We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ballyrafter Country House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
86
17
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
17
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslismore castleirish hospitalitylovely conservatoryspecial staycomfortable place to staybreakfast and dinnerlovely towngreat roomshort walkshort staylovely hoteljoehostsirelandroaringballysfireplace
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2013

After a rough crossing, we didn't arrive until after 10 p.m. Noreen and Jo suggested we went into the lounge to have a drink and relax by a lovely log fire, and then they would get us something to eat. What a wonderful welcome to this beautiful old country house in lovely relaxing surroundings It really was home from home where nothing was too much trouble for our hosts, from suggesting things we might to do, making sure we always had what suited us
, from having a lie in in the morning to choosing when ever we wanted to eat at night, which you certainly wanted to do to enjoy excellent food prepared by Joe - his sauces a magnificent compliment to his dishes. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit, it was more like visiting friends than staying as hotel guests. We certainly enjoyed happy days.

Room Tip: You can trust Noreen and Jo to give a good room
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happydays722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

An elegant old style country house,quietly and efficiently run by Joe and Noreen. An atmosphere of calm amidst leafy surroundings. Convenient for West Waterford etc., horses, golf and fishing nearby. An hour from Cork, Clonmel or Dungarvan.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We've been coming here for years and come back because this is the only hotel on earth that we've been to that feels like a real home away from home. Joe and Noreen make us feel so welcome, the roaring fires and fabulous cooking, that would sit well on the menu of a michelin starred restaurant, turn a great experience into a world class one. Happy to return time after time, whether for a week long jaunt or a long weekend (close to Cork and Dublin thanks to the new motorways). I cant recommend Ballyrafter strongly enough!

Room Tip: We made use of room 5 & 6 so that the children could have a room to themselves... room 2 has a great view of the castle and front lawns!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonHine69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josepi1, Owner at Ballyrafter Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

A Gem is a precious Stone and it's easy to look after such Rock-solid guests such as yourselves. Room 5 & 6 adjoin with a connecting Door and so are great for the little one's. Your extended Family have a long-standing history with these two Room (Martin & Emma)and indeed the whole House. It was a delight to look after such accommodating Guests who fell in with Meal Times over an extremely Busy Easter Weekend.
The Children I think, I hope had a ball with our own and visiting relations from St.Albans.
Say hello to all who were Jealous of your return Trip to Ballyrafter. Until Next Time.
Joe & Noreen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

If you ever fantasised …that you wished your “real” parents lived in a lovely big old house, were always on your side no matter what you said or how late you stayed up, made you homely breakfasts and dinners, never asked you to do anything but make a decision between a cup of tea or a gin & tonic sitting in front of the fire, then Ballyrafter is the place for you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

What a wonderful example of old world charm, the Staff could not be more accommodating, the location is stunning and I will return when the weather is a little kinder!
The food was excellent and the log fires were most welcome on a cold damp Sunday.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews