We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely b & b and restaurant”
Review of The Bucks Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aylsham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bucks Arms
Ranked #3 of 6 Aylsham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Stayed here two nights with work. Only has three rooms, rooms are done very nicely. Has the old look but very clean and homely. Breakfast is very nice, had my two evening meals in the restaurant and they were both very nice! Would stay again if ever in the area again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for The Bucks Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2012

We were going to Blickling Hall, and decided to have lunch at the Buckinghamshire Arms.
We ate indoors, although there was ample room to lunch outside. The location is splendid, in the Norfolk coutryside very close to the Blicking estate. The bar was adequate, certainly not outstanding. There were 2 acceptable local brews on tap. The food was disappointing. A mediocre local crab sandwich (£6.95), and a less than special crab salad (£10.95) were certainly overpriced. We are unlikely to make a retutn visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FullboardBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Called at Bucks Arms for lunch after visit to Blickling Hall ordered Beef and Crab sandwiches the bar staff very pleasant but service very slow ordered drinks the real ale was awful and they forgot the coffee we ordered when sandwiches finally came they smothered the bread in mayo which we did not ask for the beef was so rare and tough you could not chew it I think the cow had walked onto the bread and died there was no taste only mayo, the same applied to the crab tasted only of mayo mentioned this to the staff all we had was a blank look . Would not recommend this although lovely old building the service and food was not good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We were turned away from the Gunton Arms. Our fault. Hadn't booked anywhere, and quite simply couldn't face eating in The Pigs again. The woman at The Gunton, ver kindly recommended The Buck Arms to us. It was really rather wonderful, and quite simply the steak was superb.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoobzMcGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed here for a wedding at Blickling Hall - and you cannot fault the location for that. The hotel was nice - small and quaint with a very rustic feel (most definitely in terms of cobwebs!). Breakfast was lovely and very plentiful. I did think it a little on the expensive side but I assume that's because of the great location.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 at the front of the pub - room 4 at the back was very very dark.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahandMatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Wow What a place. Staff were great and working well under pressure. Was so pleased we had booked in for lunch as staff had to stop taking food orders as so busy. A prime spot if you dont want to pay National Trust prices for lunch. We did have a fair wait for our food. Booked in for 1300 but didnt get food until 1400. But was worth the wait. Was quite pricey but you expect that in a prime spot. Sunday lunch 12.95 Total Bill with deserts and coffee and drinks while waiting for four just under £100. A special treat I would say. And go on a quieter day not on a Sunday unless you book.

Room Tip: Didnt stay so no idea. But the location is suberb. Makes me realize how lucky I am to live where I d...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bennyboyNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

This place is a real find and I would highly recommend it.
The staff were lovely and seemed genuinely happy to be working there.
The food was superb. There were 7 in our party (including two coeliac's and a vegetarian) and the choice was good. All of our meals were cooked well and beautifully presented.The mackerel with tomato salad and the crab salad come very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylsham
9.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
216 reviews
6.5 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
891 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 1 in Marsham
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tinsmith's House
Tinsmith's House
#1 of 6 in Aylsham
64 reviews
5.3 mi away
Marsham Arms Coaching Inn
Marsham Arms Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Hevingham
200 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aylsham Lodge Hotel
Aylsham Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aylsham
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bucks Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bucks Arms

Address: Next to Blickling Hall | Blickling, Aylsham NR11 6NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Aylsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Aylsham
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional English country inn next door to the National Trust's Blickling Hall. Open every day with Bar and Restaurant serving drinks, coffees and quality home-cooked seasonal food. Upstairs are four B&B bedrooms, some with 4 poster beds and spectacular views of Blickling Hall. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bucks Arms Aylsham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing