We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upscale hostel-style accommodations, excellent spot, great views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Rorbuer - Taste of Lofoten

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in A i Lofoten
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Rorbuer - Taste of Lofoten
Ranked #1 of 1 A i Lofoten B&B and Inns
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Upscale hostel-style accommodations, excellent spot, great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We had a great stay at this hotel! Very clean, well-organized, etc. It's a reasonable price considering the location in this stunning village/island.

FYI, The rooms above the restaurant/bar are far better than renting a cabin because they have outstanding views of the Brygga waterfront and are in excellent shape. The cabins were set back from the water and probably don't have good views...

We had very, very friendly and helpful service, including a time when they went upstairs to let us know that they were going to be putting away the breakfast items and didn't want us to miss out. Everyone was very professional and quite nice.

The bathrooms are shared, but that was fine, all things considered. Our room looked out over the water, and we could see the drying fish racks and the boats coming in. We loved it! We hope to return someday...

Room Tip: Get a Brygga room for excellent waterfront views, avoid the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Go_Lucky_UT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    22
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
12
41
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Albany, Indiana
Level Contributor
132 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

I was apprehensive before arriving in A about these rorbuer fishermen's cabins because the reviews were mixed. But this was the least expensive option for our time frame and I knew the location was right. I was not disappointed. We stayed 6 nights in cabin #7 (Mester) that had a private bath with a shower. The cabin has a working kitchen and we made our own dinner 5 of the six nights. The beds were reasonably comfortable, the cabin was clean and had a decent amount of living space. There was a heater in the bathroom and in the living area next to the bedrooms which we needed the first 2 nights. You are expected to wash your dishes and tidy up, take out trash and sweep the floors before checking out.
Some people have commented that they had trouble finding the place but we had no trouble at all. Our GPS took us right to the spot. There was a note on the reception door to inquire inside the adjacent restaurant. We did so and waited not time at all for the young man to check us in. He was friendly and helpful if not a bit spacey (think California surfer dude type only a Norwegian). He later gave us advice on hiking spots and some directions.
We loved the location, exquisite surroundings, be sure to take the path behind the cabins, through the small residential area that leads to a beautiful open vista of the islands further south including Vaeroy. Also, only about a 10-15 minute drive to beautiful Reine. There are 2 markets between A and Reine and a 3rd market in Reine. Highly recommend having a rental car.
Our only real complaint about the cabin was that the wi-fi didn't extend to our cabin the first couple of days but this seemed to be remedied about the middle of our stay.
I am very pleased with our experience here and would stay here again if we ever get to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyk74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I stayed here with my partner over the winter low season. Unfortunately, the beautiful scenery and cute cabin was completely ruined by the poor service we experienced at these rorbuer. First of all, the owners did not clear the VERY icy, snowy and steep steps that led up to the hostel rooms, and it was incredibly dangerous. I think they think they can get away with it because there aren't many visitors in winter, but this is not good enough. I felt like I was going to break my neck!

But that is just a small mistake compared to other poor service we experienced here. Owner also promised us a cabin at one price but only provided us a double room, and that we could only upgrade to a cabin at further cost. At first I thought that this was a mistake until I witnessed her doing it with another group of 3 -- the only other group that was there at the time -- she was out to trick them into staying in two cabins (these cabins comfortably sleep 6 or 7 and you definitely don't need two!) To make matters worse, these lovely tourists she was trying to persuade to hand over more money had just spent a long time out in the freezing temperatures as when they arrived she would not answer her phone, and left their accomodation dark and locked. If it were not for happening upon us they would have had no one to help them -- and I think this would often be the case in Lofoten.


Essentially, the owner here is at best unhelpful and at worst, potentially crooked, and I certainly would NOT recommend staying here. Although the cabins themselves were cozy, there are other robuer on Lofoten that are without unhelpful owners, so try them out.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed one night in rorbu number 11, Nipingen. Thank god we were alone in the building with 3 bedrooms, one bath, kitchen and living room. The bedrooms were really small and you couldn`t lock the door. There were almost no heating and the radio in the living room didn`t work properly. The walls are really thin so you can hear what is going on the in the next room. I hope the other buildings are better. I would not rent number 11 again. The positive things: good location and nice scenery. PS! Would not recommend the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DiverNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We had a great one night stay in one of the rorbus here. Living room with fully provisioned kitchen, bathroom, bedroom (with two single beds - the nightmare of Norway if you enjoy double beds).

One thing I don't get about rorbus is the charging structure regarding linen. They all have a fee for the rorbu and then linen (sheets, pillowcases, duvet cover) is extra. And when you leave you are expected to have tidied the whole place, otherwise they will charge you. So you really are just paying for what they've done to the place and a tiny bit of admin time when you made your booking. In fairness to Å Rorbuer the linen fee was included in the rorbu fee, although their information made us expect otherwise.

The rorbu we had was right by the harbour, wonderfully quiet at night, 3 minutes from the restaurant and using the restaurant's wifi rather than the rorbu's gave you excellent internet access.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncw73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
309 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

Bluntly, nothing special and outrageously overpriced, which might explain why there were few guests in mid-June. Simple rooms with a basin in a converted sjohus with clean shared baths and toilets. At US$150 a night one might expect more. Breakfast was poor prepackaged stuff from the bar. Internet worked at lest. Service OK if a bit relaxed. Aside rom the building facades and layout, A retains about as much authentic Lofoten fishing village charm as East LA. Give it a quick visit, possibly have a coffeee and then head back to somehwere with better accomodation and parking in the island chain.

Room Tip: Either (really) splurge for one of the cabins or head to Henningsvaer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKbanker33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed there in august 2010 for a tour of Lofoten.
We stayed only 1 night and didn't spend much time in Å.
We had some difficulties finding this place, but just continue to drive until you have to enter the "end of road"-tunnel (only parking space and turning point on the other side of the tunnel). Å Rorbuer is a few hundred meters immediately to the left of the tunnel entrance (from the north side of the tunnel).
The rorbu was quite nice looking and felt like cabins, sparsely furnished and only "cabin"-clean as opposed to hotel-clean (found a used and forgotten underwear under the bed, and that didn't improve my impression of the cleanliness). There was a bedroom with 2 beds on top of eachother (not double) and a bathroom that wasn't up to hotel standard (but might be described more like cabin standard). The living room and kitchen was ok and spacious, but the cabin-simple-style continued here. There was a balcony outside just over the water which added to the positive impression of the place.
The reception building seemed nice with some café/restaurant, but it was apparently closed for the season. We wanted to eat out late and had to drive to a restaurant a few kilometers north to get anything. We wanted to make some food in the rorbu but everything was closed.
It's a quite ok place to stay and the area was beautiful. Would have been better if we had managed to buy groceries so that we could have made dinner in the cabin in order to enjoy the rorbu at night also.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a balcony directly on the seashore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near A i Lofoten
24.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lofoten Hotell
14.2 mi away
Nusfjord Rorbuer
Nusfjord Rorbuer
#1 of 1 in Nussfjord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
4.7 mi away
Reine Rorbuer
Reine Rorbuer
#2 of 54 in Lofoten Islands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Sakrisoey Rorbuer
Sakrisoey Rorbuer
#1 of 2 in Reine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
6.1 mi away
Eliassen Rorbuer
Eliassen Rorbuer
#1 of 1 in Hamnoy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
16.0 mi away
Ramberg Gjestegard
Ramberg Gjestegard
#2 of 4 in Flakstad Municipality
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Rorbuer - Taste of Lofoten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Rorbuer - Taste of Lofoten

Property: A Rorbuer - Taste of Lofoten
Address: Sorvagen, A i Lofoten 8392, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Moskenes Municipality > A i Lofoten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in A i Lofoten
Number of rooms: 31

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing