We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than other reviews may suggest.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Drakkar

Le Drakkar
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Devon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Better than other reviews may suggest.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Yes the service was a bit rushed. The were very busy, a Tuesday night, and whilst the pace was fine initially once other diners had left it speeded up. It's unusual for France where often you wait for ages for the bill. Food however was good. We had eaten here in July as well and again had the gondola de fruits de mer starter which we couldn't fault. Lamb pre sale was ok but I was expecting something quite special. Prices are below some other places in town

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Oneandapenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    108
    92
    94
    104
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Get a takeaway!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We wish we had the night we ate at Le Drakkar. Although the food was edible, it was expensive and rushed. The worse thing about the experience though was the service, the waitress was unhelpful, unpleasant and surly and when we paid the bill we were met with silence with not even a "merci".

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gondregnies
1 review
“Read the reviews and ask yourself, ''why risk it?"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We were 7 people looking to have a nice dinner out on our final evening of our holidays. We were greeted and seated and very quickly attended to. Tables were gathered together, some higher than others, places quickly set and menus out. The staff was accommodating initially. We arrived at about 8pm and we're not told anything about time limitations or advised not to order three courses, which nearly everyone at the table did. The first course arrived almost immediately. One of our diners recognized it from a frozen meal of a French frozen food chain. Still, it was warmed and presented decently. The entrée was gathered immediately after the last bite and the next course arrived very soon afterwards. Three of us ordered Sole Meunier, each plate was quite different from the other. One was decently prepared, the other was just the white flesh of fish, but no crust, which I assume still lays on the griddle in the kitchen...not quite the way to treat delicate fish. The third was raw in the centre, so much so that the diner could not cut the flesh away from the bone. We asked the waiter to come back and showed him about the uncooked fish and he took it away. The rest of us continued with our meal and the same fish was brought back only fileted. The flesh was still quite raw and obviously cold at this point, as it never found any real heat. Our friend called the waiter over again, let him know this was unacceptable, which he fussed a bit about it being cut off the bone now and not that it had been cooked. He called the manager out to discuss the problem. She was friendly, sympathetic and responsive. She saw the condition of the fish and took the plate away promising a new meal. We then waited, and waited, and waited. Finally, our friend received her plate, a properly prepared Sole Meunier a full thirty minutes later. No sole takes thirty minutes to prepare and we felt now this was quite deliberate. We also noticed that the restaurant was taking no more diners and the tables and chairs near us were being cleared and taken away. Staff was getting off work and stood near the doorway where we were seated, chatting and texting while getting a ''status report'' on us being so disagreeable. It was uncomfortable. We never saw the sympathetic manager again and our waiter continued with his hustled service. The final chairs were being picked up by the owner, first time we'd seen him during this whole experience, and he said to his staff who were standing by the door that he was going to be there all night with this group, meaning us. It was now 10:15pm and much of the time was taken dealing with their inability to cook food properly. Why wouldn't they mention that they were going to close in two hours' time and advise seven people from ordering a three course menu? St. Valery has a reputation of good quality food due to heavy competition, Le Drakkar is not worth the rudeness and lack of customer care. We didn't read the reviews until the next day and noticed the consistency of the complaints. There was no lack of language skills, four were French speaking Belgians and three Americans who speak more than adequate French...and most can can cook a decent sole meunier...with a smile.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eenpintje2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
1 review
“never again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Our group was sat on tables of uneven height. The food was very overpriced. Moules were small and tasteless. Waiting staff interrupted when not needed but when needed did not respond. Seafood starter felt like it had just been defrosted from a packet. Not a good experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pleasant end to our stay in France”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

It was our last meal in France before driving back to the UK and the best meal of the holiday. Reasonable range of set menus from the cheap to the ‘I could not eat that much food any way’ along with a wide range on the a la carte. Our meal was very good, excellent fish soup and the muscles for main were first rate and the pudding was fine. Definitely on our list of restaurants worth a revisit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DerekWB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Drakkar also viewed

Saint-Valery-sur-Somme, Somme
Saint-Valery-sur-Somme, Somme
 
Saint-Valery-sur-Somme, Somme
Saint-Valery-sur-Somme, Somme
 

Been to Le Drakkar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing