We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smashing hotel”
Review of Hotel Les Pilotes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Les Pilotes
Woking, UK
Level Contributor
200 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Smashing hotel”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

As others have said, Les Pilotes reopened towards the end of 2012 under new ownership & after a refurbishment. The decor is somewhat quirky but it's fun - first time we've seen a carpet pretending to be floorboards! As has already been noted, the quirkiness extends to a full-length clear glass window between the bedroom & bathroom, which means the party still lying in bed can observe the other party in the shower, and even on the toilet. Not quite sure why this was thought to be a good idea but it did raise a laugh.
Staff are very friendly & helpful, including the couple who I took to be the owners.
We paid €288 as a late booking for 3 nights, for a top floor room overlooking the bay - smashing view. The rack rate was supposed to be €210 per night which would be very expensive for the room but we were very happy with the deal we got. Breakfast was extra at €9 for the continental - good selection of breads, pastries, jams, yoghurt etc. We would normally go out for just a croissant & coffee but St Valery didn't seem to have anything to offer at that time in the morning. But as I said, the hotel's breakfast was very good. They go out of their way to serve local produce & indeed the hotel makes much of its eco credentials.
Tea & coffee facilities in the room, quite unusual for a French hotel. Good free wifi. TV doesn't have any English-language channels apart from one European channel.
Once we arrived we were given instructions on how to find the free car park - by road it's quite a long way round but only about 10 mins walk back to the hotel. This free car park is not very much signposted in the town itself!
Definitely a hotel to recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voigt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    124
    71
    26
    11
See reviews for
50
219
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
178 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Recently opened, this hotel must become the place of choice to stay in delightful St Valery. The decor in the bar and reception areas uses unusual wallpaper and quirky design touches. The hotel featured in the spring edition of Coté Ouest, the French design magazine. Our bedroom had a minimalist touch with grey walls that helped reflect the wonderful luminosity of the Somme estuary. There was a walk in shower with a window through to the bed area, so showering meant a sea view too. The bed, with beautiful white linen and fabulous pillows looked directly out to the water.There is a refreshment tray in the bedroom.Breakfast taken in the bar consisted of local produce- delicious yogurts, a basket of venoisserie from a local boulangerie. Not cheap but worth it.

Room Tip: It's worth paying more for a view of the bay. Ask for a bed that looks out directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankafile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

A stylish recently refurbished hotel with very pleasant and helpful staff / owners. The bedroom was not large but had everything we needed including a comfortable bed, lovely linen, and tea / coffee making facilities. The shower area was "open-plan" which was unusual but didn't trouble us. The view from our second floor bedroom over the bay was superb. Breakfast times were flexible (up to noon?) and the food was delicious - locally made fresh produce which was brought to the table (not a buffet). Breakfast was served in the bar area again with superb views over the bay. This was a February half-term break and St Valery was pretty quiet. Perhaps at busier times of the year the two one-way cobbled streets either side of the hotel could be a bit noisy with traffic- particularly if you needed the window open for fresh air. There is no aircon. Also we had no difficulty hearing the family in the next room although it wasn't too intrusive. No English TV channels were available. The evening meal in the Bistrot was fresh, tasty and well cooked. Free public parking is available a short walk from the hotel although the one way system makes it seem further away by road. On-street parking costs 8 euros per day.

Room Tip: It would be a pity to stay here and not book a room with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DS221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felpham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We had breakfast here one morning. The view is fabulous and the decor is charmingly retro. The staff were very welcoming and pleasant. Breakfast not as expensive as some other hotels. We did not stay here - but wish we had!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Masha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London...
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Yes, ignore the old reviews, this hotel was refurbished this year and opened its doors in July this year. Some of the rooms were completed only 3 weeks ago.!! The staff are really friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were delicious with lots of different pastries, yogurts from a local farm, locally made jams, ham, cheese and good coffee. We had a problem with the room( my husband broke a light fixture) and they immediately moved us to another room (where, thankfully he did'nt break anything else. We did'nt try the restaurant as had already made reservations at other places.
Get a rom facing the bay as the views are spectacular and fun watching people wading across the estuary!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Limehouse6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

After a mix-up in our booking at a nearby hotel we found ourselves at Les Pilotes. The welcome we received was first class despite the fact that we were probably inconveniencing the owners who were putting the finishing touches to an extensive refurbishment.
Firstly, the decor - I would call it ironic-retro and it's fun! Clearly, a lot of money has been spent and the result is what we in the UK call a boutique hotel. The bed was comfortable with great linen. The shower-room was a wet-room - which is a pet-hate of mine - but it was all very tastefully done that it didn't trouble me too much. They could prevent the water from the shower sloshing around - and perhaps this is something for them to look at.
The hotel is very well positioned - the view across the estuary from our room was stunning! The free car park is quite a distance using the town's one-way system but only a few-minute walk using the short-cuts.
Continental breakfast was excellent and coffee was produced specially to meet our exacting taste. The staff could not have been more hospitable.
It's not a cheap hotel but you would expect to pay more for the boutique-hotel experience in the UK and this is what you're getting at here. We may have arrived at Les Pilotes by chance but we were glad we did - they saved our holiday.

Room Tip: It would be a shame to stay here and not have an estuary view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Friendly couple, great views and lovely food, but, the rooms are in need of a revamp and soundproofing while you're at it!
Had a very sleepless night, at one point I could hear the man in the room next door and one across the corridor snoring.... and every time someone used the bathroom... you get the picture. Partly due to the age of the building, but for €105 room only, there are definitely better alternatives until the rooms have been refreshed.
We checked out the next day and moved to the hotel down the road. The lady did offer to move us to a different room, but sadly the walls are all equally thin and she then charged us the full €105 for the night, as we had negotiated a lower rate for a 3 night stay, which added insult to sleepless injury.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor, noise can only come from a limited number of directions!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTFTMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
0.2 mi away
Les Corderies
Les Corderies
#1 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
394 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant du Cap Hornu
Hotel Restaurant du Cap Hornu
#2 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
865 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Port et des Bains
Hotel du Port et des Bains
#7 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Colonne de Bronze
La Colonne de Bronze
#5 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
172 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel de la Baie de Somme
Hotel de la Baie de Somme
#2 of 5 in Le Crotoy
295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Picardia
Hotel Picardia
#4 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Pilotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Pilotes

Property: Hotel Les Pilotes
Address: 62 rue de la Ferte | 37 Quai Blavet, 80230, Saint-Valery-sur-Somme, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New style and decoration for the "Hotel Les Pilotes" and its 25 new rooms. See you in June! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Les Pilotes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing