We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“English Country side at it's finest!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The olde Laundry

The old laundry lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The old laundry lounge
The olde Laundry retains some of its old features
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
The old laundry lounge
The olde Laundry retains some of its old features
The olde Laundry Bedroom with twin beds
springtime down by the river
The olde laundry on ground level.
The Laundry and Hayloft share the patio outside the cottages, also over 2 acres of garden,woodland.
The outside staircase leads to The Hayloft , The olde laundry is below on ground level
sit out and BBQ under the gazebo
The olde Laundry Bedroom with en-suite walk in shower, bath,washbasin and wc
The olde Laundry Lounge Dining room.
The olde Laundry Lounge Dining room
The olde Laundry, once the village Laundry, now a cosy cottage for 2
The Olde Laundry well equipped Kitchen
The olde Laundry Kitchen
walk down to the river through the woodland
springtime in the garden
a wonderful display of daffodils cover over 2 acres of garden and woodland in spring
swans return with there young, in June
winter walk across the valley
bluebell time in the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Brockdish, Diss, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John H
1 review
“English Country side at it's finest!”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We loved it! Don't let the front of the house fool you, once you drive through the gates, your are taken to a beautiful country retreat. Plants and flowers adorn the drive way and yard. The cottage is beautifully maintained and fully equipped with everything you need for a pleasant stay. Simply lovely! To top off the visit we took a stroll along the path down to the river and were greeted by a group of swans!! What a treat!

John and Jackie are wonderful hosts and such nice people! A must stay if traveling to or through the Diss area!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbaker47
Uggeshall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Look beyond the front!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Lovely accommodation. Quiet, secluded once you enter through the gates of the property, with 2 acres of garden and the River Waveney waiting for you to fish! Abundance of wild life and a bird watching paradise. Owners Jackie & John are on site but not obtrusive and will answer any questions and fill you in on the history of this characterful property. Nice walks also close to hand with Harleston only about 5 minutes drive away with local shops , petrol etc. Diss and Beccles also near. I would certainly return as you can relax and unwind.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quietness but still close to Diss, Harleston and Beccles.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The grounds and the solitude, but not too far away from local towns.
Liked least: Having to leave the place! Seriously, cannot think of any negatives.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
soola1
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charming wee cottage”
Reviewed 12 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This wee cottage was lovely. The twin beds are very comfortable, we were greeted by scones and jam and a bottle of wine when we arrived, and found the owners very friendly. The only criticism we have is that there is virtually no hot water pressure if you wish to use the plastic shower attachment, which made hairwashing for the disabled member of the party impossible. It was only a small thing, and did not spoil an otherwise very good stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the setting of the property
Liked least: the low hotwater pressure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay in the old laundry,
all our other cottages have recently had new bathrooms
with electric showers, we have arranged for The olde laundry
to have a new wet room fitted this winter, and hope this will make
things a lot easier for our guests, especially our disabled visitors.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travellin...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A pleasent stay at a charming Cottage.”
Reviewed 4 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our stay. Particularly the warm welcome we received from Jackie and John and the "goodies" in the fridge to allow us to settle in without having to go out the the local supermarket immediately on arrival. This was a thoughtful gesture and typical of our hosts. The cottage is charming and had everything we needed. The car parking was very secure which is important to me. The grounds are extensive and the tour John gave us was informative. It was nice to see the large fish swimming about in the river at the end of the property. We came for a family wedding and stayed for a week: we would use the Olde Laundry again. 

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefulness
Liked least: WiFi was not always available
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluebirdG...
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“It doesn't get any better than this”
Reviewed 1 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We have had yet another wonderful holiday in this lovely cottage set in these beautiful tranquil surroundings. The Olde Laundry was, as always, superbly clean, comfortable and well equipped. John and Jackie give you such a warm and friendly welcome, that you start to relax from the moment you arrive. We are just sorry that our holiday is over for now, but are very happy knowing that we are returning again very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian L
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unbeatable”
Reviewed 19 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We have been coming to The Olde Laundry every year for the past 10 years or so. It is furnished, decorated and equipped to the highest standard. John & Jackie are the perfect owners/hosts. On arrival: a bottle of wine and a bottle of milk in the fridge and a yummy cake on the table. Ideally situated close to the market town of Diss. Norwich, Bury St Edmunds and Ipswsich are 20 miles away. The coastal resort of Southwold is about an hour's drive and is a lovely unspoilt Victorian resort. If there is a better place than the Olde Laundry, we have yet to find it! You won't find a single negative comment in the Visitors Book. There are 3 other cottages in the same place where we have stayed with friends from Romania and Germany.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: The location and the ambience of the cottage
Liked least: I've yet to find anything
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing