We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant to avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Drakkar

Le Drakkar
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
County Leitrim, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Restaurant to avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Had Sunday lunch here. Looks nice from the outside. Ficelle picarde was "off" as was croustillant au maroilles; croustillant au chèvre, however, was available... and came with a bit of salad. Émincés de bœuf "à point" in sauce au maroilles were lumps of "saignant" beef in sauce served, for no obvious reason, in a little ceramic pot. The pot was cold and the contents were just warm. The dish came with chips but no vegetables. The list of desserts was ridiculously long but everything was just your standard chiller cabinet/ freezer stuff. Service was slow but there seemed to be plenty of staff working. There are better restaurants in Saint-Valéry. I won't be back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    112
    92
    95
    113
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't understand some of these reviews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We ate there on 2 nights at the end of September and both times the food was very good the service was not rushed and very friendly - we had 2 enjoyable evenings there - would recommend it. Don't listen to others judge for yourself.. Had the sea bass and salmon ravioli one night couldn't fault it. The Chablis was excellent (so was the Mojito!).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheWyc0mbeWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Altogether a Very Average Package”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Full marks to Le Drakkar for being one of very few restaurants open in St Valey on a very wet Monday lunchtime on October.However, overcooked whelks and clams in the seafood starter, a cream jug with a broken off handle to accompany the coffee and over anxious staff to hurry our exit along, all served to convince us not to return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank penninerover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

My wife and I ate here on a cold and wet October evening. We were the first ones int he restaurant and as such the service was very good. I had a seafood mixture to start with and my wife had lamb pate, both very good. She then had a main course of skate I had the shoulder of lamb chops. Skate was very good lamb was OK, can't say more than that. Both then had very good desserts.
Although by the time we left the restaurant was very full the service seemed to hold up, although the fact that I think we had three different servers made it all seem a bit impersonal.
It was what I have come to expect these days in france, a fairly average experience.
Reasonable wine list and reasonable value for money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank welshtraveller42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Better than other reviews may suggest.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Yes the service was a bit rushed. The were very busy, a Tuesday night, and whilst the pace was fine initially once other diners had left it speeded up. It's unusual for France where often you wait for ages for the bill. Food however was good. We had eaten here in July as well and again had the gondola de fruits de mer starter which we couldn't fault. Lamb pre sale was ok but I was expecting something quite special. Prices are below some other places in town

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oneandapenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Drakkar also viewed

Saint-Valery-sur-Somme, Somme
Saint-Valery-sur-Somme, Somme
 
Saint-Valery-sur-Somme, Somme
Saint-Valery-sur-Somme, Somme
 

Been to Le Drakkar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing