We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOW I can swim!”
Review of Ard Na Ciuin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballyduff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ard Na Ciuin
Ranked #1 of 2 Ballyduff B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“NOW I can swim!”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I've just had a wonderful time at Ard Ciuin. My stay was to attend their 5-day intensive swimming course. This involved a one-hour private swimming class each morning, followed by an hour's practice later in the day, followed by a divine soak in their outdoor hot (really hot!) tub. The food was really good. Super breakfasts and absolutely delicious dinners each evening of my stay. The hosts, Lynette and Trevor were so nice. My room was lovely.I really have nothing but praise for Ard Ciuin and would highly recommend it. it's in a very peaceful location too. And best of all, I can now swim! At last.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0411tanglewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
22
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Recently returned from a four-night family holiday at Ard Na Ciuin.

Trevor and Lynette were both extremely welcoming and couldn't do enough to have made our stay any better. The accommodation was ideal, extremely clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast was brilliant - by far the best 'fry up' we've had - and was followed each day by delicious homemade banana and chocolate chip muffins or oat biscuits.

Although out in the sticks, the guesthouse is situated just minutes away from Ballyduff, with Lismore and Fermoy each a little further on so there's plenty around to keep you occupied. Trevor was also more than helpful with his directions!

All of us, aged from 3 up to 83, loved our stay and would highly recommend to couples or families looking to enjoy Ireland.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seonaid O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Just home from a week in ard na ciuin, myself and my friend did the swimming course, i had a fear of qater and have tried to learn for years but could not get past a certain point. I would reccomend this course to anyone who wants to learn to swim, i was amazed at myself and how far i came, there were good days and bad days but with tracey (swimming instructor) by my side helping me every step and pushing me at just the right time i got there in the end, also the encouragement from lynette and trevour in the house each evening and morning kept me going and i have learned how you can do anything once you put your mind to it :).
The home made food was to die for, we were so made to feel right at home. I am booking to go back down for my birthday in the summer for one of the hot tub partys. Highly reccomend ard na ciuin, amazing things happen when you stay there ;)). I have come home well rested, relaxed and with a new found confidence and have made new friends :).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wonderwoman1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spiddal, Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Loved the stunning views,warm & friendly welcome from Trevor & Lynette who can't do enough for you & you feel like you've known them all your life. Enjoyed the cosy open fire in sitting room,cosy bedroom & delicious wholesome food. Thoroughly enjoyed swimming in the Endless pool which is so clean & refreshing & look forward to returning at some stage

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisaxkx
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Me and my mum have just come back from staying at the ard na ciuin guesthouse. We had such a lovely time and cant thank lynette and trev enough for their hospitality & delicious food. We thoroughly enjoyed the pizzas on thursday and are having withdrawal symptoms from the bubbling hot tub with stunning views.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaxkx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I spent a week doing the residential swimming course here and cannot recommend this highly enough.
The location is stunning, the facilities excellent and the food divine....esp the freshly made muffins Lynette provides.
In terms of learning to swim, this is the perfect environment, the pool is incredible and Tracey is the most amazing instructor. There was plenty of opportunity to spend time practising and fantastic support from everyone....and I even amazed myself at the progress I made.
Trevor and Lynette could not have been more helpful in suggesting local sightseeing activities and the week flew by all too quickly.
If you are considering learning to swim or just want a relaxing holiday in a beautiful location....do it!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anouskam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Ard Na Ciuin is more than a guesthouse, from the minute you arrive Lynette and Trevor are extremly friendly and welcome its def home from home! I enjoyed the hot tub over looking the view it is a great place to relax and unwind. Lynette cooked us a very tasty meal with the veg coming from her own garden it was fab and also a beautiful home made dessert to follow! The lounge with open fire is a lovely place to chill out after eating with a good selection of books and board games also! I really enjoyed the breakfast options as you get to choose what youd like eat and also taste Lynettes home made muffins which were so good! Its a great location for Cork, Waterford, Lismore ect.. Also Trevor is very helpful and has a lot of knowledge on local attractions and very happy to answer any questions about the surrounding areas.. Overall a very pleasant stay and I will def be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeEoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ard Na Ciuin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard Na Ciuin

Property: Ard Na Ciuin
Address: Toornageeha, Ballyduff ROI 123, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Ballyduff
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyduff
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ard na Ciuin is an idyllic rural retreat with facilities unique to the region. Learn to swim, find new direction, or just relax and recover in peaceful, holistic surroundings. Enjoy our warm welcome and our first class service. After the perfect night's sleep, far from traffic noise and away from the 'rat race' wake up to incredible views across the Blackwater valley and beyond. Savour delicious home cooking made with fresh seasonal ingredients produced right here on our organically run 15 acre homestead. Take time to explore the area or stay close to home and develop new life skills, safe in the hands of our experts. With forest trails and mountain views right on our doorstep you won't need to walk far to find inspiration and nature at its best. Family run, we know the true meaning of hospitality and we'll ensure your stay feels like a "home from home without having to lift a finger!" ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing