We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, private resort, great customer service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waikiki Zanzibar Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Highly recommend! Reasonably priced, excellent customer service, owners are very flexible with check-in/out times, and attentive to details. Only 16 rooms total so a very nice, private, and relaxing place to stay. They even made us early breakfast when we had to leave early in the morning for excursions. Sarah and Flavio do an outstanding job and we will definitely return when if we get the chance!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank kristyc27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

The owners/managers were unbelievably detailed. From check in to check out we never had an issue. At any given time someone can have a problem in the room etc. but they would nip it in the bud. Every morning at breakfast you were asked to give a short answer for five simple questions in reference to your stay. This would give you a chance to say in advance that perhaps something was not working properly. It then was immediately taken care of. We did organized trips through the tour guide in the hotel and everything was perfect. We walked the beautiful beach every day we had free and it was really fun. The bar made great happy hour drinks and that was always fun. We stayed in the city and had planned on returning. After we started staying at Waikiki we knew we would prefer to stay our entire time there. I would fully recommend this property

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Waikiki is a chilled, family run hotel that is extremely charming. The simplicity of the place is what makes it so charming compared to the 4/5 star hotels which share the same beach. We went in off season (yes slightly rainy) so it was fairly quiet compared to what it must be in high season, but the benefit of this was that the beach felt like our own and what a stunning beach it is.
Sarah and Flavio are lovely people and are keen to make sure that guests are comfortable and if anything is 'wrong" they do their utmost best to fix the problem straight away.
The staff are wonderful and most helpful and the food very good, although a snack menu at lunch would be welcome. Unfortunately the pizza oven was closed for the season, but I am sure and heard that they are outstanding. Another good reason to return to this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carocrotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Waikiki so much we extended our four nights to six! The resort is located along one of the best beaches we experienced in Zanzibar (white sands, turquoise sea and very friendly locals). There is a conveniently located jet ski centre a few mins down from the resort front and an abundance of snorkelling trips to the, closely located and very popular, Mnemba Island which is about 45mins out by boat. The staff at Waikiki are friendly, helpful and connect with their guests in a sociable and pleasant manner. Above all it's great value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Friends and I spent four delightful days at Wakiki. The beach is pristine and clean; the ocean blue and clear. The resort is managed by an Italian couple, which brings about freshly baked bread, cake, doughnuts and croissants for breakfast. Fresh seafood was initially in short supply, but management made up by offering us lobster at prawns prices. Rooms are spacious and adequate. We especially loved the “lobster boat” on the beach, but a pity about the high booze prices. Overall, a lovely place to visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacques P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We arrived in the off season (long rains), expecting there to be very little available, but was pleasantly surprised. Resort staff are very friendly and helpful. Beautiful white beach. Very lovely managed by a friendly european couple. Very nice resort with loads of specialties (pizza oven, boat bar, open restaurant, etc.). A fun place to stay. Rooms were spacious and clean. Shower is nice and big. Massage was very nice. Will recommend this resort to young people (also those young at heart) for a fabulous fun time.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roecha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We booked this beautiful little family run hotel online, I contacted Sarah to make a reservation and she was very helpful form the start to the end. When we arrived in Zanzibar after 24 hours travelling she had sent a taxi to pick us up at the airport and took us straight to the hotel. We arrived quite late so the kitchen was closed however they kindly made us some homemade pizzas that were fantastic!! T

he beautiful and perfectly decorated bungalow we stayed in was right next to the beach and the view simply breathtaking in the morning.

Staff were lovely and approachable, especially Raffo who is the assistant manager. He answered all the questions we had, kindly sorted out the diving for us and made the stay in Waikiki a delight.

If you are visiting Waikiki do try to be there on a Friday (don't expect to go to bed early though) as they have their fantastic Cannibal party. At the beginning of the night we thought 'yeah yeah we might be 10 people here tonight' and BOOM the whole place was full of people from everywhere dancing and enjoying, even the masai's!! I wish I had been there again next Friday less jetlagged as I thoroughly enjoyed it.

One of the things I loved the most about this place is that no one is chasing you to pay your bills, you consume and enjoy and the last day you pay, easy!

Guys this is paradise, food is delicious, staff is friendly and the place is beautiful, this just can't be missed in Zanzibar.

Thank you Waikiki for making our stay there wonderful, you will definitely see me there soon again!

Room Tip: Go for the Domino!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacBul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pwani Mchangani
1.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,710 reviews
31.5 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#5 of 13 in Jambiani
269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.4 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
571 reviews
13.6 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#5 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
535 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Zanzibar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Zanzibar Resort

Address: Kiwengwa Road, Pwani Mchangani 2210, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range: £32 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Zanzibar Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort is located on one of the most beautiful and unspoiled beaches of Zanzibar : Pwani Mchangani. The resort is surrounded by the lush green palm trees and bushes. Built right on the beach so forget your shoes and relax. A perfect place to chill-out. Taste an Authentic Italian Pizza from our wood oven and enjoy your food on our newly built beach terrace next to the Indian Ocean. Welcome to Waikiki....Feel at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Jovago.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Waikiki Zanzibar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Zanzibar Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Waikiki Hotel Pwani Mchangani Mdogo
Waikiki Zanzibar Resort Zanzibar Island/Pwani Mchangani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing