We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Edward Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lidkoping
Certificate of Excellence
Norway
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We had a very nice stay at the four star Edward Hotel. Charming old building in the centre of Lidkõping with a very friendly and service minded staff. Our room was small, but comfortable with electric adjustable beds. The hotel seemed to be newly renovated and especially the public areas were stylish and comfortable. The breakfast was fine with lots of different choices. We also had an excellent dinner in the hotel restaurant Pirum. Great service and very good food. Free street parking at night outside the hotel.
Lidkõping is a small but very charming town by the lake Vänern, and we can definitely recommend a stay in both Lidkõping and the Edward Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    56
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
38
2
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville,TN
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012 via mobile

Charming, clean, nice breakfast. Room charmingly decorated in grays and yellows. Small rooms, but not unusual for Europe. Cozy. Would stay here again. Wonderful coffee bar. Not much else to write but every time I try to submit review TripAdvisor reminds me of 200-word minimum.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tonymsrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

What a delightful hotel! Pleasant, helpful reception as a precursor to very well presented rooms. Either very well maintained or recently renovated, the rooms are very comfortable - excellent beds (again, for Best Western Sweden). The carpets looked brand new and the walls very fresh. Ablutions are excellent too, with plenty of hot water.
Breakfast was excellent, with a variety of cereals, cheeses and meat plus herring choices (no salmon). Fresh fruit also.
Free street parking. Lidkoping is not big but the hotel is handily located, near to the river and the main square. Excellent value. Just about worth a detour to save a few bucks.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doingittough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Generally, one is not supposed to expect too much from a hotel in a little Scandinavian town. However, even my low expectations were not met at this hotel. More than modest interior, very dated room and extremely unprofessionally designed bathroom with water that was everywhere in the bathroom after just 3 minutes in the show stall. For the same price I could stay for almost 2 nights in a better hotel at the same region.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UppsalaA-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Best Western Plus Edward Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
I´m sorry that the hotel was not what you expected.
The hotel has just finished an renovation and it seemed like you had an old room and regarding the floor in the bathroom so has we contacted the company that did the floor and started an investigation.
We appreciate that you informed us about the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Visited 11/08/2011 for 1 night,on buisness trip - english spoken which was a help as my Swedish isnt very good. very quick check in.room on ground floor.
Double bed was comfortable and one of the electrical adjusting types, which was good for watching TV. Room is sparse (No tea / coffee making) & no mini bar (but thats common in Scandanavian small hotels now). shower however was modern and clean.
The hotel is on 2 floors, in middle of town so dont expect open views. there is a small glass roof courtyarad in centre of the hotel which had a toypit for kids.
Cozy bar area with evening meals, and large breakfast area with good selection of Swedish hams,cheese and bacon egs etc ( although I still dont care for the way bacon is cooked over here,swimming in oil).
I could hear a party in floor above through ventilation but this stopped around 11pm and doesnt really bother me since its holiday season anyway. good place for a short trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

My wife and I were tired after a summer filled with work so what could we do on such short notice? We decided that we visit Sweden and picked Lidkøping at pure coinsidence. We travelled by car enjoying the swedish countryside and when we arrived in Lidkøping we fell in love with the small town at once. The hotel was found quickly, residing in the middle of the town. Excellent location and the staff were very polite and proffesional. It seems that the there were mostly older guests when we stayed there which was a gigantic plus for us since we wanted a vacation were we could relax and get some strength back after a busy summer. The rooms were clean and quite newly redecorated. The room also included a bed where you can elevate your feet and head/back at the touch of a button. This is the only hotel I've ever been to that has those kind of beds. I can tell you that it was very comfortable. One negative thing about the room though: The room got very warm during night. Luckily the temperature were not so high when we were there but I could imagine that the heat could be a problem on bright sunny summer days. The breakfast was very good but there were times that the staff had problems refilling quickly enough some of the different foods offered . If you ever should visit Lidkøping I really recommend Lackø castle and Rørstrand.
All in all this was a very relaxing stay in a beautiful Swedish small town. Perfect for a romantic getaway:-)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeereOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2009

We stayed here for one night on a roadtrip through Sweden. The hotel is very comfortable, the room was quiet, and the staff were really friendly (everyone from the receptionist to the maid). We paid 1080 SEK which was more than we intended to spend, but the room and hotel were worth it. We got a huge suite for the rate of a double room. The hotel looks very new and is nicely furnished. It is also exceptionally clean. The location is right in the center of town. There's a lounge area with comfy sofas, where you can get free tea, coffee, hot chocolate, and biscuits all day.

Downsides:
- Breakfast only until 9:30h, and there is no late breakfast (but you have to pay it anyway; it's included in the rate).
- The bathroom lighting is really bad. It is impossible to do your make-up in the bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carsten74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lidkoping
0.1 mi away
Hotell Lacko
Hotell Lacko
#2 of 4 in Lidkoping
115 reviews
13.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Jula Hotell & Konferens
0.1 mi away
Stadshotellet Lidkoping - Sweden Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotell Radhuset
Hotell Radhuset
#3 of 4 in Lidkoping
31 reviews
14.0 mi away
Lumber & Karle
Lumber & Karle
#1 of 1 in Kvanum
53 reviews
11.9 mi away
Naturum Vanerskargarden
Naturum Vanerskargarden
#1 of 5 in Lidkoping
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Edward Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Edward Hotel
Address: 7 Skaragatan, Lidkoping 531 32, Sweden (Formerly Best Western Edward Hotel)
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Lidkoping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lidkoping
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Edward Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing