We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very satisfied Norwegians” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Au Chateau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Au Chateau
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Very satisfied Norwegians”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

First of all, the owners were great, friendly and helpful beyond any expectation. We immediately felt at home. For us it was a relief to stay a place where the hostess speaks perfect English and German, which in our experience is not very common in this area. Everything was perfectly clean. The old house is very well redecorated with modern bath rooms. We were four families staying there together, and we all agreed that it was superb value for money.
Vertene var utrolig hyggelige og hjelpsomme. Engelskkunnskapene i området er ikke mye å skryte av, men her snakket de perfekt engelsk, og vertinnen snakket også flytende tysk. Det var rent og ordentlig overalt. Huset er gammelt, men veldig flott oppusset med moderne bad til alle rommene. Vi var fire familier sammen, og konkluderte med at her fikk vi virkelig valuta for pengene.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Børge J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    14
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
20
49
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

I have been fortunate to stay at AuChateau many times during the past several years, with numerous friends, my husband, and even with a granddaughter this past July. I think I have stayed in every room at one time or the other and I have been remiss in not writing a review before. When I read the one above, it caused me to stop and take pen in hand! We have always left with a feeling of wanting to return and all have fallen in love with this beautiful and unspoiled part of SW France and AuChateau is the perfect base to stay.
It is a huge family home that has been lovingly restored with the most comfortable, modern guest rooms, while still maintaining the charm of the lovely old house. Huge rooms, that are spotlessly clean, great baths in each suite, each decorated individually, in soft light colors. The beds are very comfortable, some rooms have mini fridges, and anytime something is needed I have only had to mention it to the hosts and they have immediately taken care of it.
The Owners have gone of their way to be helpful and in my opinion their help and hospitality has known no bounds.
The grounds are lovely, with a natural landscaping that lends itself to the home and village. The pool was a great addition just a few years ago and a welcome spot after a day out in the countryside. We have had meals many times on the terrace,being able to keep our food in the fridge in the breakfast room. It's always a lovely experience, and I have never seen anything unpleasant in the yard!!! Part of the charm is that it is a home while still enjoying as much privacy as you wish. I have always found everything to be in good repair and with
each visit the house and grounds seem to improve with new additions and
It is always fun to see what has been added.
A favorite place....can't recommend enough and always hope to return.

Barbara M.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Level Contributor
116 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

From the outside and from the photos it looks OK, but we rented the appartment there for 2 weeks and were disappointed. The ground floor was damp and cold and one couldn't stay there too long before one began to shiver. On the top floor with its low slanting ceilings, one was continually bumping one head on the beams. There was horse manure before the front door that remained there the whole 2 weeks of our stay. The inner court was only half finished with left overs as furniture. There was no reading lamps in the appartment, and the ones that were provided, had quite dubious cables. There was a loud disco in the neighbourhood that was open on fridays and saturdays where you could first go to sleep at 4 in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katie030, Owner at Au Chateau, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
We are very sorry to read how disappointed your were with your stay last September. Had you mentioned any of your concerns on your numerous visits to the main house we could have rectified these. We did our utmost to make your stay as comfortable as possible, supplying a change of kitchen utensils, free use of our private computer, printer, copier and fax machine.

The shivering temperatures you describe in the lounge (during the hot summer months) are certainly perplexing - particularly when the outside temperature was around 30 degrees. Our guests who stayed this October November and December never mentioned that it was too cold and some even mentioned how nice and warm the whole house is.
Of course during September the central heating isn't working, but had you mentioned it, we would have provided you with additional heating.

The low ceiling beams are mentioned in our website and all advertising sites and photos clearly show the slope of the ceilings.

It is quite incorrect to say that there are no reading lights in the house. There are reading lights provided for each bed in each bedroom and at your specific request we provided more - and even asked you if you required others. But you assured us that this was not necessary as you took the spare lights from the two bed rooms which were not being used.

The furniture in the private patio is certainly not left-overs. Two sets of teak furniture have been purchased and arranged so that there is one seating area for "breakfast in the sunshine" and another for the shade in the afternoon.

The entrance to the gite is on a quiet country lane, and is sometimes used by a horse and carriage, providing popular tours around the village. This road is not our private road and there may very well have been a 'deposit' on the brand new tarmac. But certainly not immediately in front of your entrance. This is an agricultural village in the heart of many wonderful farming communities.

There is NO discotheque in the village. There is a restaurant at 200 m distance from the main house - which many of our guests enjoy. The warm summer evenings in Southern France do promote an atmosphere of Al fresco dining and whilst there may have been some music, neither us nor any guests in the main house complained or noticed any exceedingly loud music during your two weekends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at Au Chateau for 5 nights in Aug/Sept 2013 and really enjoyed our time there. It's not really a chateau, but more a "petit manoir" which has been and still is being restored by the charming owners. Don't expect room service and other hotel facilities but instead enjoy the relaxed informal atmosphere and home from home feel.

A beautiful part of France which was previously little known to us - Moissac which is the nearby town has the most amazing centre with huge Abbey (Cloitre) and neat market square as well as one of the most beautiful river side panoramas I have ever seen.

If you go there you will be in good company as Richard the Lionheart also paused in St Nicholas de la Grave on his way back from the Crusades!

Room Tip: We had the Suite Elise which was huge with a four poster bed. Access was through the former stable w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewWilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We went for a weekend for a wedding in a village nearby. The chateau is very nice and well kept, and the owner is very nice. We had a suite in one of the adjacent house and it was big, clean and nice. We had lunch one day in the terrace and used the swimming pool for a while in the afternoon. It is a place to go a rest, because the village is very tiny and you can visit it pretty fast. Maybe I missed a little more benches in the garden to seat and read, or maybe some sunbeds in the grass for a nap, and take advantage of the beautiful yard in a better way, but other than that the attention, breakfast and room were great.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dania15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

The Chateau is a beautiful place to stay and seems to be ran very well. Kathryn was a great host who helped us find nice restaurants to eat in and even reserved a table for us. We enjoyed borrowing bikes to ride along the canal, lounging by the pool and always felt comfortable. Everything was as expected and how the chateau appears in photos although maybe even better! It was also very clean. Breakfast was very good with plenty of fresh bread and croissants, butter and jam and fruit juice and yogurt every morning. Would thoroughly recommend and would love to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This was the perfect place to stop for 2 nights on our journey through South West France. We stayed in the fantastic Suite Madeleine which has a sitting room and stairs up to the bedroom. The pool was used extensively by our 2 children and was a welcome break from the hot sun. The hosts were extremely friendly and happy to advise on local activities and restaurants. They even posted our son's pyjamas back to the UK when we left them in the room...!! Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katie030, Owner at Au Chateau, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
It was such a pleasure to have had you staying with us and we are glad the pyjamas are back with their owner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Nicolas-de-la-Grave
4.0 mi away
Le Moulin de Moissac
Le Moulin de Moissac
#1 of 8 in Moissac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
4.0 mi away
Le Luxembourg Hotel
Le Luxembourg Hotel
#6 of 8 in Moissac
3.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
16.6 mi away
Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
No photo provided
Auberge De Lamagistere
#1 of 1 in Lamagistere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
6.5 mi away
Logis des Cretes de Pignols
4.7 mi away
Hotel Absolu
Hotel Absolu
#1 of 5 in Castelsarrasin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Chateau

Property: Au Chateau
Address: 1 boulevard des Fosses de Raoul | Lieu dit La Gravette, 82210 Saint-Nicolas-de-la-Grave, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Tarn-et-Garonne > Saint-Nicolas-de-la-Grave
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Nicolas-de-la-Grave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At "Au Château" we offer bed & breakfast accommodation for business travel, family holiday or romantic getaways. We are conveniently situated 15 mins off the motorway, in a village with all amenities in walking distance. Why not cycle along the canal des deux mers, then relax on the terrace with a nice glass of wine or refresh in the pool? We are close to Moissac and Auvillar, for sightseeing and sampling great restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Au Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing