We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I remember it much better than this”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Port et des Bains
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We stayed here on spec, so without looking at the previous Tripadvisor reviews, or we might not have done so. I had enjoyed a lovely stay here 25 years ago (when I was between wives, so maybe that was the reason I had enjoyed it then so much!), and should have remembered the adage "never go back".

However, we found the staff reasonably helpful, especially to "rosbifs" whose French is not brilliant, but they need to remember their first responsibility is to their customers, not to talking to their work colleagues. Our bedroom was on the top floor up two flights of stairs, so if you have heavy cases, or are elderly, this hotel is not for you.

The hotel is right on the quay, so there is a bit of traffic noise, especially on Sunday morning when stallholders come in early to set up the market. Be warned also that the town gets extremely busy at weekends - I had to fight to stop to unload our cases on Saturday afternoon, and eventually parked nearly a mile away for overnight. Also it is jam-packed on Sunday mornings.

There were lovely views from our spacious but basic bedroom over the estuary and salt flats - take your binoculars! Room was clean with TV, ensuite etc, but 90 Euros seemed pricey to us.

We dined in the restaurant which was satisfactory, although we thought maybe the chef was trying too hard to be trendy and not quite getting there. I think something described as fish and scallop coquille st jacques should have more than one little piece of scallop in it, for example. However, we found on this trip that wherever we went, French prices were astronomical : dinner cost 82 Euros for two with one Kir and a cheap (19E!) bottle of Loire rose wine, and only one dessert and one coffee, and breakfast was 9 Euros.

Overall it could have been so much a better experience.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jj-the-jetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2010

We have visited St. Valery many times over the last few years and have stayed at the Hotel Du Port, as well as eaten in its restaurant. We have always had a great welcome and good food. On this occasion, Easter Tuesday, we arrived at the restaurant for lunch at about 1,45 p.m. The place was busy but not chock-a block, although many of the empty tables were not cleared.We stood in the doorway for at least 10 minutes without receiving any attention. I then went to the toilet and even when I came back , my partner was still standing waiting to be attended to! So much for French politesse! Finally we were shown to a small table , but when I said we would like to sit in one of the several empty window tables,I was told in a very frosty manner that they had not had time to rel-lay them and we must take the allocated table. By this time, having travelled all the way from Kent for lunch and being very hungry,my patience ran out. We stood up and left, and told the staff we did not feel welcome and would go to eat somewhere else. We walked round the corner and enter the DRAKKAR restaurant, which was if anything busier, but where we received a warm friendly welcome and had a very good lunch..
I will not darken the doors of the Hotel du Port again. They must realise that their customers are their life-blood and should treat them with respect, otherwise their business will fold and they will only have themselves to blame.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Christine38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2009

We have stayed at the hotel du port et bains three times, the first quite some years ago before the modernisation, and more recently, twice in the last couple of years: the last time july 2008. It is a miserable place with a very nice view. Welcome is the least used word in their vocabulary. The last meal I had in their restaurant was a little casserole of sea food ( I forget how they describe it) which was a fish stock with a few fishy bits in it and a few mussels: really dull. The place is fairly inexpensive, the decor favors orange ( I find a lot of French places do) but is reasonably comfortable, and if you are just there for an over night and eat the evening meal elsewhere (Le Nichols is very good) it will be fine.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank surreychef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2009

An interesting little hotel right on the quayside in St Valery sur Somme, well located to tour Picardy, Amiens cathedral, the World War One battlefields, local birdlife etc. Don't miss the Sunday morning market just minutes along the quay north of the hotel. Everything from live rabbits to Indian clothes with lots of smelly cheeses, flowers and the 'stain resistant' tablecloths the French love so much.

The people are friendly and it's good value for money - 65 euros for two per night, breakfast 9 euros. Clean, modern bedrooms, lovely shower, efficient heating. You can park outside but have to pay - around a euro an hour.

A couple of gripes - the restaurant food was OK but the chef is perhaps over-keen on the local orange cheese (although the rhubarb tart was lovely). Half the restaurant was suitably lit for evening diners, the others had to eat under punishing central spotlights.

And the bedroom walls were very thin. My neighbours evidently enjoyed late night French TV comedies judging by the noises..... But it could have been worse!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Farehamvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Miguel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Caro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Gaelle p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Pilotes
Hotel Les Pilotes
#3 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Les Corderies
Les Corderies
#1 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
531 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant du Cap Hornu
Hotel Restaurant du Cap Hornu
#2 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Colonne de Bronze
La Colonne de Bronze
#4 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
198 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Picardia
Hotel Picardia
#5 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
211 reviews
11.8 mi away
Le Cise
Le Cise
#1 of 2 in Ault
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Port et des Bains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Port et des Bains

Address: 1 quai Blavet, 80230, Saint-Valery-sur-Somme, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
Price Range: £79 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Port et des Bains 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Stayforlong S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Port et des Bains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing