We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Certificate of Excellence
Maribor, Slovenia
1 review
“Wonderful holidays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

If you want to spend wonderful holidays in very nice hotel than Next Paradise is the right choice.
First of all I would like to thank to Marina and Stuart to make our stay indescribable and unforgettable. Thank you Marina and Stuart. They recommended and helped us to chose daily trips like snorkeling swimming with dolphins, sunset in Kendwa,...
But we weren't bored also when we stayed at he hotel because you have very beautiful beach and sea in front of the hotel where we stayed few hours swimming and relaxing every day in worm water and for the time of low tide we were swimming in the pool.
I also enjoy a lot in Kitesurfing 100 meters away from the hotel.
So anything you want to do in Zanzibar you just need to ask at the hotel and they are very happy to help you.
We also liked the restaurant in the hotel. My favorite meal was dinner with four entries and every evening it was a new surprise with a delicious fresh fish or sea food and tasty desert.
The staff is very friendly and nice. We liked them all.
And we liked also our beautiful romantic room with the balcony and the sea view.
This holidays we will not forget it was excellent and we are looking forward to come again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachboy021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    52
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
86
349
23
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, Kent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

This beautiful boutique hotel offers quiet relaxation in an undeveloped part of the north east coast. The rooms are simple with clean lines, quality local made furniture, clean and airy. Interesting artefacts and statues etc.
The beach is long and the tide goes out very far, creating large shallow pools ideal for young children to swim in. However there are sea urchins so purchase beach shoes before coming. Stuart the owner, is on hand to cater for all your individual needs with endless patience and charm. The staff are friendly and non intrusive but often limited in their speed and understanding. 80% of hotels are managed by Italians on Zanzibar (and the majority of tourists are Italian) and so the staff have to speak Italian, English and understand it as well as Swahili, so some patience is required.
Tours are easily arranged as well as a hotel car, which is $40 to Stone Town. It can be fun but we recommend not hiring your own car as there are hardly any sign posts, and no street names in Zanzibar. After dark people and cattle roam about the roads with no street lights it is easy to get lost and risk running someone over. BEWARE the police stop you at every opportunity to look at your licence and paper work and pretend you have committed some driving infringement so they can try to extract an on the spot fines.(illlegal) The best way to deal with this is to apologise (so they don't loose face) and refuse, saying you will just telephone your friend Stuart or a fictional friend in the government. This allows you to go on your way, but can be intimidating. The trip to the old slave market was so moving as was the exhibition on Saddiya Salime in the House of Wonders, Stone Town an Arabian princess of mid 1800's who scandalised society by marrying a Dutch christian trader, moved to Holland where he died 3 years later. Her brother the Sultan of Z rejected her, so she could not return. She was pioneer of female education and womens emancipation.
GOOD THINGS: Peace, tranquility, nice beach cleaned but quite seaweedy, good food in general, 4 course evening meal, clean pool, good beds, easy reach of tours, Stone Town,
Stuart's personal attention, lovely weather (30 degrees) Hotel Serena in Stone Town good food, also Africa House, lively buzzy rooftop bar overlooking bay in StoneTown to have drinks and watch spectacular sunsets. Spice Tour, Jozani Forest and Butterfly Farm, snorkelling off Mbemba Island and swimming with wild dolphins, slave market, spice market, House of Wonders, Cycles available to cycle along beach.
BAD THINGS Nothing to do for children at the hotel except swim (do not book if this is what you want, ideal for us but not for all tastes) Beach is public so traders roam trying to get you to buy things from huts along beach. They are polite and will go away unlike Barbados and Jamaica. Masai also trade along the beach and seem to service single older women as a sideline! The beach boys/ladies are kept out of the hotels by discreet security.(good) Intermittent slow/good service. Food excellent though never saw much green salad or green vegetables. Drinks expensive, so buy bottles of water if you can out of hotel. Very limited soft drinks - important for me a non alcohol drinker, would have liked to see tangawezi(ginger beer), homemade lime juice and smoothies made from the fruits. Juice is $3.50 a glass and the same one offered all day from breakfast, so no variety. Limited breakfast, pastries, eggs, bacon, tomatoes, pancakes and fruit, Would have loved yoghurt, fruit compote. homemade cereals, nuts etc. There were teething problems with the airconditioning. Its very hot and airless at night, but Stuart was concerned and I am sure it will be put right. Lack of Umbrellas around pool.
HOWEVER THESE ARE SMALL POINTS AND OVERALL WE BOTH, PLUS OUR ELDEST DAUGHTER AGE 25 and YOUNGEST AGE 14 LOVED IT. WOULD GO BACK

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank elanjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

Having read many of the other reviews on the Next Paradise Resort, I should like to start with two general points.
Firstly, NP is in Zanzibar. Zanzibar is in Africa. Very sadly Africa is poor. There are sights and sounds around the resort and certainly around Zanzibar itself which, quite correctly, could distress the less seasoned traveller. Try not to let it put you off. In general the people are very friendly, open and so curious. My wife and I spent a little while watching a local village football match surrounded by all ages and answering questions on subjects as diverse as our favourite football teams and snow! (Our photos of snow were very well received).
Our tourist £s must help. There is precious little other industry on the island and without our holiday money what would the barmen, waiters, cleaners & drivers do?
Secondly NP does not purport to be a 5* hotel. It is a boutique resort. If you wander onto the resort's beach (cleaned and tidied daily - other hotels please take note) and turn left or right within a few hundred yards you'll find hotels with more (and larger) pools (than one) with more (and larger) bars (than one) with more (and larger) restaurants (than one) with facilities for children, with various sporting activities and with 'night life'. If these are what you want don't stay at Next Paradise.
So, what does Next Paradise have?
It has tasteful, well designed, functional and well - cleaned rooms, with all the required facilities. We were fortunate to be upgraded to the honeymoon suite after two nights - which was a lovely surprise (Thank you, Stuart).
It has a small restaurant serving a simple breakfast (eggs, fruits and pastries), a good menu for lunch and a most excellent set dinner. The quite superb chefs prepare locally bought food, all fresh, and oh-so tasty. However, they are happy to prepare alternative menus; I am a vegetarian and was very well catered for.
But most of all it has a small, two syllable word, which should have a capital letter: Service. Service which is there at all times. But is inconspicuous. Stuart & his small team of willing staff are on hand - but never 'in your face'.
So, if you want to 'chill', chill here. If you want to smile, smile here. If you want to relax and eat good food - this is the place for you.
Now, we have to work for a year, to save up - see you next year.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

Next paradise is a very silent, small boutique hotel. You can not find any animation here. It is a place to rest. So if you are looking for being alone, this is the place.
But if you are looking for fun, action this is not a place for you. This is a very silent hotel.
On the other hand there are so many things that you can do in Zanzibar, you can never get bored. And Next paradise is not close to any attraction, but also it is not far away from any. SO if you like to do all, like we have done, this is a place to use as a base camp, where you only have bed&breakfast.
Definetly, dont miss Spice Tour (its not only about spices, it also includes fruits), go fishing, go snorkeling at Mnemba, go swimming with dolphins, etc
But everyone is different. So before going to Zanzibar, decide which of these you are going to do. Then decide where you are going to stay. You can choose to stay close to the attraction you like.
The sea is interesting. Although the beach in front of the Next Paradise looks wonderful, the sea is looks great but it is not a great plesasure to swim. It is very hot, the tide is a problem, and there is no visibility at all under the sea.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G3A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friedberg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

We stayed in Next Paradise for 14 days at the end of November 2010. It is a very personal hotel with only a few number of rooms. The beach is wonderful. If you like fish you will enjoy it (4 course dinner), if not you have to inform the management and you will be able to select your meals from the menue card. Most of the guests stays for around 3 - 6 days after or before a safari in Tanzania. As divers, we could highly recommend this place for your stay as they have good connections to the diving center "Blue Ocean" (Pick-Up service included = 10 minutes). The diving center also offers snorkelling and sunset tours (we can recommend them as well). In addition Next Paradise has a tour operator coming each evening, who advises the guests on possible tours on the island. A car service could also be offered by the managment of the hotel (you have just to ask Stuart whatever you want to do).
We had a pleasant time on this beautiful island and if we come back, we know where to STAY!
Thanks Stuart and crew (especially Emanuel) and many greetings to Maude and Mario (Blue Ocean Divers),

Natascha and Oliver

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OLenauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

a wonderfull place to relax and recharge your battery.
clean-friendly-cosy-welcoming are the key words to describe this place. The owners doing everything to make you feel comfortable and the staff is doing their utmost to life up to the expectation of the guest.
A great place to find back to yourself, relax, or just be.
Thank you Stuart and Marina for the beautiful time we had!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasminLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

This is a true "get away from it all" gem -
no curio shop, no hawkers, no excursions sold (although available should you want from Mr Renaldo who discreetly pops in in the evenings)
The staff are a pleasure - happy, friendly & extremely helpul.
Thank you Stuart for a wonderful Xmas & New Year. We will return that's for sure!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandd51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pwani Mchangani
13.7 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#4 of 167 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
2.0 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
3.3 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
8.3 mi away
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Pongwe Beach Hotel
#1 of 6 in Pongwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Next Paradise Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Next Paradise Boutique Resort

Property: Next Paradise Boutique Resort
Address: Plot 88, Pwani Mchangani 3363, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Next Paradise Boutique Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Next Paradise Boutique Resort sits on one of the most beautiful white sandy beaches of Zanzibar, facing directly the Indian Ocean and protected by the coral reef which is about one kilometer away.located only 45 minutes drive from Stone Town and 30 minutes from Nungwi and Kendwua, (the beaches of north) it is perfect place to organize excursions, spice tours, swim with dolphins, big game fishing, kite surfing , diving and snorkeling to Mnemba atoll. The charming small hotel is well known because of its sober elegance, the excellent food and especially for its intimate and quiet atmosphere. At Next Paradise you will find 16 fully furnished rooms all provided with air conditioning and sea view private verandahs. Our staff is always happy to offer individual attention to every single guest of the hotel. Whether you're looking to book your honeymoon or need inspiration for a romantic getaway, we have special offers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Next Paradise Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Next Paradise Boutique Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Next Paradise Boutique Resort Zanzibar Island/Pwani Mchangani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing