We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This was a lovely B&B offering expert local advice on Ireland's wonderful sights!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diamond Hill Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Diamond Hill Country House
Ranked #2 of 2 Slieverue B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“This was a lovely B&B offering expert local advice on Ireland's wonderful sights!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Proprietors Benny and Katie were very welcoming. Since we were traveling in October, the Country House was not full, so Benny gave us an upgrade in rooms for the same price. We were in a large room with king sized bed; lovely. Breakfast was specially prepared for us and was delicious. However, the most amazing thing was Benny's interest in helping us plan our remaining 12-day trip in Ireland. He suggested places we had not planned to see. We followed his advise in many cases and were not disappointed. Also, from this inn it was an easy drive to the city of Waterford, great restaurants, and the Waterford Crystal Factory.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scooper1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    27
    14
    10
    2
See reviews for
29
58
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Three New Zealand friends arrived at Diamond Hill in early August, on a Saturday evening, to find no rental car available in Waterford next day (Sunday). Genial host Benny, offered instead to drive us around the district, and did so Sunday afternoon, and all day Monday. It wasn't what we had planned for our short visit to Ireland, but turned out to be absolutely wonderful. We got to see places we didn;t know existed, and saw so much more of the Waterford area. Benny was a very informative driver and guide and we all had a marvellous time.
Benny also drove us in in to Waterford many times...to tour the crystal factory, and to dine at night, we really appreciated that. We met his lovely wife and two little boys and enjoyed their company too. From an original one night triple room booking, we were given a room each when our visit was extended, another little touch we appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Last minute bookings can be tricky but room 5 was below expectations and Tripad. rating. Small room, cold and not the best standard of bathroom. Very kind hosts and good breakfast deserve a second chance.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlettog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Found this place by chance negotiating our way out of Waterford. Luckily we managed to get a room for the night. What a lovely setting! Quiet, a room on the ground floor, a superb bed, and a very warm welcome from staff. Loved this place!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Disappointing trip to an average B&B (not at all the promised Country House experience). We never met the landlady but her noisy birthday party guests kept us awake way beyond midnight. We cut down our visit because of our disappointment, and our view that it wasn't worth the money. Modest accommodation partially redeemed by excellent breakfast and friendly staff. Proximity to Waterford is handy (but you need a car) and the city itself offers excellent alternatives. We won't be recommending Diamond Hill.

Room Tip: There are plenty of better located and good quality hotels in Waterford itself, don't bother wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed in the Diamond Hill for 2 nights recently (family of 5). It was wonderful. Benny & Katie are so welcoming and friendly. The beds were comfortable and the cooked breakfast was the nicest I've ever had. Were already planning our next trip to Diamond Hill and we cant wait. Could n't recommend it highly enough.
Cathal C, Galway

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We used the Diamond Hill as a stop over from arriving on the Rosslare Ferry and travelling down to Killarney (it's an hour from the ferry and three from Killarney). The service was typically friendly and efficient, the rooms clean and well presented. It is a short car ride down into Waterford though, as there is no where to eat in walking distance. There is an excellent pint of Guinness at the pub at the end of the road though! All in all, just what we needed to help our journey.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slieverue
1.6 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
1.7 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
1.9 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Hill Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Hill Country House

Property: Diamond Hill Country House
Address: Mile Post Village, Slieverue, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford > Slieverue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Slieverue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Hill Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Diamond Hill Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Hill Country House Slieverue, County Waterford, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing