We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class treat in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Unforgetable breakaway, Resort is managed very well which in turn benefits guests. staff are friendly ,professional and very caring when it comes to making the family welcome.
Full board is great ,and open bar ,cocktails,snacks all day make for a real treat.
Beach is fantastic,Nice clean sandbank for wading and collecting shells.
Beach hawkers, mainly Masai boys are actually great fun .Great paintings on offer for bargain prices.
Rooms clean and gardens very special,Dont miss a walk around ,Property must be approx 20 hectares.Swimming pools fantastic and spotless.
Wiill most probably spend time at this resort again.
Phillip,Gail, Robin and Jessica.Cape Town.South Africa

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (937)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 937 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

Just got back from Sandies Neptune Pwani beach. 7 nights from 24 Sept to 1 Oct. We were absolutely delighted when we arrived and it only got better. The rooms and bathrooms are lovely, well furnished and very spacious. The entire resort was spotlessly clean. The service could not be faulted. The resort is asolutely beautiful. The gardens were absolutely gorgeous. The pool was magnificent and the beach was beautiful (wish I was still there). The beach is lined with beautiful palms which give plenty of shade if you need it and plenty of sun if you don't. There is a coral reef at this resort far out to sea which means the sea was fantastic although quite shallow. No current and no waves. There are a lot of steps up to some of the rooms so if you are frail, then ask to not go into these rooms but I am not a youngster and had no problem with them whatsoever. The food was very good and quite a few choices. I do not understand why someone said this was not a place for honeymooners as we met a few there and they were very very happy. There were not too many children around and those that were, were well supervised and were no problem at all. Maybe end September is just the right time to go. I was concerned about the beach hawkers who pounced on us the day we arrived. However, once we got chatting to them, they were all really good fun and quite happy and were not a problem at all. The tours from the resort were quite expensive but were well enjoyed in spite of this. the spa is horrifically expensive at US$100 a massage. The beach ladies have set up a massage "hut" on the beach within the African shops and I went there. It was spotlessly clean, beautifully put together and I had one of the best massages I have ever had for US$20 so I can really recommend this. All in all, we did not want to leave, wish we were still there in that beautiful place and are already planning another trip back there next year. As beach holidays go, this was one of the best ever and was very reasonably priced for what we got. I cannot recommend this resort highly enough and would like to thank the management and staff there for ensuring our holiday was absolutely perfect. I could not fault anything (except maybe the pizza restaurant which I will not bother with again).

Room Tip: The resort was quite busy so we were put in rooms right at the back up a staircase over a coral reef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie532013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My husband and i stayed at the Neptune for 2 nights in 28th & 29th September. It was unbelievably enjoying.Upon our arrival we we had this warm welcome form Virginia who addresses us by our names and that felt really nice.The food was amazing because we haven't felt the homely experience in other Resorts.The food was so delicious, tasty and to the mark(Chicken, fish, the rice was so aromatic). At the bar we enjoyed the special Fruit shake by these two amazing guys( Juma & Hassan) Wow it was great,we infact had 3 glasses each and before we left my husband said we would not leave without having a glass each.The rooms are lovely, simple and so African and that made us feel like home the moment we arrived.. Amazing...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amna-Omy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Standard all in resort in terms of the way it is run, clientele, food, drinks, rooms.
What sets it apart are the grounds, the makuti roofs of the rooms and their terraces, the low density of guests, all round friendly service and especially the beach.
Many strips of sand can practically disappear at high tide, but Sandies leaves a swathe to enjoy the breakers at high tide and the local beach life at low tide, which gives you the opportunity to wander far out in the company of the seaweed farmers and rockpool combers looking for shellfish, starfish... take a stroll.
True, some of the beach lads can be a bit persistent, but all are polite and respectful and form part of a scene, which gives visitors a glimpse of how, despite the existence of several tourist complexes, the locals, young and old, men and women carry on about their daily lives.
Although buffet food was good, for those staying longer, a lack of AI options other than the silent pizzeria meant the hotel came up short given what Sandies charge.

Room Tip: Nearer the beach is more expensive, but ideally not too near the restaurant area if you plan to go t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffwellard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Excellent resort, great set up and luxury gardens surround the rooms. Very friendly staff, great service, great food and drinks cocktails.
A resort with a view, lovely rooms very charmingly decorated, you feel like home the moment you arrive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernst v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Neptunes was the second hotel during our 11 night Zanzibar holiday and we were not disappointed.
The rooms are clean, the food is decent and the service is good.
The free wifi is very handy! The hotel grounds are absolutely stunning!!!! You wont see a stray leaf or fallen flower anywhere! The gardeners must be the hardest working people at Neptunes! i highly recommend going out of season - because you can still pay for the cheaper rooms but stay fairly close to the beach. This resort has waaaaayy to many stairs - unless you enjoy exercise then don't be fooled by other people saying "its not that far" - IT IS!!!!!!
This is NOT a honeymoon destination - we met a few honeymoon couples that said that they were encouraged by their travel agent to stay here. This is a family resort - they have a childrens club! Out of season there is definitely less children, so honeymooners can enjoy themselves. But during peak season there will be children running everywhere.
I recommend Neptunes - they definitely know what they are doing! If I had known that their sister lodge down the beach was going to be so terribly disappointing I would have extended my stay here - DO NOT STAY AT SANDIES MAPENZI BEACH!!!!! it is the worst hotel on Zanzibar! Stay at Neptunes and enjoy yourself!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren5252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Had a fantastic 8 night stay at Neptune Pwani beach, really enjoyed it there & sad to leave.
The main restaurant was buffet style but the food was excellent, very enjoyable, I couldn't fault it, lots of different things. This is where the main entertainment was of a night, some of the stuff wasn't so great but it was entertaining none the less.
My most memorable thing was dancing under African skies to local musicians, that will stay with me till the day I die.
There are 2 pools at this hotel & a nice big sandy beach. Once you go beyond the small wall at the front of the beach you can get some approaches from the locals with regards to going on trips or buying stuff but its not too much of a worry, they're friendly & just trying to make a living and they won't hassle yet if you just say no thanks & shake your head, hakanu matata !
The staff were excellent, their smile lights up the room, they were always working, sweeping the beaches & making everything clean & tidy plus they were always happy & nothing was too much bother for them, they made this holiday better, no doubt about it.
I have absolutely no worries in recommending this hotel, very happy times here.
Best regards to those at Neptune Pwani.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 353. A view of the Ocean & a short stroll to the restaurant & main bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deano23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pwani Mchangani
1.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,751 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,825 reviews
13.5 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 174 in Zanzibar Island
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.8 mi away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 5 in Kizimkazi
1,109 reviews
27 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
13.7 mi away
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 3400, Pwani Mchangani 3400, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range: £238 - £409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and spacious, Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa is an ideal choice for guests in search of a retreat that offers the "special touch", matched with attention to the finest of details. The Resort has been meticulously created, emulating traditional Zanzibar style, using the best in local design, interiors and furnishing, meeting top international standards. The Resort features 150 rooms all with terrace and ocean view, situated in 2 level blocks and 4 individual beachfront suites with in-room Jacuzzi. Facilities include 3 restaurants, 2 bars, the Rain & Earth Spa, the Spherique Boutique, conference room and facilities and a water sports centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandies Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Neptune Pwani Beach Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island/Pwani Mchangani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing