We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst hotel in Ireland” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Slieverue
Certificate of Excellence
cavan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worst hotel in Ireland”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

This is the worst hotel in Ireland i have stayed in
Sheets on bed not changed and when i complained that was it war
The food poor
They tryed to over charge me when leaving on supervalu break
the lady told me my children was unmanerly
smelly dirty hole

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank lizzyCavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    55
    24
    11
    12
See reviews for
42
94
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

This was our first night in Ireland and it felt very welcoming. It was good value for money, our first irish breakfast was really good and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
A minor complaint from me wasd that the pillows were a little too firm

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolly147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2009

stayed here on the 29th of june for 1 nite wit my gilfriend,we had beautiful weather so it was nice to sit out on the bench outdoors enjoying our few drinks,had dinner there and it was lovely,everything was cooked perfect ,the rooms were clean and pretty basic,but to be fair when your only wanting a place to sleep clean beds is all you want,the quilt on the bed might have being a bit newer though,but all in all,for the price,service and location,you could go wrong

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cork_m30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent,england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2009

We stayed at the Rhu Glen as a family group,and had a lovely weekend. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was good with plenty of choice. As it is a few miles from Waterford you would benefit from having a car. Bar area was comfortable and evening barman was like lightning sorting out our large rounds.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karenKent_england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
85 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2008

we stayed at this lovely hotel for 2 nights Bed and Breakfast plus one evening meal and the staff were wonderful and could not do enough for us,
the food was execelent with a good choice
the rooms were claen with a good suplie of tea and coffee etc
Nothing was too much trouble, would go back and most certainly recommend it to any one visiting that part of Ireland

  • Liked — the warm welcome
  • Disliked — the weather !!!!!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richlee1malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2008

My partner and I live in Galway and stayed at the Rhu Glen in Waterford for 5 days in August for my partner's 30th birthday, we met his family there, who had travelled over from Wales and had stayed there previously. From when we checked in late on fri night to leaving on the wed, we had a fantastic time, the staff were very helpful, catering to all our needs and recommending places to see, as we had not been to Waterford before. The breakfast staff were lovely, always ready with a fresh pot of tea and another round of toast! We also found the same with the reception, very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, aswell as the bar staff, and compliments to the chef, we didn't eat in the restaurant, but the food you can order from the menu in the bar is very good, with a fair variety, I'd recommend the fish and chips!
After we had travelled back to Galway for a few days, his family returned to the Rhu Glen on their journey home and again received a warm welcome, they were even asked if they had enjoyed their time in Galway.
Overall my partner had a fantastic birthday and I would highly recommend a stay at this hotel, we hope will be able to return again soon. Many thanks to them all for a thoroughly enjoyable stay!

  • Liked — Food, friendly staff
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank galwaygirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2007

myself and my husband and my 2 children stayed at this hotel and were very disappointed! The hotel its self was lovely eg. the decor and location. the family size rooms were very large and quiet beautiful. we went for a meal in the lufanny resturant in the hotel and it was like something out of a comedy you would see on TV. when we arrived in the hotel we had to seat ourselves as we were standind waiting for ten minutes and no one to be seen. we picked a table and eventually someone came out to us, she gave us our menu which consisted of a sheet of A4 paper and not the proper leather menus. we ordered our starters and main course and wine which arrived down not opened and in no wine bucket, now i'm not fussy and laughed all this off , but i have to draw the line here, the waitress stood and moaned to us the whole way through our meal. so much for a nice meal out. when we finished our main course she shouted form across the resturant ..... DO YE WANT SOME DESSERT! i replied yes and asked to see the dessert menu to which she rattled off the desserts . out of desperation we each picked something which we did not eat ( food was lovely) and finished off our wine as quick as we could just to get out of there. on the way out she shouted DID YOU DRINK THAT WHOLE BTL OF WINE ALREADY? we sounded like alcos. we were never asked did we enjoy our stay when we booked out. i know i know we should of complained but didn't like to cause a fuss as we had to stay there. my husband was fuming as is was mean't to be a lovely weekend and that ruined one of our nights there. maybe we were just one of the unlucky ones.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank sandraCarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slieverue
3.1 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
3.4 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
3.5 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
3.2 mi away
Athenaeum House Hotel
Athenaeum House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel

Property: The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel
Address: | Luffany, Slieverue, Slieverue, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford > Slieverue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Slieverue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful countryside within the heart of the Southeast, The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel is the perfect location for holidays, business or leisure. Our well earned reputation for friendliness and service, coupled with our old world hospitality and peaceful surroundings ensure that every guest is rewarded with a relaxing and enjoyable stay.The hotel features thirty-one elegantly furnished en-suite bedrooms. Each of which is designed for comfort. All rooms are complete with direct dial telephone, a multi-channel colour television, a hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities.On request a guest can receive;Family rooms including a baby cotFax and mailbox facilitiesNewspaper deliveryDry cleaning/Laundry serviceMorning wake up call ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, HRS, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel Slieverue, County Waterford, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing