course the grounds are very nice and the hotel building itself is striking enough. Staff were also very friendly, polite, courteous etc - no issues whatsoever.
The room was also well equipped, so again, no problems there.
The interior of the hotel and our room were, however, a little tired in places. Our bathroom in particular looked like it would benefit from a complete overhaul - cracked sink, split/swollen bathroom door, lifted surface area around the sink. Perhaps it was just where our room was located but there was also quite a lot of noise carrying through from the corridors.
One particularly peculiar characteristic was that the route from reception to and from our room passed through a couple of actually very nice large reception rooms of the hotel which are used for wedding guests. Fortunately, there was no wedding reception when we were passing through with our cases after checking in but we did feel a little awkward walking through a wedding party later on when we were heading back to reception.
Overall, I suspect we'd try somewhere else next time, which is a great pity as it's got such great potential.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MikeHibb666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
MikeHibb666, Thank you for staying with us and providing valuable feedback.
We have recently started our an accommodation refurbishment program and
we are excited to make the necessary improvements to this area. I am sorry
that during your short stay you did not manage to enjoy all the facilities available
at the venue, as I am sure you would have enjoyed the venue even more.

Warm Regards
R Mansell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    406
    204
    101
    57
See reviews for
158
494
16
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were visiting friends in Chester but tagged this hotel on to the weekend as it was an 'Amazon' offer which included 3 course evening meal with bottle of wine and full breakfast for just £99.00! Excellent value. The main building - Cranage Hall is lovely, and the reception staff very friendly and efficient. The place was very busy with weddings, christing parties etc. Our meal in the evening was excellent, as was the breakfast. The pool area is good as were the steam room and sauna.The hotel is very large, having expanded from the main building into a series of 1970 styled 'Blocks'. Unlike the main building these have not matured well. The room was fine with everything you would expect, but is in need of some updating. In the corridors some carpets were loose and could be trip hazards, and decor needed redoing. Despite this we enjoyed our stay and would certainly go again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilwernboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
gilwernboy, Thank you for sharing your feedback.
Great to see you had such a good time and found us to
be such great value for money.

Look forward to seeing you again on your next visit

Regards
R Mansell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We visited on a 2night db&b break (from Superbreaks), the hotel was catering for conferences, and a lot of their business come from that. However we were treated very well from the moment we checked in, we had two bikes with us and they stored them for us, though we had them locked together just in case, and let us get to them whenever we needed. The leisure facilities were good, used by hotel and locals. The evening meal was lovely pub food, really well seasoned and good service, breakfast was a hot & cold buffet, everything you could want at breakfast and then some. The bar was lively each night because of the conferences, and prices were steep but usual for a hotel. The room was spacious,bed linen luxurious and shower powerful. Fantastic trip away.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from conference delegates who have to rise early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brodieloftus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
brodieloftus, Thank you for staying with us.
Great to see you had an amazing stay and
thoroughly enjoyed the venue.
Come back and see us again soon!

Warm Regards
R Mansell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is clean & the staff are helpful & friendly. Our room was ok apart from the window not closing properly which meant it was a bit chilly although we did get a heater. We ate in the restaurant on the first night & unfortunately the food wasn't good. My partner was served unopened mussels which we sent back and chose another dish which was described as a sizzler in spice & resembled dry chicken in mustard. However the waitress was more then happy to exchange the first meal & also prepared a fresh meal for me so we could eat together which was good. At breakfast we were seated at a table & whilst we were getting juice someone else was also seated in the same table which then meant we had to wait for another table. The food was ok but it wasn't re-filled until it was empty. There seemed to be lots of staff rushing around but maybe not clear on what they where doing. Breakfast on both days was chaotic. Not sure if we'd go back again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
natalie l, Thanks for sharing your feedback.
I have shared your feedback with our operations
team, so that we can look to improve on the comments
you noted. Sorry that the dining experience did not meet
up to your expectations on this occasion and I hope that
this on off experience will not stop you from staying with
us again.

Warm Regards
RMansell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stopped over on a Friday night. Bar & restaurant are quite modern & it had a good atmosphere. Food overall was good & the staff are very friendly. I had a bottle of fizz that was a little lively & when my partner opened it I got splashed over my clothes. They came to check I was ok & bought another glass over to replace the lost amount out of the bottle!!
All in all it's a lovely place for a night away from the hustle & bustle of busy city centre hotels

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
shannigans, Great to see you had such a good time at the venue.
Its always inspiring to see that our team have looked after you so
well.

Come back and see us again soon

Warm Regards
RMansell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

My wife, two sons and I stayed last night in a double and a twin room on a bed and breakfast basis. We were attending a wedding at the nearby Swettenham Arms. I must say that, although £120 a night was a bit steep, the hotel was really nice, well maintained with plush bed linen and pillows etc which allowed us to have a nice sound sleep. After we had booked, we discovered that we could have got a 25% discount by stating that we were attending the wedding (we booked our first, double room via Booking.Com on a 'no cancellation' basis). The second, twin room cost only £90 as we were made aware of the wedding discount. Nevertheless, we all enjoyed our stay. The breakfast this morning was plentiful and of a high standard. When we needed a taxi to get to the wedding venue, the friendly receptionist had it booked in no time. Only one complaint- The TV in the bedroom was 4:3 ratio screen (not widescreen) and very small. i would have expected to have seen a 32" HD LCD TV in such a nice plush hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILM57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
ILM57, Thank you for sharing your feedback on TA.
Great to see you had a good time staying with us and I
appreciate the feedback regarding your room, as we are always
looking to make the necessary enhancements.

Regards
R Mansell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

I visited for one night to attend a wedding. The staff were so welcoming and friendly, especially Amy on reception (she helped me get a taxi from sleepy Holmes Chapel train station as I was stranded there on a Sunday afternoon). My room was spacious with a very pleasing decor and the most comfortable bed. All parts of the hotel were well kept and presented. I have rarely seen such a wide ranging spread for breakfast in a UK hotel - something for everyone and plenty left even at 10 am. The bar staff at the wedding were also helpful and chatty. All in all it was a lovely place for a wedding and a weekend away. Good value for money too. Thank you :)

Room Tip: I was on the ground floor in room 236 - very quiet with easy access to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merseyprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm499, Manager at De Vere Cranage Estate, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
merseyprincess, wow what amazing feedback.
We are all delighted at the venue that you had such
an amazing stay. Thank you for highlighting the amazing
service offered by Amy, I know she was so happy to read
your comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back again

Warm Regards
R Mansell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranage
8.9 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
9.5 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
14.0 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
7.5 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cranage Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cranage Estate

Property: De Vere Cranage Estate
Address: Cranage Hall Byley Lane, Cranage, Holmes Chapel CW4 8EW, England (Formerly Cranage Hall)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Holmes Chapel > Cranage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cranage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cranage Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Cranage Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranage Hall Hotel Cranage
Hall Hotel Cranage
De Vere Cranage Estate Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing