We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busy restaurant with good local food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Terrasse

La Terrasse
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leuven
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Busy restaurant with good local food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

If a restaurant is visited by the locals, it's a proof that it has a good price/quality. This is certainly the case for La Terrasse. You won't find fancy dishes, but what they serve is excellent bistro food. Try the bouchot musles for instance. You have a nice view on the Somme estuarium and you have a large parking lot just near the restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jilmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    181
    146
    86
    82
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
173 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Always a table”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is the sunny restaurant/ café in St Valery and is always busy, especially on market days. It's the outside seating. That's the draw. They will always find you a table ,even if it means queuing for a little while. Fast pleasant service, standard fresh food, salads and moules always available, plus other fare. The food is not outstanding, just pleasant and copious. Coffee and drinks always available too and in winer its cosy indoors.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank frankafile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

If what you want is to read a menu in English / German as well as French but get average food, then this is the place for you. The only people in our party who liked their food were the children! My HUsband was ill all night following his meal. Nothing more to be said really!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kiwibird060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Should've checked Trip Advisor.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

We would have, had we had a Internet connection, checked TA and given this one a miss.

The sun was out and they have a large terrace fronting onto an open market. It was busy and to be seated outside (why wouldn't you after suffering the last 6 months of miserable cold Northern Europe weather) we had to "queue" for about 10 mins. That should've been a guide, shear turnover but, everyone leaving seemed content or didn't show their displeasure or had no taste buds. We sat, was given a menu then waiting 10 mins for a water to take a drink order, which did arrive quickly. He also took our food order at the same time as delivering our Kia'. The salmon tartare and the calamari arrived after about 10 minutes, these were our starters but you could easily have eaten them as a main. My wife's salmon has been clearly pre-prepared and the lemon juice had done it job. The calamari was heavily batter coated. It's was wasn't the worst I'd eaten but by no means up there with anything really just descent. After an enforced 20 minute gap by which time I realised we should have left my wife's moule frites and my pavé rumstek arrived. As it happens, the mean was at least cooked very rare and the sauce bleu d'auvergne was nice. And they had no problems cooking the frozen frites. My wife on the other hand didn't fare as well with the moule. She ate some and they weren't disgusting but, having lived in Britanny and now in Normandy we know what the can and should be like. Anyway, we finished and paid Nd with a piche of rosé for €5.00 our bill came to €53.00. No, not huge but still, is rather have bought a sandwich somewhere else. So, arrive early to these touristy places and do your research. Avoid this one though. The were pleasant but, shouldn't they be anyway.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StevejFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southport pr9 9ef
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Sea Food with a SEA View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We called by chance the other week when visiting the area and it completed a perfect day .
The sea food was as fresh as you can get it and cooked well including mussels that are a sweet as anything with a view overlooking the Somme estuary .Well worth a visit to the restaurant and the lovely seaside town Typically French in culinary expertise and typically French in the enjoyment of the lunch and presentation .

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GRHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Terrasse also viewed

Saint-Valery-sur-Somme, Somme
Saint-Valery-sur-Somme, Somme
 
Saint-Valery-sur-Somme, Somme
Saint-Valery-sur-Somme, Somme
 
Saint-Valery-sur-Somme, Somme
Saint-Valery-sur-Somme, Somme
 

Been to La Terrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing