We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will come back again for sure!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Good hotel, good service and good value for money!many water sports to choose from and a lot of activities for kids!and if u want to rejuvinate then theres a spa too!!!breakfast is also good and a variety to choose from ! Overall a good experience so far! Still one more day, lets hope it will be as good as yesterday or even better!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nashu99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 926 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

My partner and myself and our parents have just returned form a 7 day stay at the resort. We stayed in the higher Villas - which some people had expressed concern at the steep walk - but we found no issues with these. The food and staff were fantastic and the stay was good. he nightly entertainment was possibly the one weakness and the spa we never even tried to attend due to the very high prices. Would certainly recommend this highly !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We travelled to Zanzibar in early July and chose this resort as it was well recommended by Trip Advisor. What a disappointment it turned out to be. The position of the hotel, its gardens and the beach are beautiful but that's about all. We stayed in seaside rooms, and honestly they were the most uncomfortable rooms we have ever stayed in. The beds, pillows, chairs were all rock hard, there was no where comfortable to relax on. We had no plugs for the basins and when asked where they were, the management informed us they had to be requested!!! We had no hot water for 4 nights eventually it was only when we became rude that they attended to the problem, not what you expect from a 4 Star resort. The food is less than mediocre. The buffet looks attractive but the taste is bland and unexciting. The snack bar consists of soggy white bread sandwiches or pastries, that's it, no fruit or anything healthy. The a la carte restaurant serves well but since it is at an additional charge people don't eat there, we only ate there as the resort offered it to us to compensate for the hot water situation. The resort is in a malaria area, our previous experiences throughout Africa, is that the resort always supplies at least insect repellent, none was provided for in the rooms but was available to purchase at the store for an inflated price. Generally the resort is run down and needs attention, the wooden floors and furnishings are tired and old looking, in fact the beach loungers where so wobbly its a miracle they hold you. All in all a disappointing resort, would not recommend it to anyone, there are so many better choices in Zanzibar.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AMSKJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The hotel lies one hour from Stonetown and the airport which is basically on the other side of the island. The wifi is not included which seems pointless as it is an all inclusive hotel. The rooms are very spacious and well laid out with a safe, kettle, tv, free minibar (only a few bottles of soft drinks) and a large cupboard. The room standard goes in order of SEAVIEW, SEASIDE then POOLSIDE however the SEAVIEW rooms are not really sea view and are quite a long way from the beach. The sea side rooms are also not seaside but have a limited view of the sea. The best rooms are the pool side rooms which are directly by the beach, to be honest the naming system needs revising as it is very misleading. As our stay progressed we found that more and more things were not included in our ALL INCLUSIVE package such as recreational games in which they make you pay $1 per hour for a frisbee!!! Pointless right? The buffet is very good and there is lots of food to choose from. Most of the staff seem happy however you do come across the odd few who are not willing to help or seem lazy. The staff at the water sports centre are not helpful at all and are very uninviting for you to pay 22$ for a sailing boat for an hour. The public beach and sea has a lot of seaweed in it which is a bit annoying when you go for a dip in the sea but on the hotels private beach all is good. The pool is very nice and large. We found that during our stay the resort was empty and hardly anyone used the pool. The animation team were quite good however some get too competitive during sports like volleyball as one was on the verge of shouting at me when I hit the ball out. All in all the hotel is very good and makes for a relaxing holiday.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Guppy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Lovely hotel in a great location. Huge rooms, clean and tidy. The unlimited package is well worth it. Selection of food and drinks is huge. Service is good with most staff smiling and helpful. Good range of free activities for those that want to be active. The spa aw good value on their special packages (a bit overpriced if you paid full price items). Business centre is useless so bring your own iPad etc and be prepared to pay for Internet. The beach boys can be a bit annoying but there are plenty of guards who keep them well outside the hotel area.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the lower rooms closer to the beach. Being up the bill has great views. It further to w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My husband and I and 2 other couples recently stayed at this hotel. On arrival we were given drinks and then shown to our beautiful sea-view rooms which were clean and comfortable. We had a problem with water coming through the bathroom ceiling on the first evening, but this was dealt with promptly by the maintenance staff and housekeeping. During our week all the meals were superb. There was enough choice at each meal at the buffet without being overwhelming, plus having the option of the pool snack bar meant that we felt we had a change of scenery for lunches at times. We also had a very good meal at the pizzeria one evening. There was enough choice of all-inclusive drinks, including bottles of water that were readily available, much needed during the hot days. Some of the entertainment in the evenings wasn't quite up to the standard we would have expected, but being in a group of 6 meant that we were often sitting and chatting amongst ourselves over cocktails anyway so we didn't have to watch it if we didn't want to. There wasn't much to do during our stay except relax but we did join the village and beach walks organised by the hotel, both of which were interesting and gave us more of an insight into the local culture. My sister and I used the Mvua Spa for one of their massage and facial packages. We both felt that it seemed to be rather underused, which was a shame as we enjoyed our afternoon being pampered. My husband and I went for walks and paddles out to the sandbank in front of the hotel quite a few times. There are lots of beach-boys and sales people on the beach and at times it felt as though they could pester you a bit, but as long as you are polite but firm they won't bother you too much. The security guards keep them from coming into the hotel area. All in all we had a fantastic week and the only real negative was that we had to leave and come home.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MerylKendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Overall
A resort that certainly deserves its four stars. Positives; lots of them. Beautiful resort, built with respect for local environment, culture and style. The place is spotlessly clean. Staff is hard-working, very friendly and helpful. Wherever we were on the beach, far from or close to the bar, the waiters knew how to find us and bring us drinks. Wether we had tipped them or not ;) I read some complaints about the beds: yes, the beds are a bit hard. Nothing out of the ordinary though. There's coffee, tea, water and even a minibar free of charge if you're on all inclusive. Our room (at the back of the resort) was a four to five minute walk from the restaurant or beach, and we had to climb a few stairs. I am not particularly fond of walking, but I never ever minded the trip whenever I forgot something at the beach. In such a beautiful environment, being spoilt 24/7, who would complain about an effort like this? We still had a beautiful (sea)view from our balcony. Our airco was pretty silent by the way.

Food is definitely GOOD! I have been to quite a few resorts and the chef here knows his job. Tasteful, and enough choice for everyone. The only improvement they could make is offer more variety at breakfast. They have various types of great bread and rolls during dinner and lunch, but at breakfast it is very limited. Having said that, the waffles, omelettes and pancakes were wonderful. But after a week it can get a little repetitive. Breakfast times are 7.00 to 9.30. A little early for me. If you miss out on it, get yourself a (basic) snack at the restaurant/bar near the mainpool. By the way: capuccino is also part of the all-inclusive progamme. That is not something you come across often. The cocktails (and there are loads of them on the list) are great, and they spirits they use are of a decent quality (and quantity, mind you). The beers are really good too, served in half litre bottles :)

Swimming pools (2) are huge and kept perfectly clean. There were enough beach chairs available around the pools and on the beach, of course you won't get your favourite spot if you wake up at 11. The Indian Ocean is beautiful and clean. Both low and high tide have their own merit. We loved swimming. Tip: especially at low tide, or when you go for a walk in the direction of the sandbank (Trying to get rid of any "guides"), watch out for the occasional sea urchin or wear some kind of watershoes.

Trips and beach vendors
The "beach boys" are shamelessly staring, waving and shouting at you until you talked to them. It can really get annoying if you find great chairs that have a magnificent overlook of the Indian Ocean, and three people stand right in front of you, asking you questions and showing you their merchandise even if you repeat telling them you're not interested. However! Once we booked a trip with one of the boys in yellow (80 dollars for the Safari Blue, a copy of the official thing though! Trip was great, although the guide looked like he was on some kind of substance and his English was incomprehensible. However, all the fantastic views, the thoroughly enjoyable boatride on a "dhow" and seafood BBQ needed little explenation to be worth the money spent. Tip: We very much got the impression that 70 dollars is also a price they would accept!), and my girlfriend bought a t-shirt from one of the vendors the "word spread" and we were more and more left in peace. By the way, the locals refer to the beachboys with a word that is the equivalent of the English word "tick". Not far from the truth.

Some tips
By the way, if you'd like a great refreshing drink at the beach (all inlusive), take the fruit punch. No alcohol but lots of taste. And another tip: if you are planning on using WIFI, and you stay two weeks like we did, then you take the "one week " offer for 20 dollars. Remember that it isn't just one week, it is actually 7x24 hours of internet usage. If you remember to logout after using the internet (you have to type 1.1.1.1/info in your browser and log out. Just switching off WIFI doesn't stop the "countdown"). You'll have more than enough online time for two weeks!

Hope this is of use to other people. We had a great holiday, and we recommend this resort to everyone!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michieldc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pwani Mchangani
1.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,708 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,785 reviews
13.5 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
667 reviews
33.8 mi away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 5 in Kizimkazi
1,077 reviews
27 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 3400, Pwani Mchangani 3400, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range: £245 - £416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and spacious, Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa is an ideal choice for guests in search of a retreat that offers the "special touch", matched with attention to the finest of details. The Resort has been meticulously created, emulating traditional Zanzibar style, using the best in local design, interiors and furnishing, meeting top international standards. The Resort features 150 rooms all with terrace and ocean view, situated in 2 level blocks and 4 individual beachfront suites with in-room Jacuzzi. Facilities include 3 restaurants, 2 bars, the Rain & Earth Spa, the Spherique Boutique, conference room and facilities and a water sports centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandies Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Neptune Pwani Beach Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island/Pwani Mchangani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing