We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boven Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waterval Boven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boven Villa
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed at Boven Villa 2 nights on the way to and from Kruger NP.
Elephant room upstairs is lovely and very comfortable.
Beautiful and interesting garden : roses, trees, birds
Sean is very friendly and helpful.
Anne Marie & Jean Paul, Brussels

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amjp66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Festive Greetings Anne Marie and Jean Paul
Thank you so much for this cheerful review. It restores my faith in TripAdvisor. I appreciate that one cannot please everyone all the time, however the previous reviewers nasty attacks were unjust and personal. So thank you for such positive feedback.
I am so glad that you enjoyed your trip to South Africa and welcome you back whenever you are planning your next trip to our lovely country.
With next years Great War Anniversary upon us I will have you in mind when the battles in Belgium are commemorated.
Have a healthy 2014 and Bon Chance.
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
17
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alberton, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

The stay and the accommodation was pleasant but the attitude of the owner was nothing but poor. Sean Larkin (Owner) is very facetious and pedantic and childish when we stayed there on the weekend from the 21st - 25th of November. We then booked for the weekend of 13 - 17 December and when we got a confirmation email on the 9th of December and had to, unfortunately, cancel he was most rude and accused us of keeping customers away from his guest house. I couldn't believe that a host could act in such a manner. We did keep the email as proof.
There was constant drunken loud noise from a shebeen across the property all night and the photo's on the website make you think there's a damn with fish at the guest house in the meantime it's at another property and no, he was NOT in the Garden & Home. He made the picture himself.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonjaFroneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Good Morning
It is difficult to know how to respond to your review of Boven Villa.
You stayed at Boven Villa for 4 nights, then on departure booked another 4 nights bringing your family along as well. This would not have been done if you had been treated as terribly as you have indicated.
That is a complete contradiction.
The fact that TripAdvisor allows you to personally insult me is contrary to their very own guidelines. I have replayed the interactions that we had over the four days of your stay and cannot come up with a reason why you would feel it necessary to write such a vitriolic nasty review. It is as though there were two different sets of guests.
If your intention was to hurt my reputation because of a perceived slight then that has been achieved. This review is unkind, unnecessary, uncalled for and unjust.
Sean Larkin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I recently stayed here and agree with all the other great reviews! Sean is indeed an excellent and charming host. He made us laugh and organized requested tours before we even arrived!
We made our reservations while driving there....
The guest lodge is clean, expansive, welcoming, spacious and very nicely appointed. The amenities are abundant and first class, so many fragrant cremes and shower gels to choose from.
The breakfasts were way more than I could finish and delicious.
Sean made every effort to ensure our comfort at his place and I will definitely stay there next time I'm in Waterval Boven.

Room Tip: I loved The Elephant Room upstairs though my friend was very comfortable downstairs in his room, for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Good morning Ceslie
Wow, thank you so much for those excellent words. We strive to deliver a good service to our guests and this type of feedback makes it all worthwhile.
Thank you for bringing your special kind of inner peace to Boven Villa.
Kind regards from Sunny South Africa
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelspruit, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

One night at Boven Villa and our group felt as though we had been on a week long holiday!!! Peaceful, private, safe, secure and so beautiful! Sean is the perfect host, nothing is too much trouble for him. Dinner - bed - breakfast...EVERYTHING is just perfect. (Dinner was especially delicious - home baked bread to die for!) Boven Villa is conveniently situated en route to the Kruger National Park and Sean has an incredible knowledge of the area. Highly recommended! We will most certainly be back!

Room Tip: Elephant room - the bed is unbelievably comfortable and the room has its own deck - breath taking vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Good morning Cheryl
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of Boven Villa.
I am so glad that your group had a good experience. Hopefully next time will be an extended stay, so that you are able to explore the nearby waterfalls and mountain bike trails.
See you soon on your travels.
Seanj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

The attentiveness and great experience starts with the interactions during the booking... It continues at the same level. Great place for a stop over to Kruger. Easy to find and good food. Safe parking. Will return

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GertdeBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Good morning Gentlemen
Thank you for your lovely review of Boven Villa.
I am very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable overnight stay. Here's hoping that you managed to see some of the big cats in KNP.
Whenever you are passing through this way be sure to bare Boven Villa in mind.
Best wishes
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Excellent lodging with personalized and very friendly service, down to the last detail. The owners really go the extra mile, and the food was also exquisite. Amazing walks in the area, and close driving range to other local attractions, like Kaapschehoop and Dullstroom. Will definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Good morning Guys
Wow, thank you very much for writing such a lovely review.
I am so glad that you had a good stay at Boven Villa. It is just a pity that the weather did not play ball. But at least it allowed you to snuggle under the comfy snug duvets.
Hopefully the next time you are in the area you are able to find those wonderful waterfalls.
Kind regards
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

What a gem!!!

Home away from home and look forward to visiting again.
If you are looking for a place where you feel totally at home while traveling, do yourself a favour and stop over at Boven Villa and stay a night or two. Sean's hospitality was top notch.

Totally private space, warm and cosy and intimate inside and out!

Sean's breakfast and coffee was great :)

Room Tip: The Elephant Room has its own balcony and a massive bathroom with shower and a twin bath. Room is s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Good afternoon Carmen\
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at Boven Villa.
It is lovely to hear that the Elephant Room was warm and spacious, that the hospitality was top notch and the breakfast great. Those are the adjectives that we strive for.
It would be perfect to know how we could improve on those to deliver a 5/5 review.
Kind regards
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterval Boven
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Waterval Boven Malaga
0.7 mi away
Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven
0.2 mi away
Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge
Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge
#1 of 7 in Waterval Boven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Saragossa Game Reserve
Saragossa Game Reserve
#1 of 10 in Waterval Boven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
21.2 mi away
Peace Corner
Peace Corner
#1 of 11 in Dullstroom
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
10.6 mi away
Gooderson Kloppenheim Country Estate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boven Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boven Villa

Property: Boven Villa
Address: 8 End Avenue, Waterval Boven 1195, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Waterval Boven
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Waterval Boven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Boven Villa Hotel Waterval Boven
Boven Villa Waterval Boven, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing