We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Xmas in Sheraton, we loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Santa Clara
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Xmas in Sheraton, we loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We were at Christmas 2013 in Sheraton Bijao one week (this review comes quite late, we know). We liked our ocean view -room. It was very spacy, clean, we had a balcony and view to ocean. Beds were good, bathroom was good and we had always towels.

Pools were just great and the beach too. We walked long time down to the beach and found fishermen and a little village. Beach is very quiet.

We liked restaurants, especially the Mediterranian. There was nice food in the buffet in Christmas Eve and nice show and beach party. Breakfast was fine, but in some tables there was too much sunshine, it was very hot and that's not nice in breakfast. Needs to have tables more in the shadow.

Drinks and wine were good. Some evenings entertainment was nice but some evenings only piano music. We missed something else in addition piano music, maybe band playing local music?

We thank all the staff having nice time in Sheraton. We want to thank especially one of the managers who is from Ecuador. We don't remember his name, but it would be nice you can tell us his name, so we can contact him when we come next time to Sheraton.

Leena y Jouko de Finlandia

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmigosdeFinlandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    551
    322
    139
    108
See reviews for
502
594
19
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

For us the 2-week trip was a disappointment. The new airport is 15 min away, but has absolutely no facilities, except toilets. On the way back we had to sit for 3 hours in a room packed with people with our bottled water taken away and nowhere to buy replacement.
The hotel was beautiful with multi-tiered pools and well-maintained plants. The beach is great with lots of chaise-lounges and shade to opt for and life guards to warn you if it's not safe to swim.
I found pleasing that the main restaurant was in open air.
However, the room we were given was not a Deluxe Ocean View we paid for, the first one was facing a wall of the building in front with the side balcony facing the pools. The one we were offered a couple of hours later was facing the rooftops and some ocean behind it. My husband said he wouldn't want to unpack for the third time, so we agreed to it, but it was a huge disappointment and not what they claim to be. On top of that, the night-time entertainment (worse then average) was held mostly in the pool area and the loud music was blasting through shut windows and curtains until 10 p.m. Considering time difference it was 11 pm for my kids, who couldn't sleep in such a noise.
Now issues with milk. In Panama milk of paediatric quality is ultra-pasteurized. If let the younger kids drink lesser quality or diluted one, they stop drinking water and it's dangerous in such a heat. The only tiny on-site shop ran out of milk in a few days and we had to take a taxi to a nearest town to buy milk for our toddler, for it never re-appeared. Not to mention little things, like no ice-cream or cocoa for kids, and nowhere to buy it, except taking taxi to another town. On the week-end the hotel got full of local travellers, who often let their kids run wildly along the hallways well after 11 p.m. with the screams well-heard in our room.
Most of tours were not available due to small number of participants. From available ones we did zip-lining ($115 per person), 2-hour snorkelling from a boat ($60 per person with minimum of 5 participants), and a visit to Anton valley (I don't remember the price). As a tour to Panama City was not available, we were offered a taxi for 8-9 hours for $160, cash only. The driver working for the hotel was a nice guy, but he didn't speak a word of English (it's good I speak Spanish), and didn't seem to know the city well, for we spent about an hour circling around trying to find Reprosa (a jewelry workshop, famous tourist site), and were 45 minutes late for the tour.
Other beach options were to ski jet ($75 for 15 minutes), ski-jet to the island to snorkel (around $100 per hour), dune buggy ride ($80 per hour), and some others.
Rooms were moderately clean, however, I missed the crispiness of clean linen, which they seamed to replace partially, removing only obviously dirty ones. They never once in two weeks cleaned the sink or taps. I didn't mind, I was busy making sure the bottled water, soap, hand towels were replaced, for if I didn't leave a note specifying I needed them, they didn't re-appear and I had to call the Client Services to get them.
The restaurant was good, food of good quality and moderate variety, what surprised us, considering the ocean around, was absence of sea food. Only fish fillets. What they served as Sopa de Mariscos or noodles with seafood, barely contained a shrimp or mussel. No lobster, or crab, nothing in 2 weeks.
We didn't attend any a la carte restaurants, for the wait time there would be beyond my patience limit.
In the restaurant, high chairs were kept in the kitchen and we had to wait for a waiter to bring it, sometimes up to 20 minutes, with a fussy toddler in my lap. And again, it was annoying to repeat 14 X 3 times that I need a high chair. Otherwise the waiters were nice and friendly. But if your tour gets delayed (and it usually does) and you come by the time they are removing dishes, the kitchen staff will literally wrest the spoon from your hands and won't let you get the dish.
Generally, the impression was they don't know what international tourists need, and don't want to know. For the prices they charge one can expect (and gets in other places) way better service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Vera B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We took a 2 weeks’ vacation in Panama and all our experience was just great.
The room was a good big size and clean.
All staff was extremely pleasant and made us feel good on our stay.
Although there was no night shows like in other resorts we had been so far, here we enjoy every single night on the lobby listening the incredible piano play Mr. Juan Salazar had offered to us entertaining the night with a very nice and relaxing repertories.
The main lobby bar serves the great Spanish coffee you can have.
I have no words to thank the two lovely ladies they serve me and my wife thru the entire vacation on this bar.
Although I see some fussy reviews about the food, I can say the food was great, extremely diverse touching almost every cuisine. Fruits were present on every meal. The pool restaurant had also served food and fruits thru the day.
The Japanese restaurant offers a nice experience were all inside staff made you feel great.
Steak restaurant located close to the beach is also a good choice.
But by far I would say what we enjoy the most was the Olive restaurant (Italian).
How hard I would want to find a complaint about the food, I can't find one. You will see a very frenetic "Jefe" the food and beverage manager of the resort who was serving and cleaning tables among his crew. All his team on the main food court the tiny beautiful girls and two very pleasant young man’s work well to make every client of the resort enjoy their stay.
What made our stay more enjoyable is Ms. Irene Avalos, resort QA Manager. Her kind style of approaching the clients should be a good learning experience for others.
On the day entertainment you will not miss D.O. and Mike whom both are very good to hold the day with games and dance on the beach and pool. D.O. is also an excellent Yoga trainer every morning at 9:30 AM.
The scenery is great; you can walk miles on the beach on each side of resort.
Resort organise great trips. We chose Anton Valley and Emberra Aborigine Village, both trips operated by Aventura 2000.
This trip was a great experience, beautiful memories that just make me feel sad at this time when writing these lines that I am not there anymore.

Room Tip: It is told that the best rooms are in building #4. We get a great room in building #3. To me they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oradeanul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Very nice relaxing family resort. The resort in itself was so beautiful, even the surrounding area with lush green trees and amazing scenery. The rooms and facilities were neat and tidy. I was very satisfied with the food, I especially enjoyed the Japanese restaurant, the Mediterranean restaurant and the barbecue area by the pool . The beach was just a few steps away, again, very beautiful. In terms of service, I would say that it was mediocre, only because it did take a little while for the tables to be reset and for the waiters/waitresses to come. There were definitely waiters/waitresses that were a bit more diligent over others. Though it was difficult at times to speak to the staff (seeing as a majority of them speak little english) they were nevertheless friendly and tried to communicate with us as best as they could. I must say however that the service at the a la carte restaurants were excellent! For the excursions, we ended up going to the city with the other Canadian families at a very reasonable rate where our tour guide Nelis (who was so pleasant and kind) took us around the old and new panama city (where we visited a beautiful church), the shopping mall and the panama canal. I would highly recommend this if you would like a change of scenery, I personally felt very safe. Like I said, its a nice getaway for families, we managed to bond with other Canadian families which made the experience even more enjoyable. There were a few nights where karaoke was being held which was pretty fun, although not many people showed up. Not much of a night life, as there were not a lot younger adults around the hotel. I would most definitely consider going back again! Thank you Sheraton staff + management for making this a fun + relaxing experience for me and my family!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
138 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

So I'll start by saying, it's no Sheraton--by American standards--I was well aware of this when we booked, which is why I still give it 4 stars. Here's the thing--it's an all inclusive 2 hours from the capital on the coast, in Panama. Overall the resort and grounds are in pretty good shape. The restaurants are meh, the buffet food, was okay to meh, but the little pizza bar was always a good snack. The room was average, but we had a great view of the beach and pools form our 4th floor suite. The bed was very comfortable, but the room was really just for sleeping. Our safe was broken upon arrival--but was fixed after we called the front desk. There was free wi-fi in the lobby which was super useful. The pools were great. There were plenty of pools and enough room that people were spread out. Everything was surprisingly clean and the beach was fantastic! Great white sand--warm water, and a great view.

In terms of all inclusive--it was one of the best I've stayed at--it needs some work on the details--like fixing small broken things in the rooms, and work on the wait staff, and some small landscaping details. Many of the woman who worked there didn't seem to give a crap about you as a guest--the men however, did a very good job and seemed to work hard. It was night and day service between the men and woman which I found odd--typically its the opposite.

If you're looking for a getaway resort that isn't super crowded and doesn't have a hefty price tag--this is a good place to go. It's not 5 stars by any means, and with a little work could be a top notch resort in Panama.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Utah_Birdtographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

From the check in process to the check out the staff was amazing. The room is great; large, exceptionally clean and comfortable. I have no understanding as to why the beach resorts have a huge and serious problem with the water pressure in the shower. This resort was no exception. The shower is barely past a trickle. The problem was reported but was not fixed. The food was barely acceptable. What makes no sense is that breakfast buffet on Sunday ends at 10:30am. There is nothing but bread to eat if you decide to sleep in on Sunday after indulging in the night before activities. I do feel the need to highlight three particular people that were exceptional: Sr. Santiago that received us upon check in, Piano Bar Bartender Srta. Cynthia that always had a smile on her face and was very caring and courteous, and the ever pleasant Srta. Irene Avalos that seemed to appear everywhere to make sure we had what was needed and that was in her control. I only wish the shower had a respectable amount of water pressure and that the food choices were more in line with the quality of the resort.

Room Tip: Ask to make sure the shower has enough water pressure in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldfalco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

All inclusive!!! I was amazed how trained the workers are. Service impeccable, rooms and suite clean and ..no mildew ....the buffet and everything they cook is great...with the exception of the beach bar...where....it is normal...go..and fry...wings, french fries..and all the rest...but service is impeccable!!! Compliment to the trainer!

Room Tip: Any room or suite...but it is important to speak the language to get the service you want!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Clara
6.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Playa Blanca
15.0 mi away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
15.0 mi away
Hotel Campestre
Hotel Campestre
#2 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino
6.4 mi away
Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort
8.3 mi away
JW Marriott Panama Golf & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort

Property: Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
Address: Carretera Interamericana, Km 108, Guias de Anton, Santa Clara 0229-00140, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a sprawling Panama beach along the serene Pacific Ocean, our all-inclusive resort has everything you could want for total relaxation. Nestled alongside the stunning Pacific Ocean, Sheraton Bijao is complimented by celebrated sites like the Panama Canal's Miraflores Locks and historic Panama City, the exhilarating capital of the Republic of Panama. Come together and share experiences in our warm Club Lounge as well as the resorts 4 restaurants and private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Bijao Beach Hotel Santa Clara
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort Panama/Santa Clara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing