We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Diamond Hill Country House
Ranked #2 of 2 Slieverue B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

I booked this B&B last minute for a Thursday and Sunday night. A little tricky to find. My room was spacious and comfortable. The hosts were friendly. Only issue I had was I could detect a smell of damp in the corridor but my room was cosy. Thank you for a nice stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank DitzyB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    27
    14
    10
    2
See reviews for
30
59
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We've traveled all around Ireland staying at a wide range of places, but this one we would not recommend. Hoping it was just an off occasion given the rest of the reviews, but was not the best experience for us. Very strong odor on the first floor should have been the clue to reconsider but we tried to block that out behind our closed door on 2nd floor. However, room was bland and COLD (slept with my sweater on), toilet seat was broken with bolt still laying on the floor, fan in bathroom made very unusual sounds! My hope that breakfast would overcome given the previous reviews was quickly also shot down by rashers that were inedible. The hotel has high marks from other travelers so really hope this was just an off stay. May just want to walk the first floor before getting your key...hopefully it will be fine, but if not, Waterford is just down the road with many options!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Mocha23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylva, North Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here on Sep 21-23, 2013. This small hotel (2 stories) is located just outside the city of Waterford and it is easy to pop into Waterford about 10 minutes away. And, if you wish to go out of the city, there are easy connections to major highways without going through the city.

The house is more like a manor, with most of the rooms upstairs and dining and sitting areas downstairs. The room was very spacious, with a large living area containing beds and furniture. We especially enjoyed the bay window (solarium) where we could sit and look out over the nicely landscaped front yard facing the road. The bathroom was also spacious, with a tub and shower. A TV was available, but only 3 channels are available.

The dining room is fairly roomy and comfortable. Breakfast is ordered from a menu, with the typical Irish fare of eggs (to order), sausage, cereals, juices, etc.

The gounds are quite pleasant if not a bit overgrown. There are very limited facilities outside if you wish to sit.

The staff proved friendly and helpful and always available if you need them.

Overall, this lodging was a good value for the money (credit cards accepted) and we would most certainly return here the next time we are in town.

Room Tip: Pick a room upstairs (#15) with a bay window
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Our stay at Diamond hill house was just what we needed after a hectic few months when we needed some relaxation. We were delighted with the room, No 14. While it was basic it was comfortable with a nice bathroom, tea/coffee and a T.V. Our hosts were superb friendly and welcoming. The breakfast we had was more tasty and better than anything we have had in a long time.

The value of our stay was excellent. Some of the hotels were quite expensive but Diamond hill house have their rooms priced right and in comparison to many hotels we stayed in was far superior. It is an excellent base to visit the South east Waterford city and county and Hook peninsulia

I would highly recommend you stay here if visiting Waterford area

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Proprietors Benny and Katie were very welcoming. Since we were traveling in October, the Country House was not full, so Benny gave us an upgrade in rooms for the same price. We were in a large room with king sized bed; lovely. Breakfast was specially prepared for us and was delicious. However, the most amazing thing was Benny's interest in helping us plan our remaining 12-day trip in Ireland. He suggested places we had not planned to see. We followed his advise in many cases and were not disappointed. Also, from this inn it was an easy drive to the city of Waterford, great restaurants, and the Waterford Crystal Factory.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scooper1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Three New Zealand friends arrived at Diamond Hill in early August, on a Saturday evening, to find no rental car available in Waterford next day (Sunday). Genial host Benny, offered instead to drive us around the district, and did so Sunday afternoon, and all day Monday. It wasn't what we had planned for our short visit to Ireland, but turned out to be absolutely wonderful. We got to see places we didn;t know existed, and saw so much more of the Waterford area. Benny was a very informative driver and guide and we all had a marvellous time.
Benny also drove us in in to Waterford many times...to tour the crystal factory, and to dine at night, we really appreciated that. We met his lovely wife and two little boys and enjoyed their company too. From an original one night triple room booking, we were given a room each when our visit was extended, another little touch we appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Last minute bookings can be tricky but room 5 was below expectations and Tripad. rating. Small room, cold and not the best standard of bathroom. Very kind hosts and good breakfast deserve a second chance.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlettog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slieverue
1.6 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
1.7 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
1.9 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
1.8 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Hill Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Hill Country House

Property: Diamond Hill Country House
Address: Mile Post Village, Slieverue, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford > Slieverue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Slieverue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Hill Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diamond Hill Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Hill Country House Slieverue, County Waterford, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing