We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Aylsham Lodge Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aylsham Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aylsham
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 9 November 2010

My husband and I recently hired the function room for our wedding blessing reception and my 40th birthday party combined. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the buffet was fantastic. All our family and friends said what a lovely time they had. Some of our family travelled a long way to be with us, so stayed for a couple of nights., as did my husband and I. the room was clean, basic and comfortable. The beds were very comfortable - we all had a good nights sleep! Breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsbushy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    17
    7
    5
    9
See reviews for
23
12
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2010

My daughter and son-in-law had a wedding reception and 40th birthday celebration combined. The staff were only too pleased to help any way they could. The buffet and hot food were excellent, almost all was eaten and no complaints from anyone! The lady behind the bar gave particularly good service, and seemed guenuinly happy to be there! We had a full English breakfast the next morning which was excellent! Overall service was excellent from booking to the time we left! We felt completely welcome at all times! We would definitely recomend this hotel to friends!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank val186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2010

We were reluctant to book into this motel, having the read the previous reviews, and only used it as a last resort.
The receptionist was very helpful and friendly, and booked us into Chalet 5, which was perfect for us, having one double bedroom, one twin-bedded, and a small lounge with tea and coffee making facilities. It was all very clean, and even had fresh flowers in the lounge! Breakfast was excellent, as were the staff. We would not hesitate to use this motel again, and will happily recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andval186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2010

My wife and I arrived at No1 chalet for a 5 night stay, on a Saturday. The first problem was that the door could not be locked from the inside. It seams that the key was a copy of a copy etc. Given cleaner's key. This worked.

Morning day 2, went for a shower. It was held in place by a piece of soap and sticky back black plastic. No pressure. Complained but nothing could be done till Monday. Told maintenance staff do not work over the weekend!! even though they take in guests!!

Monday afternoon, a replacement shower head had been fitted, not much pressure, no spread. Tried it on the Monday evening, just about usable. Come Tuesday, the wife was feeling most uncomfortable, she is disabled, the hotel had been informed at time of booking that a reliable shower was a must. The shower did not work. Decided to move out to the Acle travel lodge. Bliss. A shower that actually worked, good pressure and constant temperature.

For anyone considering a winter stay, the only heating was a 2 kW portable oil filled heater. The fixed unit that appeared to be 6 kW and fed across two phases had an annual test dated 2002 and the fuses removed. No wonder guests have reported being cold!!!

Advertised food, bar snacks, but did not mention that nothing was available on a Sunday evening at any time. We ended up at the co-op buying salads and diet coke. Lucky we normally have our main meal midday.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OAP315978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinmghamshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

We have always stayed at the Aylsham Lodge when we have visited family in Norfolk. Our stay was normally good but cheap but our recent stay over xmas 2009 was the worst experience we have ever had. There was no milk though plenty of coffee and as we went back to the lodge just after 10pm we were unable to get hold of any memeber of staff as they had ALL gone home and we were litrally the only people on site. The worst thing by far was no heating and the toilet was leaking so much it wet the floor and the toilet met was dripping in water so much so we had to put it in the bath. I have 3 children 6,8,and 12 years and all 3 where crying all night due to being so cold. They had to sleep fully clothed and with wooly hats on. We as adults got no sleep due to being cold and the children so distressed. We wanted to comehome but couldnt get hold of a member of staff to at all even from 10.10pm. There was not a single person on site until the morning. Needless to say we complaind but got nothing but abuse from the staff member. I had to threaten with a solicitor to get our money back and that was returned with a lot of attitude from the member of staff. She also said she had check that the heating was on but the storage heater were not and we switched them on but as they warm in the night that was of no use to us and then in the morning the heaters did not heat the room as they were only luke warm. We will NEVER stay there again and we do not recommend anyone else to waste there time by going there. Plus the price went up from £100 a night for a family room to £160 and for no heating at all. We did not stick around for the food we just wanted to get the hell out of there. Hotel from Hell!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samantha90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

recently taken over and going in the right direction for sure, friendly staff always willing to help and engage in conversation. Rooms in need of modernising but are comfortable and decent value for money. The meals are very good value with good sized portions i would advise all to try the tasty chips. Overall a big thumbs up from us.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smilereviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2009

I am in agreement with the previous negative reviews regarding this hotel - it has certainly declined over the recent years. However, travellers will be pleased to note that this establishment is now closed and will shortly be reopened under new professional management.

I had my wedding reception at this hotel some 15 years ago when it had a very good reputation for customer service and quality food.

Things can only get better for the Aylsham Lodge and it will be interesting to see the future improvements under new ownership.

We wish the new owners every success and hope all past customers will give the Aylsham Lodge a second chance!

Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank cantwait4hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylsham
1.2 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 1 in Marsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club
5.9 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
9.8 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aylsham Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aylsham Lodge Hotel

Property: Aylsham Lodge Hotel
Address: 149 Norwich Road, Aylsham NR11 6JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Aylsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aylsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Aylsham Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Aylsham Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aylsham Hotel Norfolk
Aylsham Lodge Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing