We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Edward Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lidkoping
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
“Poor hotel”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Sorry Edward but there is no air conditioning system,not enough heating, the rooms are not clean, the rooms smells bed, suspension faced employees .. You can go if it is the last option ..It is expensive and dirty, i will never stay in that hotel..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yusuf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulf H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Edward Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Mr Yusuf

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Ulf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    57
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
39
2
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This time we tried one of the suites, but it was a disappointment. To a suit you expect a higher standard, not just that it’s a separate bedroom. This was painted floor! The walls was a in a standard room. Roof like in any office. The bathroom was larger that a normal but just standard, a shower in the bathtub.
But rest of the hotel we like, (including Pirum Restaurant) good breakfast. Pleasant staff. And the location is very good. We like this place!

Room Tip: If you like to sleep with open window, ask for a room on second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

What can make the difference when rooms are ok but so plain...? And the food ok but Swedish.
The team!
They are friendly and do care for their customers.
You can also rely on their skills when you are to order a glass at the wine bar.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCommu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I have stayed in Edward Hotel regularly on business travel for almost 2 years now. The staff is friendly, always welcoming me by my first name when I walk in the door, the food is good (not only the restaurant, but also a good bar menu), and I always feel welcome and at home The hotel is undergoing an extensive refurbishment, and the "new" rooms are excellent.

Nice athmosphere in the bar/lounge, with quiet and comfy chairs next to the fireplace.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms on street level during summer: No aircondition in the hotel, so you need to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasGjelsnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
609 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Stayed here one night in September enroute from Stockholm to Orust. Room was OK but very dark. Furniture appeared to be dated but bed and pillows were OK. No airconditioning but we did discover a fan. Windows did open but room was on ground floor and you could hear passersby walking down the alley/roadway just outside. Bathroom was large but very basic. Stand alone shower with good pressure but unfortunately the fixed glass screen and shower curtain did not go to the floor which meant that the area in front of the basin was flooded when you took a shower. There was a safe and wifi worked well.

Breakfast was a hot and cold buffet with fresh orange juice, eggs, bacon, sausages, cold meats, cereal, bread, croissants, coffee and tea.

There was a nice area just outside of the breakfast room and near reception where you could enjoy free coffee, tea and cakes during the day.

Street parking only for cars and not directly outside of the hotel which is a taxi stand for a good part of the day/night.

Nothing good or bad to say about the staff.

We had dinner at a great restaurant in Spiken, Restaurant Sjoboden, about a 25klm drive away and next to the lake. The owners of this restaurant I understand also own Pirum Restaurant which is located in the front section of the Hotel Edward. Interestingly enough even though a couple of the staff at Pirum had been to Restaurant Sjoboden none of them could give us directions as to how to get there. GPS came to rescue again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

I stayed at the Best Western for work and consequently I was there regularly over a period of time. I love the Edward Hotel - the rooms are very comfortable and the staff are excellent. Staying here so regularly I became known by the staff and would often arrive without having to announce who I was, and being handed my pass with the internet connection details! The breakfast is continental with cheeses, meats, pate and bread - scrambled eggs and bacon are available. A range of drinks are available in the morning. The restaurant and bar are so comfortable - its very easy to spend many hours in the bar area being served by the utterly fabulous staff of Pirum, the Restaurant.

The only one thing that I would suggest to the hotel for those of us from England is to improve the black out curtains - I did find it hard at the beginning to adjust to the many hours of sunlight that Lidkoping gets in the height of Summer.

Overall, this hotel is superb as a base for exploring Lidkoping and Lake Vanern. Would also recommend this as a business hotel - being very comfortable and ideally located.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg,sweden
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This was our third stay at Hotel Edward, staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are a little bit on the small side. Bed was to firm for my back, was very sore the next morning. Next time we come I hope I can get a bed that is adjustable. The hotel is quiet and cozy , they have a very nice breakfast buffet, large selection of diffrent breakfast items.
Restaurant is well worth a visit,one of the things I liked, they have a very nice winelist :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oregongirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lidkoping
0.1 mi away
Hotell Lacko
Hotell Lacko
#2 of 4 in Lidkoping
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stadshotellet Lidkoping - Sweden Hotels
13.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Jula Hotell & Konferens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotell Radhuset
Hotell Radhuset
#3 of 4 in Lidkoping
31 reviews
14.0 mi away
Lumber & Karle
Lumber & Karle
#1 of 1 in Kvanum
54 reviews
12.8 mi away
Skara Stadshotell
Skara Stadshotell
#2 of 2 in Skara
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Edward Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Edward Hotel
Address: 7 Skaragatan, Lidkoping 531 32, Sweden (Formerly Best Western Edward Hotel)
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Lidkoping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lidkoping
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Edward Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing