We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Slieverue
Certificate of Excellence
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

I was researching family history and had walked out from Waterford. Pint Guinness 4 Euros and a nice meal of spuds, cabbage & bacon 7 Euros. As it was a hot day I had a pint of cider to finish (4.40 Euros) and a packet of Scampi fries (1 Euro). Good service and ambience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciaran91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    56
    24
    11
    12
See reviews for
42
94
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

My father and I had been in Waterford that day and as we live in Wexford we decided to stop here on our way home for a bite to eat. It was a cavery lunch and my dad and I ordered the fish option. We had to wait for awhile for our food to be given to us which was disappointing since it was a cavery menu and the food would be more or less cooked anyway. As we were eating our food, a lady came over to us and offered us some tartar sauce which was good as we had forgotten about the sauce but the lady waited as we took some sauce and when we had finished getting some she took it away. What if we had wanted more?? It just looked really bad if anything standing there and waiting to take it off us almost as if we were under pressure to hurry up with it. During this situation my dad's fork fell on the floor, now as i work in a hotel myself we are thought to get the person another knife or fork or whatever item of cutlery it may be if it falls on the floor. We never pick up the fork and put it back on the table for the person to eat with it and this is exactly what this employee did. Not very hygienic to say the least. Lastly, i had more or less finished my dinner (had some salad left) and like any person you could still pick away at the last few bits on your plate. I didn't get a chance as the plate was swept from in under me in a matter of seconds by the same lady. I really think the staff could do with more training. It's the little things that put you off coming back to places like this. Won't be going back in a rush.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 3ners20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl D, Manager at The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear 3ners20,

We are deeply sorry for the experience you had within our hotel. We constantly strive to provide the best service possible to all customers. We are deeply saddened that you did not have an enjoyable experience with us. We continuously promote the importance of customer service and have since encouraged higher standards of customer service through various training and incentives for our staff.

Yet again i would like to apologise for your experience.
Daryl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Not impressed with the hotel. In desperate need of refurbishment and modernisation. Stayed here for one night only. The room looked liked it could have done with a good cleaning. Stains on the sheets, they had those wooly blankets that hairs and everything stick to- yuck. Went to turn down heat on radiator- cob-webs on radiator. This is maybe a 2 star in need of modernisation. Breakfast was nice though, plenty parking. Would never stay again though.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cmonthebanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl D, Manager at The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Cmonthebanter,

We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We constantly strive to ensure that each and every customer receives our high standard of service. I can assure you that this is brought to the housekeeping departments attention to stop an instance such as this from occurring again.

We are glad however that you did enjoy our breakfast, although we cannot apologise enough for your disappointment during your stay.

Thanking you,
Daryl Daniels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

I haven't stayed overnight but on each of my trips to the area I have spent each evening in the bar restaurant. I have had only had great experiences - lovely food, excellent service and very friendly staff. On two of my recent nights the barman was on his own even when the bar was busy but everything went smoothly and no-one was kept waiting. He knew the menu, the drinks and his customers' needs.

The eating area is really good and I could see that the hotel is child friendly.

I recommend the Rhu Glenn for evening sustenance and real Irish hospitality.

Tony Kiely, Coventry, UK.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl D, Manager at The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Anthony K,

Thank you for your kind remarks about our meals. We are overjoyed that you enjoyed your meals, its always a nice to hear of people returning to us when they visit the area, thank for your custom and hopefully we'll see you again next time you are in the area!

We are certainly child friendly and we provide a great new bar food menu with various kids menus that are sure to please them!

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon,
Daryl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
454 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

Spent a very comfortable overnight in the Rhu Glenn last weekend. There's plenty of free parking in the grounds of the hotel and free Wi-Fi throughout. Check-in and out were hassle-free. We got a lovely cosy room on the ground floor, which had everything supplied. There were extra pillows and a big thick blanket in case we needed them. The room, and indeed the hotel itself, were spotlessly clean. It was a bad night out, and rather than drive the 10 minutes or so to dine in Waterford city, we decided to eat in the hotel. This turned out to be a very good choice, with quite a varied menu, and excellent value at €16.95 per head for two courses (early bird). There is a three course option, but two was plenty for us. The restaurant wasn't open so we dined in the bar where there was a log fire burning, and we sank into the comfortable chairs while our meal was served to us. It was accompanied by a nice (and very reasonably priced) bottle of red wine, after which we relaxed in the bar for a while before returning to our room. The only downside of the room was the tiny television screen; it looked more like a VDU from a computer. However this didn't spoil our stay, which we thoroughly enjoyed. A large comfortable bed, a clean warm room and an undisturbed nights sleep and a good fresh-cooked breakfast before heading off the next morning - we couldn't ask for more. Contrary to other reviews we have read, we found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. This hotel is excellent value for money and not only would we recommend it, but we would definitely stay here again next time we are down in this neck of the woods.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DubTwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl D, Manager at The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear DubTwosome,

Thank you very much for your truly kind words about our hotel, we are delighted you enjoyrd your stay and meal. We always aim to provide the best service and value possible to each and every one of our customers. It is a delight to hear that you and your fellow guest were so relaxed in our bar, the log fire is certainly a popular choice during the cold nights!

We are sorry that the size of the television in your room may have hindered your stay, howver we are glad to see that you would be willing to return.

Thanking you yet again and we look forward to seeing you soon,
Daryl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We were kindly invited to attend a wedding breakfast at the Rhu Glen and we must compliment the hotel n both the quality of the food and how they serverved almost 300 people so quickly shows how professional they are. we also stayed the night in one of the Guest bedrooms and although not particularly big it was more than suitable for the night. Breakfast was served hot and was again very good value. all in all a very pleasant stay.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bobprosphero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

I was here for a family function and have to say we were a bit disappointed. We had asked for an area in the bar to reserved for the party and when we arrived we found the tables occupied and some of the empty ones were filled with dirty dishes from previous customers.

The food that was served was good but no better than what you would get anywhere else. Standard fare really.

The real low point was when the birthday cake was brought out. We were given no warning so we could get ready for it which was disappointing.

Guests who stayed over night said the rooms were fine and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chantelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slieverue
3.0 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
3.3 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
3.5 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel

Property: The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel
Address: | Luffany, Slieverue, Slieverue, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford > Slieverue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Slieverue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful countryside within the heart of the Southeast, The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel is the perfect location for holidays, business or leisure. Our well earned reputation for friendliness and service, coupled with our old world hospitality and peaceful surroundings ensure that every guest is rewarded with a relaxing and enjoyable stay.The hotel features thirty-one elegantly furnished en-suite bedrooms. Each of which is designed for comfort. All rooms are complete with direct dial telephone, a multi-channel colour television, a hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities.On request a guest can receive;Family rooms including a baby cotFax and mailbox facilitiesNewspaper deliveryDry cleaning/Laundry serviceMorning wake up call ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, HRS and Priceline so you can book your The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel Slieverue, County Waterford, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing