We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for a beach paradise vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The Next Paradise Boutique Resort offers a “beach paradise” type of vacation off of the Eastern coast of Zanzibar. The taxi ride from the Zanzibar airport takes approximately one hour. The resort is a private walled-off property on the beach in a small village. To the South, there are more resorts along the beach. There is a small central building area with reception, bar, and dining room. This building is fashioned as a large hut and adds to the island atmosphere. There is also a swimming pool and hot tub off of this main area, but it was closed for repairs while we were there. There are a number of rooms around this central swimming pool, some looking out over the beach. We elected to stay in a Beachfront Bungalow, which is on the South end of the property and offers some more privacy. There are four bungalows situated around a second swimming pool with great views of the ocean. Choosing one of these rooms truly gives you a paradise-like atmosphere. We spent our time lounging around the pool having drinks and food brought out to us as well as walking along the beach. Our room was very clean and positioned right in front of the pool with a great view of the ocean. Luckily, air conditioning is provided and kept us very comfortable during our stay. There is also free wifi with good speed.

The staff is very friendly and speaks good English, making for easy communication. As we got to know them throughout our stay, they even taught us some Swahili. They were very helpful in booking excursions and transportation around the island. They also provide great flexibility with meals if you want to eat breakfast late or have dinner delivered to your room. A buffet as well as “hot” options off of a menu are provided for breakfast and mimosas are even included with the buffet! We suggest starting your morning off with one of these. The egg dishes were okay, but we loved the French toast. There are al a carte options at cost off of a menu for lunch, but usually we only had a small snack, as breakfast was quite filling. Dinner is also included and the menu is made up of mainly seafood options. All of the dinner courses were “good,” but only a few of them were “great,” leaving me wishing for a second helping. If something is not to your liking, they will graciously fix you something else in its place. Their bar offers a number of cocktails, but many of these are not quite up to the standards for a bar in the USA. This seems to be a common problem in Tanzania/Zanzibar, so I won’t hold it against them. I would stick to Mohitos and Margaritas.

Our stay was truly a paradise-like experience and we will consider staying here again when we return to Zanzibar. The discounted rate during “low season” makes this hotel a no brainer.

Room Tip: The beach bungalows are worth the extra money
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MidwestMaven14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
There are newer reviews for Next Paradise Boutique Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

I am 13 years old and traveled to Zanzibar with my uncle and my mom and found this resort peaceful, restful, and amazing! The staff were kind and eager to help, special thanks to Metka the manager who was personable and personally arranged for transportation to our outside excursion (Safari Blue- also amazing!) when we first arrived we were given coconuts to drink picked from the trees that morning, and the next day we saw the people climbing these fifty foot trees to pick coconuts for us. The food was great and the pool and beach were beautiful. I was very surprised to read some of the less than good reviews, at no point did we have any problems. Some people complained about the large number of sea urchins and the low tide, but what are they supposed to do about it, there is literally nothing they can do about the extreme tides. If you really have a problem with how the Indian Ocean works then you need to take it up with a "higher authority figure".... Love this place, would recommend to anyone! Definitely a must see experience!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Penny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The staff was so nice, We had the honey moon suite though we did not book it. This had the prettiest veranda ever where we relaxed endlessly! We felt like having a private Villa just with full room service.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanja-Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have stayed for a week in mid February with 2 friends. Our arrival was complicated due to delays with our flights, but we have had the best welcome ever. The refreshing coconuts and freshly made dinner immediately helped us forget about our hassles.

Our room was very clean and well equiped. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful. The daily a la carte menu has a good variety and it is very good value for your money. We have tried everything from the menu and we were very happy with all the dishes. The prices are the same as in Europe though.

Room Tip: We did select a room with ocean view. However we did not stay in a beach front bungalow. We were dis...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zsuzanna03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

The place is soooo perfect!
Congrats to the guys there!
Thats what is called taking care about customers!
And these guys can manage!
Full with guests: everyone feels special
Few guests during rainyseason; less guests but service stays at the the same level!!
A real paradise where you feel at home from the first minute
Thanks again

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Markusberndorfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Hotel Next Paradise what a find - thanks again TA! We stayed here in January 2014.

The hotel is on the east coast of Zanzibar about 50 minutes drive from the airport. On our arrival the hotel transport was waiting with no problems (this service is free if you book for seven nights).

The hotel is set in a little village - be warned, despite the flash hotels Zanzibar is not a developed country and the Next Paradise is next to a village with very basic living standards. However, we felt utterly safe and although we did feel a big guilty to living it up on the door step of those that had so little money, we knew that by visiting Zanzibar we were actually helping the economy in the long run.

The staff of the Next Paradise require a special note as they were simply brilliant and you can't hope to meet a more attentive friendly and well trained group of people. We wished we had enough dollars left to leave them a bigger tip.

The hotel has managed to find the perfect balance between privacy for its guests without the feeling that you are completely isolated. Our room (6) was very spacious with a large bed. The mattress was firm but very comfortable. There was a good mosquito net, mini bar fridge and lovely shower. It was really nicely decorated and had its own character unlike those faceless rooms you get at certain other larger hotels we have all been in. The hotel site is nicely spread out with two pools, with only twenty rooms... having two pools to chose from was an unexpected bonus, we had them to ourselves most days.

The beach was at most a few seconds walk from any room and you then have access to the golden sands and blue Indian Ocean.

Food was of a high standard with breakfast serving fresh fruit and normal Continental fair with some hot options if you like. The lunch menu is good choice including a yummy club sandwich with great chips, and and can be delivered with a smile to your sun bed!

The evening meal is a set four course meal. At 3pm daily you can see the menu on the board which is unsurprisingly heavily weighted with fresh sea food, if this is not your bag the staff were more than happy for you to change your choice (just let them know by 6pm).

A few tips regarding this lovely hotel:
*There are no british plug sockets - only two pin european ones.
*Do you get hassled outside of the hotel? in all honesty we certainly didn't, When you walk along the beach in either direction and there are a few people selling you pictures etc, they will great you with a smile and a friendly Jambo (hello) and if you say no thank you they will smile and wish you a happy day.
*The beach is very shallow, so when it's low tide the sea retreats a fair old distance leaving the locals to harvest algea in the many pools left behind. If you are going to walk out bring some water shoes as although not a problem near the beach the further you go the more sea urchins you will find - you do not want to tread on those spikes.
* As we were not on malaria tablets we were paranoid about mozzys - wore long trousers, shirts and socks every night - we didn't see one mozzy!
* You will not see a sunset on this side of the island - so we went up the coast for dinner to Nungwi where there are beautiful beaches and had a lovely dinner and watched the sun go down.
* Turn left to walk along the beach and you will see very few hotels and the real Zanzibar ie poverty and beautiful beaches littered with Indian ocean rubbish. (such a shame)
* Turn right to walk along the beach to see less rubbish - lots of shops (Ikea Zanzibar included) and many big hotels

The hotel will organise trips for you with no problems and all prices within the hotel are set in Euros, though we took Dollars without any problems whatsoever. We went snorkeling with the local guys organised by the hotel - it was great and lovely to be a bit more "rustic" rather than organised tour american styley!

Bring everything you need with you, there is not a huge selection of shops nearby (ie just one) , so if you run out of sun cream or after sun you wont be able to nip outside and put your hands on it straight away.

Finally we used the Kite surfing place just to the right of the hotel - they were great. Also the pizzas there were GREAT and affordable - we defo. recommend a pizza for lunch one day!

I feel I have to put one negative in to add some balance to this review and have struggled to be honest, so here goes, the tiles in the pools need repairing as quite a few have fallen off (this really is the most minor of grips).

So in summery without doubt this hotel is a real find in a perfect location with amazing facilities and we have no reservations on giving this hotel five stars. The staff deserve as many stars as possible and are the best bit of this place without doubt.

Room Tip: The beach bungalows that everyone raves about are beautiful - but if you can't afford them don...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LondonLucyLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My partner and I stayed here last October after having 4 days on safari in Kenya. Our trip was arranged my Mike Sweeney from http://www.zanzibarholidays.co.uk/ who was very helpful with every aspect of our holiday and we'd recommend him if your planning a tailor made holiday to Zanzibar / and or Safari..

We chose next paradise based upon the reviews we'd already read and wanted good food. In this respect Next Paradise didn't disappoint. the food was of a very high standard, and I personally never strayed from the set menu each day (although you could if you wanted to change any item of it). All the food was fresh and expertly prepared and presented. We ate fresh fish everyday.. which was just superb.

All the staff are very friendly giving the resort a homely kind of feel.. although that said we did notice that most guests kept themselves to themselves. If this isn't your cup of tea I'd suggest booking with friends!

The beach area is lovely, and the sea (when the tide is in) was refreshing.. the tide does go VERY far out.. but there are plenty of rock pools or the resort pools to dip in when this is the case.

The area is very isolated (we knew this prior to visiting) so for those of you who enjoy night life and lots of things to see out and about be prepared to travel for it! But for a romantic get away.. in an idyllic location we couldn't have chosen better.

Everything is as it should be, clean and tidy.. and pretty much as previously reviewed.

Our only comment/negative point would be the price of the water. It is simply over priced. Our tip would be to walk onto the beach, turn to the left about 100 yards to a small "village" shop/store. There you will find two stores both selling bottled water (the same type as the hotel) in both small and large bottles where 6 large bottles can be purchased for the price of one in the hotel! Soft drinks are also available here as are a few snacks etc.

With this one negative aside we'd definitely have no issues recommending Next Paradise to anyone who enjoys a relaxing holiday away from the hustle and bustle of life.. with good food in a stunning location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jazuk1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pwani Mchangani
13.7 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
500 reviews
2.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,596 reviews
14.6 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.9 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,635 reviews
3.3 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Next Paradise Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Next Paradise Boutique Resort

Address: Plot 88, Pwani Mchangani 3363, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range: £140 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Next Paradise Boutique Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Next Paradise Boutique Resort sits on one of the most beautiful white sandy beaches of Zanzibar, facing directly the Indian Ocean and protected by the coral reef which is about one kilometer away.located only 45 minutes drive from Stone Town and 30 minutes from Nungwi and Kendwua, (the beaches of north) it is perfect place to organize excursions, spice tours, swim with dolphins, big game fishing, kite surfing , diving and snorkeling to Mnemba atoll. The charming small hotel is well known because of its sober elegance, the excellent food and especially for its intimate and quiet atmosphere. At Next Paradise you will find 16 fully furnished rooms all provided with air conditioning and sea view private verandahs. Our staff is always happy to offer individual attention to every single guest of the hotel. Whether you're looking to book your honeymoon or need inspiration for a romantic getaway, we have special offers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Next Paradise Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Next Paradise Boutique Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Next Paradise Boutique Resort Zanzibar Island/Pwani Mchangani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing