We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ard Na Ciuin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballyduff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ard Na Ciuin
Ranked #1 of 2 Ballyduff B&B and Inns
Swords, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

I booked the residential swimming course here after finding it on Google and cannot recommend Ard Na Ciuin more highly!
The property is in a beautiful setting, immaculately decorated and everything has been thought of in terms of comfort and care during your stay - the decor, the facilities, the furnishings, the food, the welcome and advice on local walks and attractions - Trevor and Lynette could not do enough.
To anyone thinking of taking the plunge on the swimming course, do it, do it, do it! The endless pool is a wonderful idea for the learner and Tracey is a brilliant instructor. Learning on a one-to-one basis, with lots of opportunity to put in practice in between lessons, really makes a difference. I arrived at Ard Na Ciuin unsure if I would ever swim, but swam on my second less and finished every single lesson amazed at the progress that it is possible to make in such a short time. And it was a short time, a week in this lovely location flew by all too quickly, I can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnN784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
21
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Nothing seemed too much trouble! We were met with a genuinely warm and friendly welcome from Trevor and sustenance of homemade bikkies and coffee. The breakfasts were delicious (fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals and cooked food to a high standard) and we also had a 2 course meal in the evening which included homegrown fresh veg which tasted really yummy. (You can also bring in your own wine which is a plus!) I slept like a log in a very comfortable bed with a great hot shower en suite. The interior is stylish and the ambiance warm and cosy. The hottub/spa shouldn't be missed if you want to enjoy peace and relaxation with beautiful views! We visited Lismore which is closeby and very pretty and the Folly nearby which has an interesting history. Lovely walks in the vicinity. This B&B is just the place to turn off after a tiring working week. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Spectacular BnB in a pretty Irish countryside. Stylishly decorated in the country style with all the nice touches. The bedroom is large with ensuite bathroom, all of which are spotlessly clean. Delicious breakfasts in the morning with good filter coffee for those coffee lovers. Good wifi signal in the rooms. The only problem was finding them. You definitely need a car to get to this little spot of heaven. With 4 Ballyduffs in Ireland, the GPS can be confusing with so many small roads in Ireland. They (the hosts) provide clear instructions for getting there but for the spatially challenged, such as myself, it was quite a struggle to get there. Trevor and Lynette are lovely, kind, generous and very helpful. Lynette went to the town center to lead me to their home. They also have lots of recommended stuff to do in the area. Really had a nice time and didn't want to leave their place. Wish I had stayed longer!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmnyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Just back from a wonderful weekend at Ard na Ciuin. You get an immediate sense of being cocooned somewhere special where your hosts will take good care you.

We didn’t arrive until way after ten at night but Trevor still served coffee with home-made oat cakes – lovely! The interior is very tastefully decorated with a cosy ambience.

Great showers, comfy beds and scrummy breakfasts with freshly baked muffins set us up for the day. We raced back from touring to catch the beautiful view as it was shrouded in mist that morning. Sitting in the hot tub looking out over the landscape is a real treat, don’t miss this experience. Trevor cooked a fabulous evening meal with vegetables from the garden and produced a succulent chocolate cake with clotted cream. Sinful but delicious.
Bring your own wine – in keeping with the generosity of the owners, Ard na Ciuin don’t charge corkage either. Highly recommended, we’ll be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CalistoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We have stayed here at Lynette and Trevor's place many times now. Each time we stay we have a warmer welcome and feel like it is our second home. Excellent hospitality and supurb food cooked fresh from breakfast to dinner in the evening. Beautiful surroundings. A place where you can go to truly relax and forget the everyday rushing around! Good size rooms and a shower that would nail you to the floor! just what you need after 8 hours of salmon fishing on the River Blackwater. A short drive from Lismore and the nearest large town is Fermoy not far away. Thoroughly recommended!!!! Fantastic hot tub and swimming pool and a local pub that serves a great pint of the black gold!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ireland085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountrath
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

My Partner and I and two friends spent a weekend in September. this was our second time there and it is one of the most relaxing and chilling breaks ever. Trevor and Lynn are so friendly and welcoming. The rooms are well decorated, lounge very cosy and relaxing. The hot tub is to die for and the walks are just splendid. will be taking a trip back there very soon. Thanks guys for a welcome break. M & J - Laois

Room Tip: Green Room is georgous
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laoisfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Third time in this class B@B and again had superb service if your in that area its well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OfftheH00k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ard Na Ciuin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard Na Ciuin

Property: Ard Na Ciuin
Address: Toornageeha, Ballyduff ROI 123, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Ballyduff
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyduff
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ard na Ciuin is an idyllic rural retreat with facilities unique to the region. Learn to swim, find new direction, or just relax and recover in peaceful, holistic surroundings. Enjoy our warm welcome and our first class service. After the perfect night's sleep, far from traffic noise and away from the 'rat race' wake up to incredible views across the Blackwater valley and beyond. Savour delicious home cooking made with fresh seasonal ingredients produced right here on our organically run 15 acre homestead. Take time to explore the area or stay close to home and develop new life skills, safe in the hands of our experts. With forest trails and mountain views right on our doorstep you won't need to walk far to find inspiration and nature at its best. Family run, we know the true meaning of hospitality and we'll ensure your stay feels like a "home from home without having to lift a finger!" ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing