We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place to really relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Santa Clara
Toronto
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A place to really relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Just returned from a week at this resort and the overall consensus from 8 of us was that we had a great time. It is not grand, palatial. It has fewer rooms than most all inclusives, but that lends to its charm. Here are the positive aspects of the resort, in no particular order.
The grounds are beautiful. The staff maintains the gardens and pools very well. There was some maintenance going on while we were there (drilling the the patio) and it was noisy but it did not disrupt our stay.
The buffet food is actually quite good -- for an all-inclusive resort. There is sufficient choice, fresh fruit, and varying options to suit many diets. We are fairly picky and choose healthy foods over 'fast food' choices. One of our group is actually doing her masters in nutritional sciences and she was pleased with the options of the buffet.
The staff is amazing. From Santiago to Aura to Hugo to all of the many others -- they work hard at serving you and making your holiday memorable.
The beach is beautiful -- not crowded and currently not lined with unending resorts. There is a remoteness to the area that we liked. The jellyfish circle the area and a few of us were stung, but one cannot really blame the Sheraton for this.
The weather is sublime. This Pacific location enjoys hot dry weather from Dec. to June. We were there for Christmas and the sun greeted us every day.
The alcohol is good quality and, as one would expect, plentiful. We loved the small bar in the main lobby, but we would have loved it more if it was open at 0800 for cappuccinos, instead of 0900.
As far as areas that we felt need improvement: We all thought the restaurants could be improved. The food that we ordered was often not served hot in all restaurants except the Japanese. The steakhouse (not open all of the time) had inconsistent quality -- steak was tough, ribs were few (two), water for tea and coffee tepid, dessert options were lacking flavour. The Mediterranean restaurant had a fabulous salad bar selection but items were literally drenched in oil (presumably olive).
The entertainment could stand a revamp. Starting with the monotonous thumping poolside music, we feel that the music selection could be much broader and yet still appeal to many tastes. The only entertainment that we were really impressed with was the guitar and bongo duo -- they had talent -- and the piano player, very talented, but (getting critical here) his chord flourishes tended to make songs unrecognizable and sometimes we just wanted to hear the melody come through.
The rooms, already acknowledged by management in tripadvisor responses, are looking tired. They have everything you need, but a facelift would certainly improve them. We were not sure why there was a mini fridge when they were not stocked. Stocking it with a few beers and pops, along with the 2 daily bottles of water would be a plus.
Activities offered/included at the resort were minimal. We spent our we playing beach volleyball, tennis and cards. The slower pace meant that most of us read a few books. Our group consisted of 6 in their twenties and two in their fifties.
Some people have stated that lack of English among staff is a problem. The only time we experienced it was when we had a private beach dinner with two servers who had trouble understanding us and vice versa. But normally, as well seasoned travellers, we embrace the language barrier and use it as an opportunity to learn.

Our overall impression is that Panama is a country we'd like to return to. The Bijao offers a reasonably priced holiday, food to satisfy many tastes and great weather to ensure you relax.

Room Tip: Closer to the beach is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EMPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolando N, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Ms/Mr EMPP

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion in our Trip Advisor portal. At Sheraton Bijao, we take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. We are actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable.

We are glad you and your group enjoyed your stay and had a great time in our property. Also, thank you for all your suggestions; we will forward them to our different Departments in order to take appropriate solutions to what you have mentioned.

We deeply value your relationship with Sheraton Bijao and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best. We hope to see you soon!

If you have any further comments please feel free to discuss them with us.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    558
    333
    143
    111
See reviews for
514
605
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Absolutely terrible service. Rooms are hardly luxurious. They left my floor wet after the cleaning service came in which not only made the floor dirtier when I came in but almost caused me to slip.

Nothing fun to do in the area. Food is mediocre. Even the surrounding hotels had nothing special as we tried numerous times to find an alternate place to stay.

As I write this review the housekeeping staff entered ,mopped the floor, and left with it soaked. Ridiculous.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Blork600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolando N, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Mr/Ms Blork600

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion in our Trip Advisor portal. At Sheraton Bijao, we take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. We are actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable.

Our Housekeeping and Food and Beverage Department are aware of your comments and have taken steps to ensure appropriate solutions to what you have mentioned. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniencies you experienced.

We deeply value your relationship with Sheraton Bijao and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best.

If you have any further comments please feel free to discuss them with us.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Clara hotels

South America
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

This hotel touts that it is a 5 star hotel. IT IS NOT!!! We had mold all over our room and we never had enough towels for the 4 of us to shower. They "upgraded" our room to a room with a balcony, but the view was obstructed and although the room I paid for did not have a balcony it had a full beautiful view of the ocean with floor to ceiling windows that opened. The service was nearly non-existent. I called to the front desk to make a dinner reservation and they told me I had to do it in person. When I went down they said that they only take reservations until 11am and them from 4-6. Talk about inconvenient. We tried to go see one of the kids entertainment events one night and we waited an hour an a half before we finally went to bed and when the adult entertainment started it was so loud no one could sleep. I could go on and on. I felt that the hotel was supposed to be the best beach resort in Panama and surely had the price tag to go with it but it was far from what I expected. If I could do it again, I would go elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LovelyinSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolando N, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear Ms LovelyinS

We really appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sheraton Bijao on TripAdvisor. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guest. As we are committed to achieving our guest’s total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us.

We are actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable. Thanks for bring to our attention situations like the service, rooms, and noise. Our departments are aware of your comments and have taken steps to ensure an appropriate solution to what you have mentioned. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniencies you experienced.

We deeply value your relationship with our property and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. If you have any other comments o suggestions, please feel free to contact us.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln, ri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Food was ok. They serve traditional panamian options for breakfast and lunch and then you can choose either ine of the restaurants on premises or a dinner buffet. our favorite, and the most liked based on food was medeteranian. Rooms were clean but need some cosmetic updates, paint is falling off, etc. walls are extremely thin, every morning we were woken uo by either neighbors or people movibg stuff outside. its best if you get a room closer to the ocean vs overloiking the resort. trust me, it gets really loud on the weekends when they experience the peak times and you ll feel like your room does not have windows. staff was friendly but verry little english. on the first day we almost missed lunch because of that. This hotel is definitely a lower class that it is being advertised...three stars max.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katrina508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Ms. Katrina50

Thank you for taking the time to share your Sheraton experience at our Trip Advisor Portal and for giving us your comments. At Sheraton Bijao, we take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. We are actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable.

We are glad you enjoyed at our Mediterranean Restaurant “Los Olivos”, we will forward your feedback to our Food and Beverage team for they can be proud of it and keep giving their best. In the other hand, thank you for your suggestions for our rooms. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced with the noise.

We deeply value your relationship with Sheraton Bijao and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best.

If you have any further comments please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,

Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

The room is very spartan. They have 1-king or 2-doubles—we were able to get a cot tucked in to comfortably sleep the 4 of us. Very basic rooms , no extras, or warmth/character? Maybe I am over-cautious, but I thought the balconies appeared dangerous for kids. That being said, the girls loved the waterslide, there was mostly always a lifeguard watching, the swim-up bar was right in the middle, so you could watch the kids, the food was fine—such a large variety! We ate at the hibachi restaurant one night and had an enjoyable dinner. The kids joined the kids’ show one night—it really helped that they had spent a couple of hours in kids’ club that day eating pizza and playing—they were familiar with the other kids and the girl that ran it. Piano bar upstairs was very nice—good player, nice bartenders, good crowd. While we didn’t swim at the beach, the waves were quite high, you can walk for a long ways in either direction. What really made the resort a nice finish to our driving trip was the crowd. We were there on a weekend and it had a really nice Panamanian and international crowd. Outside of the rooms, we had a nice time. Good pedicure. Nice gym.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the elevators! Noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KateBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Ms. Brian

We appreciate all your comments and the time taken to evaluate our services and property. At Sheraton Bijao, we take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. We are actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable.

We are glad to know that you enjoy your stay with your family. Our Housekeeping Department is aware of your comments and has taken steps to ensure appropriate solutions to what you have mentioned, thank you for your suggestions. We deeply value your relationship with out hotel and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best.

If you have any further comments please feel free to discuss them with us. Hope to have you back on the near future.


Best Regards,

Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

good service,good location,need to improve the buffet because is poor bad deserts not to much choices on food.
good activities.
i would recommend it for short vacations.
a little bit overpriced since they have no good food no show at night.


  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tabatha36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio S, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Ms. Tabatha36

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion in our Trip Advisor portal. At Sheraton Bijao, we take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. We are actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable.

Our Food and Beverage Department is aware of your comments and has taken steps to ensure appropriate solutions to what you have mentioned. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniencies you experienced.

We deeply value your relationship with Sheraton Bijao and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best.

If you have any further comments please feel free to discuss them with us.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

- Recommended for a duration of 3 nights and 4 days, beyond which it gets a bit boring
- Ocean View facing rooms are obviously a good choice, but at the end it does not matter much as you spend most of the time outside
- Since this is all inclusive, is a win-win for both the hotel and guests. However the quality sometimes suffers on mass production. For eg if you order an omelette, it is thrown on a massive hot plate, maybe at a given time 4 such would be firing up. In other places, dedicated pans and proper time give a better quality. Many restaurants to choose from, and for some advance reservation is required. Sakura, the Japanese one is recommended with the chef preparing the food in front of a group.
- The beach is bit black because of the volcanic silt. But recommended to walk about 1-2 kms on each side. Nice views and walks are very refreshing, very picturesque.
- There are daily activities from the hotel, such as Salsa dancing - gives a chance to shake a leg if you never done before, Aerobics in the swimming pool - this was really enjoyable and bigger the group more the fun...teen room with X-box, pool table, kids room, gym if all the food makes you feel heavy....
- It rained while we were in the pool, so that was extra fun...
- The bar offers different cocktails, to try.
- Only downside was that inspite of the 3 nights stay and repeated requests, my room locker was not fixed. On arrival there was no soap, shampoo or towels which was though fixed shortly.
- One extra tip : Couple of kilometers there is Santa Clara beach....there is a nice natural creation worth checking out...

Room Tip: - Ocean View facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Yezdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio S, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Mr. Yezdee

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Bijao, we appreciate all your comments and the time taken to evaluate our services and property.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedbacks are very important for us; because this is the best way to realize our strengths and work on the continuous improvement of our service. We apologize for the inconveniences in your room, our Housekeeping Department is aware of your comments and has taken steps to ensure appropriate solutions to what you have mentioned.

If you have any further comments please feel free to discuss them with us.
Hope to have you back on the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Clara
6.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Playa Blanca
15.2 mi away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino
8.0 mi away
JW Marriott Panama Golf & Beach Resort
15.9 mi away
BlueBay Coronado Golf & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort

Property: Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
Address: Carretera Interamericana, Km 108, Guias de Anton, Santa Clara 0229-00140, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a sprawling Panama beach along the serene Pacific Ocean, our all-inclusive resort has everything you could want for total relaxation. Nestled alongside the stunning Pacific Ocean, Sheraton Bijao is complimented by celebrated sites like the Panama Canal's Miraflores Locks and historic Panama City, the exhilarating capital of the Republic of Panama. Come together and share experiences in our warm Club Lounge as well as the resorts 4 restaurants and private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Bijao Beach Hotel Santa Clara
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort Panama/Santa Clara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing