We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ballyrafter Country House Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Lismore
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TheToby Jug(Cappoquin)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Richmond House(Cappoquin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Convent(Clogheen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
83
17
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
17
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslismore castleirish hospitalitylovely conservatoryspecial staycomfortable place to staybreakfast and dinnerlovely towngreat roomshort walkshort staylovely hoteljoehostsirelandroaringballysfireplace
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My wife and her great friend stayed on the weekend of the Lismore Castle concert and this lovely hotel made their weekend special they told me. The hotel owners could not be more accomodating and helpful. The girls had dinner which they said was excellent, the breakfast was also super. Seek out this place and enjoy the experience. I hope to stay there myself with my wife in the future based on their combined comments.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siobhan_peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Ballyrafter is located about a 10-15 walk from Lismore. The first impression of the B@B is amazing. Driving up the short drive through the trees you come to a large impressive home surrounded by gorgeous lawns and flowering bushes. We were met by Noreen and shown to our room which was spectacular with 14 ft ceilings, a large side window and a huge front window overlooking the lawns and the Lismore Castle! That night in a beautiful formal dining room,Joe, the chef, served a delicious dinner of duck and sea bass. The next morning we awoke to rabbits sunning on the front lawn and a delicious breakfast. The next four days we had a chance to talk to the charming owners, Joe and Noreen, and learned much about the history of the house and and the surrounding areas. We have been travelling to Europe for the last 20 years and this stay was among our favorites.

Room Tip: We were in #4, a corner room on the second floor. See above.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scjensenlbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Compared to Lismore House Hotel ( Avoid like the plague)Ballyrafter Country House Hotel is a gem. We ate here as a couple and the second evening as group of 10 during The Lismore Antique & Fine Art Fair. We would have also stayed but there were no rooms available. The food here is very good and is definetly the place to go to when in Lismore. We had a lovely bottle of Merlot very well priced at 18e. Highly recommend it for dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Robinodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed just for one night but really enjoyed it. A cordial welcome, a very nice room and a service not only friendly but thoughtful (e.g. our beds were heated for us while we were still sipping Whiskey at the fireplace in the drawing). Cuisine was excellent, especially the deserts and drinks perfectly accompanied the food.
5 stars from us for a charming Country House that is only rated 3 stars on their business card (how come?). Dont´t miss Dinner! :-)

Room Tip: had the very last room on 1st floor which was spacious and nicely furnished
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Schuschel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josepi1, General Manager at Ballyrafter Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Schuschel's, a Five Star Thank you for your most appreciated review. Compliments are very appreciated and with a mention of your Dining experience, our accommodation, service and hospitality. All very positive and sounds like you enjoyed your short stay with us.
We would love another opportunity to replicate your experience should you be in The Lismore area.
Kindest Regards
Joe Willoughby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Star
Spent a recent week end at Ballyrafter, it met all our needs, started with a warn welcome, followed by afternoon tea in the drawing room, perusing from the dinner menu, so that we really looked forward to our meal, & we were well rewarded, meal was really tasty, all our meals were excellent. The weather over week end was wet & dismal, so it was a delight to be able to sit around the log fire .This hotel really is a gem.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kilvoultra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews