We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disgrace to France”

Le Bistrot de St Val
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“disgrace to France”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I am still in shock by just how awfull our lunch was! I had moules frites, the moules looked and tasted as if the had been re-heated, some a bit wrinkly and dried up, and mostly cold. My husband had a ficelle Picard, which also seemed a few days old, and not hot enough. As for the French Fries, they were totally inpregnated with the oil they had been cooked in. In short, we are relieved neither of us is ill today!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    119
    78
    59
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Entrecote”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Food was lovely - pate de campagne and entrecote steak on 2 nights whilst in the area with my wife. House wine was fine. Service was good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaveH2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The food was bland ,cold and very unappealing to the eye! Would not recommend it although the house red was nice!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
218 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Best avoided”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We found ourselves in this restaurant for the second time - on both occasions because it was the beginning the week, a little out of the tourist season, and it was the only eatery open. The first time we chose a local speciality (poulet au Camembert). The chicken was dry, yellowish and stringy. The bones were curiously very dark. The flaccid chips and watery salad constituted a sad garnish. The dish was inedible though the waitress seemed to think it perfectly reasonable. On the second occasion we thought it best to steer clear of meat, so we chose another local speciality: ficelle Picarde. It was clear to us that the cook had never seen a ficelle before - under a deal of gloopy sauce, we found some mashed up mushrooms but despite an in-depth analysis failed to trace the ficelle, though we did find a little ham. Never again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oldbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One to avoid”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We wanted a snack lunch and chose this restaurant. Unfortunately, the meal was the worst we had in France on this trip. My Ficelle Picarde looked and tasted dreadful being crammed with grey ham and black watery mushrooms. The accompanying salad contained the tough outside leaves of various plants which were of wildly differing sizes thrown together with nasty chunks of tomato. A four-year-old on work experience could have done better job of tearing the leaves into bit sized pieces. My husband's omelette was so greasy that he looked as grey as my ham whilst trying to eat it. The chips we both had were hot and good, thankfully, although I wasn't sure why I was served chips with my pancake and salad. They certainly bumped up the bill though - 28 euros including two cokes. This is definitely one to avoid.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Darcygirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Bistrot de St Val also viewed

Saint-Valery-sur-Somme, Somme
Saint-Valery-sur-Somme, Somme
 
Saint-Valery-sur-Somme, Somme
Saint-Valery-sur-Somme, Somme
 

Been to Le Bistrot de St Val? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing