We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location / Great people !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waikiki Zanzibar Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Certificate of Excellence
Tarifa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great location / Great people !!”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

It was the best decision ever to come to Waikiki for our stay! Such a nice quiet place, such nice and open minded people ! Thank you!
We came to kitesurf and had every day wind, and we were almost alone in the beautiful lagoon.

I would recommend this place with best feelings further!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaniaR83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    124
    28
    11
    10
See reviews for
53
268
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I chose this resort purely from the reviews on Trip Advisor and it didn't disappoint one bit!
On arrival Flavio welcomed us with a cool drink which was much needed after our 17 hours of travelling, he completely made us feel at home and there was no question he couldn't answer. the staff here are incredibly accomodating.
The room was excellent - very large, and cleaned so well every day, they literally managed to remove every grain of sand.
The beach was perfect - at low tide you can walk right out to the reef where there are starfish, and other marine life (a local took us out and so we paid he $10 dollars- but i would go with a local as they know the best wading route out there, as it is a minefield of sea urchins)
at high tide you could swim, and in the evenings we would sit with a cool beer on the beach and watch people kite surfing.
There were a few beach boys but once you had been there for a couple of days they would recognise you weren't new and would leave you alone, you just have to be firm - and literally show no interest.
You can go to the other hotels for drinks/food, although they are much more pricey, and we loved the 'boats' at the bar you can sit and chill out in.
I was very apprehensive about the friday night party, but actually it was fun, it wasn't a 'rave', you didn't get 'hassled by locals' as someone had put in their review, it was fun and had a good atmosphere.
The food was good, not a massive selction, but we loved the pizza!
the food was a little slow coming out after ordering, but we weren't in a rush to get anywhere - so it didn't really matter.
Overall its a little snippet of paradise - i would much rather stay somewhere intimate like here rather than a large resort where you are one of a hundred guests.
i would recommend going to the south of the island to swim with dolphins.
All in all it was excellent.

Room Tip: Choose a room with A/C - on our last night we had to switch rooms and had one with A/C, it was hot t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Flavio and Sarah (the owners) are delightful very helpful and friendly, they have the best staff out there. The food could use a little more seasoning but overall it was good. It was very relaxing after a busy 5 day safari on the mainland. The beach is beautiful just be mindful of the tides. We would recommend the Waikiki Zanzibar Resort to anyone that will be traveling to Zanzibar!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mwanza, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

My wife and I have been to Zanzibar a number of times and stayed at several resorts on the East, North and West of the island. While each place had its high points, Waikiki is the best overall. Why? First, I remember nothing outstanding of the management of the other resorts were we've stayed. But Sarah and Flavio went out of their way to make us feel at home and comfortable. Sarah was very patient answering my many emails before arriving and it was her smiling face that welcomed us when we arrived.

Some below said the food was "bland" or otherwise criticized it. They must not have been at the same resort. Our food was delicious and the menu had quite a variety. There was even a huge brick oven at the beach bar with fresh oven baked pizza!

The bartenders made the best "Dawa" I have ever had. (Asanteni!) and the rest of the staff were very helpful. A few times at dinner a fork or knife fell of the table, practically as soon as it hit the floor a new one was brought to the table.

The East coast of Zanizbar is beautiful, and this resort fits in nicely. It's not a huge hotel resort, but who wants that? Waikiki is just big enough to take good care of you but small enough, so that you can still feel somewhat 'alone on the island.' The resort is very quiet except for Friday night when they have a late night party. Not our cup of tea, so we arrived on Saturday. Perfect.

The beach bar is made up of several old dhow (Zanzibari boats). Very cool. In fact the only suggestion I had was that they put more pillows in the boats for chillin' out. ;-) I saw that someone complained about not having a 'pool'!? Who goes to Zanzibar and swims in a pool? It's the Indian Ocean, no need for a pool.

We go to Zanzibar every 1-2 years, and without a doubt, we won't hesitate to go back to Waikiki!

Room Tip: Book early and ask for the Domino Deluxe room close to the beach. ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freedlun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I enjoyed staying at Sarah and Flavio's little resort place. It is a little distant from any towns, however, it is easy enough to take a taxi to a town (although it can be a bit pricey).
Sarah and Flavio were great! Super nice folks and they do care about their guests and making sure that their guests have their needs provided for (to the best of their ability).

My friend and I did take a tour of one of the spice farms and also a tour of Stonetown. We did find that our tour guide's English was not the best...we got a general sense of things, but any more difficult questions we had went unanswered - which is ok, it's not the end of the world...just a warning to others.

The other thing to be aware of is that you can barter your taxi. I am horrible at bartering, but our friend was great and we got a better price to the airport $50 instead of the normal $60,

Overall, I would recommend the Waikiki Zanzibar Resort! I'd stay there again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Friday night is the big party...if you can't sleep through it (I slept like a baby!), ask to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

The Waikiki Zanzibar Resort scores a very good in my books. Its not perfect or 5-star, and nor to they claim to be, but it is a nice little resort. Flavio and Sarah (the owners) are delightful as many others have pointed out and were always very helpful and friendly. The rooms are great, the pizza (recently introduced) truely wonderful and the atmosphere very relaxing. The chef could use a little more spices in the food but otherwise, we had an enjoyable stay at Waikiki.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jollyda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kigali, Rwanda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Family of four. Kids 7 and 9. We stayed at Waikiki for a couple weeks.

Staff:
The hotel staff were great. Some befriended our children and helped them out from time to time. We all felt very welcomed. The manager, Alberto was extremely friendly and helpful. Flavio and Sarah, the owners, were delightful. They are doing a great job with training their staff.

Kite Boarding:
The beach is wonderful. When the tide is up enough there is a Kite boarding school right there in the resort. If you are planning to take kite lessons, make sure you do your research. The season wasn't quite getting started when I was there. So you need to plan your trip during the big wind seasons (there's two of them). The seasons also shift a bit, so it's maybe worth checking with the school if the wind is consistently good. I was able to do some lessons regardless, but there wasn't quite a enough wind to get up on a board while I was there. With the wind being finicky, it was nice staying at the same place as the school so I was always ready to go.

The Beach:
When the the tide is out it essentially transforms into the world's biggest wading pool. Our kids loved the beach if the tide was in or out. Check the tides though. It's seasonal as to what time of day you get your high and low tides. You might want to make sure you are visiting when there is water during the hottest part of the day. Even so, we didn't find the lack of pool to be an issue at all even though it was something we were considering when shopping for a place. While walking the beach, it looks like the beach near Waikiki is as good or better than the other spots nearby. Particularly the deeper swimming area and the large island at lower tides.

Beach Boys:
Ya, the beach boys are pretty obnoxious on the entire island. I talked to the ones near our beach the first day and said I would be there for a while but want to be left alone. I told them I was unwilling to shop until my last day. I didn't find them to be too much of a bother. I live in East Africa, so maybe I have a little more comfort in dealing with that sort of thing.

Food:
The food was okay. Certainly enough choices for a few day stay. Definitely would have liked to have more options nearby since we were there for two weeks. The Polish place next door was pretty good eating, but they require shillings, so I would bring some with you if you want to have another option (turns out the airport rate is actually pretty competitive). I learned of a local places to eat in the little town near the end but never made it out there. Depending on what kind of traveler you are, it's probably worth exploring that option as well.

The Party:
Yes, there is a big party one night a week. For some that's a good thing, but I've got kids so its not really our cup of tea. We all stayed in that night and watched movies. It was noisy for sure, but it wasn't a huge deal to us. Obviously some folks in the other reviews are pretty put off by that sort of thing, so just something to be aware of. If you aren't into parties and not tolerant of noise one night, either pick the days for your stay carefully or maybe look for a different place that night.

Room:
We were pleased with our room. Though not terribly large, it was big enough. Definitely go for the rooms with air conditioning as Zanzibar is HOT and pretty humid. The only real criticism of the room is the bathroom had a glass door which is odd even for couples, but pretty unfortunate for families sharing a room. We usually just hung our towels there. They turn down the room as normal in the morning and clean it top-to-bottom (which is very welcomed when there's so much sand from a family of four). Before the evening, they return to the room to put the nets down and spray. The spray is a bit strong, but you get used to it and the lack of mosquitos is totally worth it.

Excursions:
There's tons of outfits to take you snorkeling and whatnot. There's a group that sells excursions in the hotel itself. They are sort-of the lower rent excursions. They give a very similar experience but maybe a little rough around the edges. But it's pretty cheap (they never charged for our children). Definitely do the Safari Blue (they call it this, but from what I can tell its the generic version of the official Safari Blue). For a total of about $120 it was an all day affair for all four of us. You get to go snorkeling, a dhow ride, and they serve you soooo much seafood. Pretty much all you can eat of calamari, cicala, lobster, octopus, tuna, and more. The snorkeling at the island off Mtemwe is maybe a little better but if you are only going to do one and like seafood, do Safari Blue. We stayed in Stone Town the last couple days of our trip, so we paid them for a spice tour on our last day. It cost almost the same as a taxi ride and they dropped us at the door of our next hotel.

At night, the kids LOVED hunting for hermit crabs. We would all follow their circuitous tracks with a flashlight until we came upon them waddling along in their shells. One night, one of the beach guards helped the kids catch a giant sand crab and made a leash for it out of a large blade of grass. Too funny. Hunting critters was always a nice way to finish our day.

On the whole, the experience is far different than you would get at one of the mega-resorts (like the Neptune just to the south), but for me, it's a better one. It's far less crowded and "touristy" at a place like Waikiki and we found the value for money to be excellent and will definitely consider returning.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a room with AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrgreenbeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pwani Mchangani
31.7 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
236 reviews
3.8 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
439 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
31.4 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#6 of 13 in Jambiani
557 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Zanzibar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Zanzibar Resort

Property: Waikiki Zanzibar Resort
Address: Kiwengwa Road, Pwani Mchangani 2210, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Zanzibar Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort is located on one of the most beautiful and unspoiled beaches of Zanzibar : Pwani Mchangani. The resort is surrounded by the lush green palm trees and bushes. Built right on the beach so forget your shoes and relax. A perfect place to chill-out. Taste an Authentic Italian Pizza from our wood oven and enjoy your food on our newly built beach terrace next to the Indian Ocean. Welcome to Waikiki....Feel at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Waikiki Zanzibar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Zanzibar Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Waikiki Hotel Pwani Mchangani Mdogo
Waikiki Zanzibar Resort Zanzibar Island/Pwani Mchangani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing