We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lismore House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lismore
North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We were really pleased with the room. spacious and great facilities. The bed was more than comfortable with crisp white bedding. There were blinds in the bathroom and curtains in the bedroom. I slept really well but my husband heard a lot of traffic noises and plumbing works. The food was super breakfast and dinner. The staff were courteous and caring. Just a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tolulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    47
    32
    22
    33
See reviews for
42
66
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

Our stay at the Lismore House Hotel was very nice. The room was large and comfortable with understated elegance. We also ate in the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast. The meals were very good (especially the seafood chowder). We did not experience any noise at all from the restaurant/disco in our room!

Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MJMacM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Stayed here for one night over a weekend last year, the purpose was just to get away and have a relaxing night as I was in the middle of studying for exams. We had stayed here once before and knew there was disco but didnt mind that too much and expected it. The first problem we found was that our room was overlooking the main street, it was in the original building so had beautiful floor to ceiling windows with NO curtains or blinds in the bathroom. We complained about this but nothing was done to help us and there were no other rooms available, we stood across the road outside the pub and could easily see into the bathroom and ended up having to try to hang towels over the window.
The second problem was the function that was in the hotel and the bar in general. As we were overlooking the front of the bar it was really noisy with people outside all night including the bar staff going home and the people from the function still drinking in the bar when we went for breakfast the next day.
Looking at the reviewes it seems to be a good hotel for weddings but if you're not a wedding guest then they dont seem to care about your comfort. I didnt sleep at all that night and ended up more tired than when I arrived. Needless to say we will not be staying here again or recommending it to anyone.
I cant understand hotels that fail to inform guests that functions are going on in the hotel when they book, It seems to happen quite a lot and when you complain you always get 'oh aren't you with the function?'.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ais09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lismore hotels

Newbridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

If staying awake at night hearing a distant disco thump and the sounds of snoring and flushing lavatories from around you are your idea of fun, this hotel is for you. Rooms are drab, carpets worn, paint peeling and tiles cracked. Heating is inadequate to the point of rooms having individual plug-in radiators. Power-showers are good.Breakfast is satisfactory and coffee poor. Welcome at reception is lukewarm and management indifferent but restaurant staff are friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed in this hotel - thought to be Ireland's oldest purpose built hotel - for two nights in the middle of winter and it provided the perfect cosy comfort we were looking for. The staff were so friendly and down to earth; we had tea and scones on our arrival in the bar; breakfast was excellent; the room was King size, clean and comfy but most exceptional was the view we had of Lismore Castle and the surrounding mountains - it was like something from Harry Potter. There are lots of lovely walks that begin right in the town and there are some very good restaurants including the Chop House right in Lismore as well as some good pubs, although you couldn't beat the atmosphere and food in the intimate and historic private restaurant right in the Lismore House Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Castle - Its incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElaineDByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

It's a lovely clean hotel, nice rooms, comfy bed and cozy bedclothes.
Power showers...

would definately recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We were given a voucher to use here as a gift and as we live only 15 mins away, there was no point in staying there so we used the voucher for food. The voucher had actually expired by now as well but they didn't mind as I had rang them up in advance to be sure it would be ok. Iwas wary as hotel food can be hit or miss. The food here, however, was a hit. We went for Sunday dinner and we both had the duck spring rolls, roast beef and shared the cheesecake. Mmmmm.....the cheesecake......divine!! The waitor told us it is made fresh daily and that the other desserts are also good. It was light and fluffy and amazing. The rest of the food was also very high quality and the price was excellent. The waitor was really good and stopped for a chat with us. We will be going back there for dinner again for the food, service and value - and more cheesecake!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cork1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lismore
13.4 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
16.0 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,677 reviews
17.2 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
#3 of 3 in Dungarvan
445 reviews
13.7 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
330 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#2 of 7 in Youghal
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lismore House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lismore House Hotel

Property: Lismore House Hotel
Address: 1 - 2 Main Street, Lismore, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Lismore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lismore
Hotel Class:3 star — Lismore House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lismore House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing