We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mon-Fri Swimming Lesson Getaway”
Review of Ard Na Ciuin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballyduff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ard Na Ciuin
Ranked #1 of 2 Ballyduff B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mon-Fri Swimming Lesson Getaway”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

My partner and I with our 8 month old son came to Ard na Ciuin because of a TV spot showing the Swimming Lessons provided here. I was blown away upon arrival because though the pictures of the property on the website are good, they do not do the house justice. It is stunning and is so far more than a mere guesthouse/B&B that it is almost insulting to label it as such. Large spacious en suite room upstairs had 1 double and 2 single beds and still plenty of room to add a travel cot so nothing seemed cramped. A large bathroom with spacious walk in shower and bathtub was bliss. Across the landing was the shared kitchenette with sink, stove, microwave, toaster and fridge. Breakfast every morning was delicious and well presented, and with several selections, I was able to have a different breakfast every morning.We had dinner there 2 of the nights, lasagna first and Pizza second ... both were excellent because both Lynnette and Trevor are great cooks! We will be back again, not simply because Ard na Ciuin was great, but simply because there was so much to see in this part of the country that we simply couldn't get to it all!!

Room Tip: upstairs family room has the best views of the countryside and is right across the landing from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randall G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
22
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Warm and entertaining hosts, beautiful situation on the top of a hill, convenient to a surprising number of places no more than half an hour away, e.g. Youghal, Dungarvan, Lismore, Fermoy, Middleton, Clonmel, also right beside (well, nearly beside) the charming village of Ballyduff, whose inhabitants were super-helpful to us when we had bike problems. Rooms are lovely and the place is spotlessly clean. Trevor and Lynette never seem to rest, they keep looking for something new to do, so on top of their farm of Saddleback pigs, Dexter cows, hens and geese, plus a few dogs, they have added a swimming school with their super instructor Treacy in their small but “endless” pool, where thanks to a current-maker you can swim “on the spot” and apparently many fearful have become swimmers. Bring your bikes as there are lots of nice cycles (as well as walks) in the woods behind the house, but DO NOT make the mistake of cycling to the bottom of the hill unless you’re a triathlonist, as you may not get back up again! Breakfasts are delicious with fruits, cereals, yogurts as well as a wide choice of freshly-cooked food, dinners are simple but tasty and good value, bring your own wine. Can’t wait to visit again!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SkeffIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penguinville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Ard Na Ciuin is situated on the top of a hill, giving it unparalleled views of the area. It is a beautiful spot and I am sad that we did not have the time to stop for longer.

Unlike some other B&Bs in Ireland the shower was spacious and the water pressure second to none. The room was large and well appointed.

Lynette and Trevor were gracious hosts - a small problem with the heating was rectified immediately once they were notified. The breakfast was lovely and included fresh muffins - there was even vegemite available for Australians who may be missing it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RS_on_holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I've just had a wonderful time at Ard Ciuin. My stay was to attend their 5-day intensive swimming course. This involved a one-hour private swimming class each morning, followed by an hour's practice later in the day, followed by a divine soak in their outdoor hot (really hot!) tub. The food was really good. Super breakfasts and absolutely delicious dinners each evening of my stay. The hosts, Lynette and Trevor were so nice. My room was lovely.I really have nothing but praise for Ard Ciuin and would highly recommend it. it's in a very peaceful location too. And best of all, I can now swim! At last.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0411tanglewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Recently returned from a four-night family holiday at Ard Na Ciuin.

Trevor and Lynette were both extremely welcoming and couldn't do enough to have made our stay any better. The accommodation was ideal, extremely clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast was brilliant - by far the best 'fry up' we've had - and was followed each day by delicious homemade banana and chocolate chip muffins or oat biscuits.

Although out in the sticks, the guesthouse is situated just minutes away from Ballyduff, with Lismore and Fermoy each a little further on so there's plenty around to keep you occupied. Trevor was also more than helpful with his directions!

All of us, aged from 3 up to 83, loved our stay and would highly recommend to couples or families looking to enjoy Ireland.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seonaid O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Just home from a week in ard na ciuin, myself and my friend did the swimming course, i had a fear of qater and have tried to learn for years but could not get past a certain point. I would reccomend this course to anyone who wants to learn to swim, i was amazed at myself and how far i came, there were good days and bad days but with tracey (swimming instructor) by my side helping me every step and pushing me at just the right time i got there in the end, also the encouragement from lynette and trevour in the house each evening and morning kept me going and i have learned how you can do anything once you put your mind to it :).
The home made food was to die for, we were so made to feel right at home. I am booking to go back down for my birthday in the summer for one of the hot tub partys. Highly reccomend ard na ciuin, amazing things happen when you stay there ;)). I have come home well rested, relaxed and with a new found confidence and have made new friends :).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wonderwoman1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spiddal, Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Loved the stunning views,warm & friendly welcome from Trevor & Lynette who can't do enough for you & you feel like you've known them all your life. Enjoyed the cosy open fire in sitting room,cosy bedroom & delicious wholesome food. Thoroughly enjoyed swimming in the Endless pool which is so clean & refreshing & look forward to returning at some stage

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ard Na Ciuin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard Na Ciuin

Property: Ard Na Ciuin
Address: Toornageeha, Ballyduff ROI 123, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Ballyduff
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyduff
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ard na Ciuin is an idyllic rural retreat with facilities unique to the region. Learn to swim, find new direction, or just relax and recover in peaceful, holistic surroundings. Enjoy our warm welcome and our first class service. After the perfect night's sleep, far from traffic noise and away from the 'rat race' wake up to incredible views across the Blackwater valley and beyond. Savour delicious home cooking made with fresh seasonal ingredients produced right here on our organically run 15 acre homestead. Take time to explore the area or stay close to home and develop new life skills, safe in the hands of our experts. With forest trails and mountain views right on our doorstep you won't need to walk far to find inspiration and nature at its best. Family run, we know the true meaning of hospitality and we'll ensure your stay feels like a "home from home without having to lift a finger!" ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing