We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cake”

The Summer House Cafe
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Lismore
Cuisines: Cafe, Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great cake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

The cake here is excellent. There is also a shop in the cafe with lovely homeware items. Great selection of tea, coffee and cake. The lady serving there was also very friendly.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Cork1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    19
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Turf fire, good cuppa and a scone, what more could you ask for?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Nice cosy cafe in the quiet town of Lismore. There was a turf fire and it was just a good solid cafe. You can buy local products there too. Bought the jam which is delicious!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oisin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Marvellous spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We visited this wonderful cafe for lunch recently. The welcome was excellent .The food was nicely prepared and very tasty. The shop at the front of the restaurant is full of lovely gifts.Make this part of your trip ...you won't regret it.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pvjirealnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The benchmark for what a good cafe should be.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

After visiting this wonderful cafe in the heritage town of Lismore while on a visit with friends.
I could not leave my midweek break pass without revisiting again.
First visit was only for good fairtrade coffee and an amazing pear tart.
Second visit was for lunch where I tried the most fantastic curry. Its nice to visit a cafe that
makes you want to try everything on the menu. Its all made at the cafe.
The little shop at the entrance is well stocked with beautiful giftwear and the staff are so friendly.
It will not be long before I visit Lismore again to see my friends but I feel like just camping out in The Summer House Cafe for the entire stay.
The benchmark for what a good cafe should be.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank carlo013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Summer House Cafe also viewed

Lismore, County Waterford
Lismore, County Waterford
 
Lismore, County Waterford
Lismore, County Waterford
 
Lismore, County Waterford
 

Been to The Summer House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing