We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and restaurant”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Relais Guillaume de Normandy
Whickham Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“great location and restaurant”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

St Valery is a pleasant resort with a balance of old streets,promenade, narrow guage railway, good pubs and good birdlife(plus seals) out in the Bay, Hotel restaurant is excellent and reminiscent of earlier days in France when quality was king. Room was small but adequate and as it was a french breakfast we declined as they are invariably poor value. A good place to stay either in transit or for a few days break

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WAG1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    72
    40
    25
    10
See reviews for
32
118
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We visited this hotel with friends(who have stayed there before) for a long weekend.
St Valerie is a picture postcard french seaside town well worth a visit in its own right - although it does get very busy in high season.
The hotel evokes images of the Munsters when you first arrive what with the turrets etc...
We had a room on the top floor overlooking the estuary - very cosy - with about 12 inches of space on each side of the bed. A tiny ensuite was adequate although there was no pipe from the sink drain - straight onto the floor !
Our room also had a tiny balcony that looked as if it was about to fall off the building!
Having said all that, the staff were welcoming and helpful - breakfast was adequate and typically continental.
We ate in the hotels restaurant on Saturday evening - excellent top notch french cuisine with a good choice of local dishes - salt marsh lamb was very tasty although the tete de veau (calves head) is something tried only once!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentBugman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Badminton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

A rather odd looking, fin de siecle residence - a style popular along the northern French coast - with a tower, gables and half timbering which may be a bit off putting in the photos but better in the flesh. Well situated right by the pedestrian path along the bank of the Somme where it forms part of the Baie de Somme and close to the medieval part of Valery sur Somme. The larger part of the town and the port are a pleasant ten minute walk in the other direction.

There is plenty of off street parking and the rooms have all been recently remodelled in a modest way. Our room overlooked the bay and was rather small but quite comfortable.

However, it is the restaurant that makes the difference. A charming dining room and excellent menu of, largely, local produce and regional dishes. Service was excellent and properly paced (about 2.5 hours for four courses) with not an empty table to be seen. This was in November too!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acturv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Bit of a fraud this as I didn't stay at the Guillaume but we did eat there twice.
The building reminds one of a Hitchcock film with its elongated gothic tower. Once inside the restaurant there is no need for apprehension.
Everything about the restaurant is superb with the possible exception of the choice, which is rather limited. Lovely atmosphere, really posh tablecloths and napkins and lovely designer wine glasses. Excellent food, beautifully presented and exceptional service.
Four of us dined really well with magnificent food and service and if we hadn't gone bonkers on the wine it would have cost less than 90 euros.
Booking is a must, which is always a good sign. This is where the locals go to celebrate.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cossiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2010

We wanted a couple of nights away with good food.

We got all we wanted and more. Friendly welcome, comfortable room though on the 2nd floor you need to be fit to get the bags up. We ate in the hotel both nights. Went for the 33Eu menu night one and were not disappointed. 2nd night toned down and enjoyed the 18Eu food was excellent. We had a parc view but as we spent little time in the room it was fine. The view from the dining room was more than enough. The town has plenty to see and do.

All in all a great hotel for a short break in France with plenty to do and see without needing to drive everywhere.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank digitalruggerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2010

We booked on-line and asked for a room overlooking the parc (carpark as it turned out). The room was in the eaves on the third floor up difficult wooden stairs and as big as the bed with the wardrobe in the bathroom and a pong of stale cigarettes. There was one tiny window, outside which cooed and shuffled innumerable pigeons mating and pooing. Overhead in the ceiling goodness knows what scrabbled, scampered and bundled around most of the time - obviously not pigeons! The hotel was full so no chance of a change of room - even if one wanted to stay for more than one night. Goodness knows what the chance would be of getting out if a fire broke out. The instructions indicated using the wooden stairs! The staff in the restaurant were lovely and the meal just about OK. Don't believe the pics on the website - all the rooms must be tiny. We left after breakfast - which was poor.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlomayKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint-Valery-sur-Somme hotels

Scotland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2010

I sent an email this week to this hotel to try to book two nights in June. I had an email by return telling me that the hotel was full on both these nights. I have since looked at the availability on the hotel's website and found that there are rooms available. Is the website not up to date ? Do they just not want guests for only two nights ??

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ScottishTourist46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Valery-sur-Somme hotels
0.3 mi away
Les Corderies
Les Corderies
#1 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
398 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Pilotes
Hotel Les Pilotes
#3 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
340 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant du Cap Hornu
Hotel Restaurant du Cap Hornu
#2 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Port et des Bains
Hotel du Port et des Bains
#7 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
228 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Colonne de Bronze
La Colonne de Bronze
#5 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Picardia
Hotel Picardia
#4 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Guillaume de Normandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Guillaume de Normandy

Property: Relais Guillaume de Normandy
Address: 46 quai du Romerel, 80230, Saint-Valery-sur-Somme, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Relais Guillaume De Normandy Hotel Saint-Valery-Sur-Somme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing