We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More a small hotel than a BB”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Diamond Hill Country House
Ranked #2 of 2 Slieverue B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here on Sep 21-23, 2013. This small hotel (2 stories) is located just outside the city of Waterford and it is easy to pop into Waterford about 10 minutes away. And, if you wish to go out of the city, there are easy connections to major highways without going through the city.

The house is more like a manor, with most of the rooms upstairs and dining and sitting areas downstairs. The room was very spacious, with a large living area containing beds and furniture. We especially enjoyed the bay window (solarium) where we could sit and look out over the nicely landscaped front yard facing the road. The bathroom was also spacious, with a tub and shower. A TV was available, but only 3 channels are available.

The dining room is fairly roomy and comfortable. Breakfast is ordered from a menu, with the typical Irish fare of eggs (to order), sausage, cereals, juices, etc.

The gounds are quite pleasant if not a bit overgrown. There are very limited facilities outside if you wish to sit.

The staff proved friendly and helpful and always available if you need them.

Overall, this lodging was a good value for the money (credit cards accepted) and we would most certainly return here the next time we are in town.

Room Tip: Pick a room upstairs (#15) with a bay window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

Our stay at Diamond hill house was just what we needed after a hectic few months when we needed some relaxation. We were delighted with the room, No 14. While it was basic it was comfortable with a nice bathroom, tea/coffee and a T.V. Our hosts were superb friendly and welcoming. The breakfast we had was more tasty and better than anything we have had in a long time.

The value of our stay was excellent. Some of the hotels were quite expensive but Diamond hill house have their rooms priced right and in comparison to many hotels we stayed in was far superior. It is an excellent base to visit the South east Waterford city and county and Hook peninsulia

I would highly recommend you stay here if visiting Waterford area

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Proprietors Benny and Katie were very welcoming. Since we were traveling in October, the Country House was not full, so Benny gave us an upgrade in rooms for the same price. We were in a large room with king sized bed; lovely. Breakfast was specially prepared for us and was delicious. However, the most amazing thing was Benny's interest in helping us plan our remaining 12-day trip in Ireland. He suggested places we had not planned to see. We followed his advise in many cases and were not disappointed. Also, from this inn it was an easy drive to the city of Waterford, great restaurants, and the Waterford Crystal Factory.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scooper1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Three New Zealand friends arrived at Diamond Hill in early August, on a Saturday evening, to find no rental car available in Waterford next day (Sunday). Genial host Benny, offered instead to drive us around the district, and did so Sunday afternoon, and all day Monday. It wasn't what we had planned for our short visit to Ireland, but turned out to be absolutely wonderful. We got to see places we didn;t know existed, and saw so much more of the Waterford area. Benny was a very informative driver and guide and we all had a marvellous time.
Benny also drove us in in to Waterford many times...to tour the crystal factory, and to dine at night, we really appreciated that. We met his lovely wife and two little boys and enjoyed their company too. From an original one night triple room booking, we were given a room each when our visit was extended, another little touch we appreciated.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Last minute bookings can be tricky but room 5 was below expectations and Tripad. rating. Small room, cold and not the best standard of bathroom. Very kind hosts and good breakfast deserve a second chance.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlettog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Found this place by chance negotiating our way out of Waterford. Luckily we managed to get a room for the night. What a lovely setting! Quiet, a room on the ground floor, a superb bed, and a very warm welcome from staff. Loved this place!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Disappointing trip to an average B&B (not at all the promised Country House experience). We never met the landlady but her noisy birthday party guests kept us awake way beyond midnight. We cut down our visit because of our disappointment, and our view that it wasn't worth the money. Modest accommodation partially redeemed by excellent breakfast and friendly staff. Proximity to Waterford is handy (but you need a car) and the city itself offers excellent alternatives. We won't be recommending Diamond Hill.

Room Tip: There are plenty of better located and good quality hotels in Waterford itself, don't bother wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slieverue
1.6 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,202 reviews
1.7 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,358 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,201 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
1.3 mi away
Athenaeum House Hotel
Athenaeum House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Waterford
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Hill Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Hill Country House

Address: Mile Post Village, Slieverue, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford > Slieverue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Slieverue
Price Range: £52 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Hill Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Diamond Hill Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Hill Country House Slieverue, County Waterford, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing