We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Zanzibar!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Neptune Pwani as part of my 50th birthday celebrations. We had taken a while to choose our hotel and were very pleased that we had decided on this one. The location is stunning and because we had booked a seaside room, we had an excellent view of the sea and beach. The room was spacious and was kept really clean by cleaning staff. The balcony was also large and it was nice to sit out early morning/late afternoon.
The staff were fantastic especially the bar and restaurant staff - very well trained and polite and friendly. Food delicious and plenty of variety. Swimming pool great and sand soft and white. Sea warm like a bath - fascinating to watch local ladies harvesting seaweed and hanging it out to dry. Beach boys amusing and I enjoyed haggling with them. Mosquitos not a problem - virtually non existent during our stay. Went on a boat ride, to spice plantation, Stone Town and walked to local village and school. Comes highly recommended and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a seaside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Sian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (939)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 939 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2011

the staff were fantastic, hotel very clean. I would recommend using the tours from the hotel. We found the guides to be knowledgeable. We had friends who used the less formal tours and had a terrible experience. I would recommend this resort to anybody looking for a relaxing family holiday. Food was good and very tasty.

Room Tip: all rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Lovely beach and location. Visited other hotels and this one the best. Beach boys not a problem at all. More than enough beach chairs and shade. Huge swimming poole. We also enjoyed the ocean, especially high tide. Rooms are comfortable and well decorated. Seaside rooms the best. All meals enjoyable. Plenty of variety on all inclusive beverage menu. Spa nice but no excellent. Gardens lovely an kept to the perfection. Beach swept every day. Didn't like stone town, rather enjoy every minute at resort. Staff friendly. Check in didn't even take 5 minutes. Overall LOVELY!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank hannelie011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This hotel is in every way superbe, very friendly personel. Very clean rooms, and surroundings.
Especially Flora was very polite and helpful. Also the men who gave us the beachchairs and things, where very helpful.
We recommend this hotel to all the travellers who are going to Zanzibar.

Room Tip: Rooms that are on the high side of the hotel, are too far away from the beach.... ofcourse .. when y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kolkdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We went for our honeymoon, only had 4 days due to business related constraints, but it was well worth it! I will start with warning you to take your mosquito repellent; it is not a requirement, but an absolute necessity.

From the moment you arrive until the moment you leave, you are greeted with a friendly face and eager "Jambo!" The staff are entirely geared towards keeping guests happy and providing them with whatever they require. They will go the proverbial "country mile" to ensure you are happy!

The resort is kept in impeccable condition, you will often awake to see the gardens being manicured to perfection, the beach sand raked in patterns and the lounging chairs on the beach being wiped and the pillows prepared to precision. Whether you are going to spend the day in the sun, by the pool or in your room, a friendly assistant is always close at hand.

Full board option allows you all the amenities and luxuries of the resort, definitely an option to consider. Treat yourself to at least one “Jambo-Jambo” (a local cocktail), it is just what the doctor ordered for the sun!

If any, the “beach boys” do get a bit annoying at the best of times; word of advice, buy whatever they are selling from one (but barter to at least 50% of the original price), something like the carved name boards or key holders, and the rest leave you as soon as they see you have already supported their fellow entrepreneurs.

The water in the lagoon is warm, rather cool off in the pool as you will be closer to the bar, but do explore the lagoon and treat yourself by bringing a pair of flippers and goggles. The lagoon isn’t very deep, I’d say 4-5 feet when the tide is out, but the visibility is in excess of 30 feet! A pair of booties for the coral is a definite!

We did the spice tour and the Stone Town tour in one day. The friendly Zantour representative at the hotel (Asia) arranged it for us. Our tour guide Atom was everything you could wish for. We are both avid photographers and he prepared us before we went anywhere by explaining where and when we could take photo’s as this is a tender matter for the locals. Some even require an upfront $2 fee for a photograph!

Prepare yourself with lots of mosquito repellent before you go to the spice tours and do not expect to see any form of mechanisation in the spice tour. You will be taken on a walk-about through the forest where the various spices are grown and be given the opportunity to taste and smell all of the spices. The butterfly-man and fruit tasting after the spice tour is a welcome surprise and really amazing! I will discuss Stone Town in another review.

Creature comforts at the resort are anything and everything you need, for a resting and relaxing stay. Take all your usual toys (camera, Nook, Kindle, Laptop) with as you will use them at some time or the other. You can simply leave the equipment at your lounger on the beach while taking a walk through the lagoon, it’s pretty much as safe as houses as there are always waiters taking drinks to other sunbathers and there are security guards ensuring that the beach boys do not enter the resorts’ property.

Will we go back? It’s a question of when, not if!

Room Tip: Insist on the seaside rooms, save yourself a good amount of stairs; all the rooms have seaviews, bew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Terrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Just returned from a great 10 days here
Had a first floor room with sea view people lovely the grounds are beautiful
Food very good, drinks all included in deal
Mosquitoes are a problem so take plenty of sprays. Zanzibar airport is interesting and an experience. Sellers on the beach are not a problem as the guards are always there
A beautiful place,

Room Tip: Ask for lower level rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Steven58norwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This was our honeymoon beach hotel - so after 5 days of Safari in Kenya we flew to Zanzibar for a chill out and relax!

Our journey was a long one from Kenya, we picked up at 7:30am to drive back to Nairobi from Masa Mara, which took about 6 hours - and then we stayed in the Somak Lounge (our tour operators were Somak Travel) for a lunch and waited for the transfer - our transfer was abour 4pm for a 6:30 flight. The Flight was Precision Air and they are apparently known to be delayed!!! We headed to Zanzibar about 7ish, got there at 9pm and then our driver met us at the Airport. Be wary - people are waiting to 'help' with your bags and it can get a bit hectic!!! (also - i was amused that there wasnt a carosel to get your bags from, just a hatch and a man putting the bags on a table.....basic is the best description for the airport!!!)

It was still super hot in the evening so our lovely air con minibus to take us to resort was nice - we arrived about 45 mins later as the hotel is on the east side of the island. Its dark early so we could only make out the townships as we drove through and our driver advised us to not go out after sunset as it wasnt very safe. We had no intention of leaving our complex anyway!

We checked in - very smooth, and our bags were taken to our room which was a seaside room (number 456) close to the pools, and the snack bar! yumyum!

The hotel had kept a meal for us and we popped tot he restaurant - this was a nice touch as it was 10pm now and everything was closed and as you can imagine we were TIRED! (7:30am to 10pm is a long trip!)

Next day we looked around the grounds and it was lovely! a beautiful place, two large pool areas, snack bars, swim up bars, beach area (will come back to that!)

Room was nice - we had a large balcony, a bed with mozzie nets, large bathroom - with shower gels, hairdryer and lots of towels! and enough storage/cupboard space. Plugs are UK plugs although be warned - this hotel seemed to have a lot of powercuts!!!! most evenings there were 4 or 5 powercuts! Rooms have a TV with many english speaking channels. Mini fridge as well with pop and water - replenished each day.

Food - nice variety - we visited the Seafood restaurant as well as the hotel gave us a Honeymooners voucher, as honeymooners we also had a fruit platter, a certificate!!!?? and a bottle of bubbly which was a nice touch - but didnt turn up for 4 days! Better late than never!

We also went to the Pizza restaurant - which was a nice change from buffet, although the choice wasnt limited in the buffet! Frsh cooked items each meal, as well as soups, breads, cakes (yum!) and main meal choices. The waitresses/waiters work very hard here and seem to be working all day long!

We didnt visit the spa - it seemed quite reasonable in price though.

We didnt do any trips - too tired from Safari. The beach sellers on the beach want you to buy trips from them and are quite pushy. If you dont like them you can still relax on the beach, as there is a 'barrier' that they dont cross - which is due to the hotel guards. We went into the sea on our last day and got a bit annoyed by them - one asked my Husband that if he wasnt buying a trip (cos we were going home that day) if he could have his football shirt!? Er no. I will keep that for myself thanks! The beach also has low and high tides, and these are detailed at the towel hut!

Overall, i did love our honeymoon - it was lovely - the weather was amazing and the people are very friendly (JAMBO!) I think its a lovely 4 star accomodation but would not return again as i have so much more of the world to explore!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Elle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pwani Mchangani
1.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,760 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,836 reviews
13.5 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 174 in Zanzibar Island
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.8 mi away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 5 in Kizimkazi
1,110 reviews
27 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
13.7 mi away
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 3400, Pwani Mchangani 3400, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range: £240 - £411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and spacious, Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa is an ideal choice for guests in search of a retreat that offers the "special touch", matched with attention to the finest of details. The Resort has been meticulously created, emulating traditional Zanzibar style, using the best in local design, interiors and furnishing, meeting top international standards. The Resort features 150 rooms all with terrace and ocean view, situated in 2 level blocks and 4 individual beachfront suites with in-room Jacuzzi. Facilities include 3 restaurants, 2 bars, the Rain & Earth Spa, the Spherique Boutique, conference room and facilities and a water sports centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandies Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Neptune Pwani Beach Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island/Pwani Mchangani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing