We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value Dinner B&B in a well-located Norfolk town”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aylsham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Boys Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 6 Aylsham B&B and Inns
England
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Great value Dinner B&B in a well-located Norfolk town”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The Black Boys Hotel is a pub on the main square in Aylsham, North Norfolk. Aylsham is a small town with a few shops (including one selling products from black sheep, interestingly). It is just up the road from the beautiful Blickling Hall, and within driving distance of both Norwich and the North Norfolk coast.

Arriving at the Black Boys is an experience - you enter through the bar, and as I dragged a trolley case in it felt rather like one of those Western movies where someone enters and everyone in the saloon stops talking and turns to look. I would advise leaving any cases in the car (there's a car park at the back) and checking in first so cases can be taken directly up from the car park entrance.

Our room was nicely furnished but small - there was nowhere to put a pair of glasses at the side of the bed, for example. We found the accommodation pleasant and quiet at night (we overlooked the car park at the back). The bathroom had clearly recently been refurbished, and there was a good shower.

We booked on a £120 'dinner, bed and breakfast for two people' deal - superb value given the quality of the food in the restaurant, with an unlimited choice from the menu. The service was friendly, and the food was well prepared. We ate rather late, but the staff were very accommodating.

Breakfast the next morning was cooked to order and served in the bar - we needed an early breakfast, but this was no problem. .

There's an interesting poster inside the door giving the history of the pub - well worth a read.

Footnote: the car park entrance door is self closing. When we were leaving in the morning I took a bag out without carrying the room key and found myself locked out!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    45
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
59
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Spent two nights here, exceptionally nice staff, quaint room, and fantastic breakfast. This hotel is in a great position right on the square with good parking facilities and good wi fi. The restaurant food is well priced and the portions are more than adequate

Room Tip: Not so much a room tip but market and auction days are monday and add to the atmosphere of the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelvin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylsham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Food and drink is too expensive. Often too crowded and noisy on peak days to get a seat or have a decent conversation. That said if you don't mind shelling out £4.50 a pint or small glass of wine then it's the nicest pub in the town (you still get the odd weird look when you walk in the door but less likely than the other pubs - who cares anyway).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bijnacht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

With it's superb location in the centre of Aylsham, with a large car park, incredibly friendly and helpful staff, great beers, brilliant and buzzing atmosphere and with being 'twixt the City of Norwich and The Sea - who could ask for anything more.

The food is excellent, and we were spoilt for choice on the menu each evening. The choices change daily, and were prepared with love, care and attention. The portions are more than adequate, and our experience of the establishment was incredibly positive.

Our room was small, but homely, warm, traditional and very comfortable.

If you're looking for a great value break in Norfolk, then go The Black Boys Hotel - they'll look after you!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We ate at the Black Boys on Friday night as we couldn't get in to the Recruiting Sergeant (sister restaurant) that we eat at on a regular basis and love. Having eaten here before we thought it would be a good alternative choice.

Our starters were lovely (homemade tomato soup and calamari) but the mains were disappointing. My partner had a steak, ale and suet pudding which was a bit dry and I had a sirloin steak which was a little too chewy. The roquefort sauce was brown (I thought they may have brought a mushroom sauce by mistake) and I asked what else was in it, apparently just cream. It didn't taste of roquefort and was at best bland. I did mention this to two waitresses but nobody was interested.

We had to ask for the bill twice and had a very long wait to actually pay (and by this point the restaurant wasn't busy)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Nice cosy old fashion england hotel. Cosy rooms. Good parking on the back of the hotel
Good fresh cooked english break fast Cosy nice beds right in the centre
Stay again when we go to this area in norfolk

Room Tip: Check out before you take the room. Some are better than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petrus Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The room was comfortable and certainly large enough for a brief stay. Half price rooms on Sundays. Menu goes a bit beyond the usual pub grub level, but is still reasonably priced. Enormous cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Not_so_Old_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylsham
1.8 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 1 in Marsham
203 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
212 reviews
5.8 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
891 reviews
9.3 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
736 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tinsmith's House
Tinsmith's House
#1 of 6 in Aylsham
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Boys Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Boys Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Black Boys Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Market Place, Aylsham NR11 6EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Aylsham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Aylsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Grade 2 listed Inn and Restaurant in the market town of Aylsham in Norfolk ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Boys Hotel & Restaurant Aylsham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing