We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lied about the driveway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peggy's Cove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Peggy's Cove Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Peggy's Cove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Deer Park, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lied about the driveway”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed there on June 1, 2014. When I made the reservations I asked about the drive to their house because we were on motorcycles and I can't do gravel. I was assured that was not the case and that they have bikers stay all the time. Well, it is gravel and up a hill. I was very upset and the only reply I got when I asked about being told it wasn't gravel was "do you want to go somewhere else?". We stayed because my husband rode my bike up the hill for me already and we were tired, not going to try to find lodging somewhere else at 5 pm.

The house was lovely, breakfast was good, but I don't like being lied to.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowdy910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy C, Owner at Peggy's Cove Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
All of this was an unfortunate misunderstanding. When you made the reservation you asked if the roadways were gravel. I thought you meant the main roads and never gave a thought to you meaning our parking area. When you were checking in you were crying, angry, yelling and very upset. Sharon didn't know what to say to you and that is why you were asked if you would prefer to go somewhere else. This was not said to be mean spirited or discount the way you were feeling, but she was trying to be helpful. We do have a lot of motorcycle tourists stay with us and have never had someone come in the door angry and crying or upset because of the gravel parking area. My suggestion to you would be that when you make reservations in the future that you specify the parking area or driveway as opposed to saying roadway, and that way there will be no future misunderstandings when you travel in Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    21
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
112
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

The hosts, location, breakfast and room were more than we could ask for. Of sll the places we stayed at during our stay this one was our favorite. First time for us staying at a B&B and the experience was great. We would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westside11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Although short (only one night) I had a great stay! The room was nicely appointed, and with a great view of the lighthouse; the free wifi was faster and more reliable than my previous night's hotel (big-name hotel on Halifax waterfront...)!

I was looking for a place to stay close to the lighthouse, as I am an avid photographer and wanted to be close for sunset AND sunrise shots. Without walking on private property (respect the locals!) it is about a 10 minute walk to the lighthouse, but would be faster "as the crow flies". Photography was great right from the semi-private balcony, as you look over a small inlet with working fishermen doing their work, and over to the lighthouse itself.

Breakfast was wonderful, so too was the conversation. I will certainly be back!

Room Tip: There are at least three rooms with direct view of the lighthouse, although everything is so close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingJimmy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed here one night with 3 friends. Dan and Judy were lovely hosts who made us welcome and settled us in quickly. My room was perfect; immaculate with a comfy bed and lots of space. Deck with most amazing view of the cove made the morning magical! Breakfast was excellent- lots of food and Judy even catered to my egg aversion with very short notice!
Have been craving the oatmeal muffins ever since.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brownsgotravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We spent one night is this gorgeous B&B in the middle of a six week trip. With one hotel after another, this little gem was like coming home - actually, it was home with a hell of an upgrade. Firstly, the setting - standing on our balcony was like stepping inside the most perfectly-framed idealic postcard - just stunning. The room was great and the bed was like sleeping on a big fluffy cloud. But what really made this place was the people, Judy and Dan are fantastic hosts. The beautiful home-cooked brekkie, while chatting with Judy and Dan and other travellers capped off a great night perfectly. As we left, Judy gave us a pen that said "come as strangers, leave as friends" - I think that sums it up better than I can. Highly recommend this wonderful B&B.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Thanks SO much to Sharon, Judy and Dan for a perfect stay in beautiful Peggy's Cove! Unfortunately I could only stay one night at the end of my trip, but would definitely return because I had such an excellent time. I had lovely room with its own deck and a view to the lighthouse and the breakfast was fabulous. It was a real treat to be in Peggy's Cove after the last tour bus rolled out in the evening. Can't recommend staying here enough!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DigbyToast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We picked Peggy's Cove for the first 2 nights of our honeymoon in Nova Scotia and it couldn't have been any better. We were greeted on arrival and made to feel at home. Our room had a balcony overlooking the harbour which is even better than in the photos! The breakfasts were simply superb withour being too much and our hosts were very genuine, informative and entertaining. Like minded guests also made our stay a real pleasure and all in all this is one not to miss.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cityhobgoblins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peggy's Cove
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Coastal Inn Halifax
#22 of 28 in Halifax
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peggy's Cove Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peggy's Cove Bed & Breakfast

Property: Peggy's Cove Bed & Breakfast
Address: 17 Church Rd, Peggy's Cove, Nova Scotia B3Z 3R7, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Peggy's Cove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Peggy's Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peggy's Cove Bed and Breakfast Ocean Front property is the perfect destination location,to experience one of Nova scotia's most photographed/painted seascapes in a Designated Preservation Area.Relax on your own private Deck and watch the waves roll in, with a breathtaking backddrop view of the Cove/Village, Lighthouse, and Panorama of the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Peggy`s Cove Bed And Breakfast
Peggy`s Cove Hotel Peggy`s Cove
Peggy's Cove Bed & Breakfast Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing