We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful meal using locally sourced food.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aylsham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Boys Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 6 Aylsham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Recommended to eat here by the owners of where we were staying. Had the crab cakes with samphire which were excellent and the rump steak which came with a rocket and parmesan salad and fries. nice to have a different salad as standard and sweet potato fries.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank DebBasingstoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

There are a number of more 'trendy' places to eat which could learn much from the enthusiasm of the staff and the food offering at this hotel in the centre of town. The service is swift, the food plentiful and the atmosphere welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank GastronomeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Can't believe this hotel claims 4 star review average from Trip Adviser.
It's not that good believe me.
The place is shabby , seedy, and desperately needs reinvestment. Single glazed windows means lots of road noise at night and from 6,30 in the morning.Bathroom light pull switch was just a thread behind the door, impossible to find in the dark. Bathroom mirror was swivelled, fell to a position where I was watching my crutch whilst shaving, could have done with a bath robe!!
Tea making facilities were good, but no fresh milk/fridge in the room. The room otherwise was tidy, but typically the pillows were lumpy, and there was just a douvet cover, fine in the winter, but too much on hot summer nights-a sheet would have been useful. Bath towel was very small.
Sorry, but this place isnt great. Far better to try the family run Marsham Arms at Heverington, for a similar price you get much much better value,

Room Tip: Look before you book, otherwise check out reviews for several hotels in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We recently stayed here on a Sunday evening and took advantage of the Sunday offer for half price B & B when having a meal in the restaurant. It was a last minute booking and a real treat. We too stayed in room 101 which was very comfortable and clean. The downside is the lack of shower but we were aware of this at the time of booking. The evening meal and the breakfast the next morning were fantastic, the best we have had in a long time. Everyone was so friendly also (especially the ladies at breakfast!). Aylsham is a very pretty town and the Black Boys Hotel certainly seemed to be the hub for both locals & visitors on a Sunday afternoon. A real gem and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sharon315978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely meal for lunch. This restaurant is one of the best I've been to. It is a real hidden gem in this small Norfolk town. Well with a visit if you are in the area. The choice on the menu is fantastic and all the meals were very well presented and were as delicious as they looked. So good I am going back on Friday evening. Probably the best restaurant I've been to in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mallythescally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed in room 101 (!) for six nights. Comfortable room with en-suite but no shower only bath. Other rooms do have showers so check when booking if important to you. Good selection of teas, coffees and fresh milk and bottled water available. Some road noise in room but as you would expect with a town centre location. Plenty of parking at rear. All staff friendly and efficient. The evening menu offered a wide choice with fish and local meats heavily featured. Due to the size of starters and mains we didn't manage to try the desserts. Good selection of ales in bar. The restaurant was pretty full every night so would advise booking. The hotel is well situated for exploring North Norfolk. We'll be back.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed in the family room which is lovely. Two twin beds, then a little separate sitting room with sofa that converts to a sofa bed. The room was a good size and the bathroom was lovely. The bed linen was all really nice quality. Breakfast was pretty good, but not spectacular. We left a soft toy in the room by accident and the hotel contacted us and sent in on within 48 hours, which is really kind. The bathroom had a lovely bath, but only a handheld shower attachment.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdkhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylsham
1.8 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 1 in Marsham
212 reviews
9.3 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
756 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
910 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
926 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tinsmith's House
Tinsmith's House
#1 of 6 in Aylsham
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Boys Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Boys Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Market Place, Aylsham NR11 6EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Aylsham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Aylsham
Price Range: £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Grade 2 listed Inn and Restaurant in the market town of Aylsham in Norfolk ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Boys Hotel & Restaurant Aylsham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing