We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first trip to Alaska”
Review of Currant Ridge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McCarthy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Currant Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We had a wonderful time in Alaska and one of the best stays was a the Current Ridge Cabins. Cynthia and Andy were great hosts. The cabin was excellent and we had both privacy and the comfort of knowing they were there if we needed them. We also enjoyed their dedication to the environment - they had solar panels and were in their own garden.
We had been warned about the road to McCarthy and its poor condition. Well it must have been based old reviews. If you've driven on dirt or gravel roads before this one will be fine. We found about 4 spots that were bumpy and need some care. Don't let the road dissuade you from going to McCarthy. We saw some bears at one point - far enough away to be fun - and the Kennicott copper mine was amazing. Have a safe and wonderful trip - we did.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roy2000Alameda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Currant Ridge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2012

The Wrangall-St Elias Park is a fabulous place to visit and Currant Ridge Cabins is the best place to stay. My husband and son-in-law were sorting fishing tackle in the front yard of our cabin. They looked up and saw a bear walking toward them down the driveway. After some discussion the bear did finally backtrack. Andy's old dog became quite young when he smelled the bear and gave chase. The next morning we were having breakfast when there was a loud snuff at the kitchen window. Everyone jumped --it was the dog(not the bear) asking for a piece of bacon. THE BEAR is a favorite story from our trip. We will definitely return to McCarthy and will stay at Currant Ridge Cabins.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank denise w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We have stayed here a couple times and we LOVE it! Our whole family agrees it is our all time favorite destination (and we have been to Disney World and Hawaii multiple times) Definitely the best place to stay in McCarthy and our favorite in Alaska!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlipFlopGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

One could not believe that you could get such luxury this far into remote Alaska unless you experience Currant Ridge Cabins. The cabins are exceptionally clean and well stocked. Did I mention the amazing hot water supply, comfy bedding, hospitable owners to boot? If you are going to McCarthy, I cannot recommend Currant Ridge Cabins more highly. You will be awed by the beauty of the Alaska and amazed by the how Currant Ridge can offer such quality lodging in that far into the depths of a National Park.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naspinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

As we pulled up to CRC, lo and behold, we had a flat. Not only did they help us jack up our van and change the tire, they directed us to the repair shop barely a mile away, gave us great ideas on place to eat, and got our cabin ready quickly. We had such an amazing time here. The cabins are beautiful and spacious, and whiling away an afternoon sitting on the porch soaking in the sunshine while absorbing the view was just what our weary souls needed. The cabins surpassed expectations, as did the park. Great folks!

Room Tip: All the cabins offer great accomodations with beautiful views.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My wife and our best friend, four legged and furry, stayed at CRC in August 2012 for our 10th year anniversary and I have to say that the cabin and location was perfect. The weather wasn't the best but that didn't stop us from enjoying the trip. We did have some delays due to road construction and that wasn't a problem, it gave me a chance to get out for a smoke. After a short drive down to the footbridge we walked into McCarthy. We did take the shuttle van up to Kennicott the first day, muddy dog allowed, and then biked up the second day via the cart trail all the way to the Root Glacier trail. After every day it was so nice to come back to a warm and cozy cabin at Currant Ridge. Note: Don't close the lid on the heated toilet, your wife will accuse you of dripping on the seat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKDave63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We immensely enjoyed the cabing we stayed in. Comfortable beds with plenty of room in the living area. Lovely view from the front porch. Wrangell-St. Elias met my expectations! I have been a John Denver fan for a long time and love his Wrangell Mountain Song. So on this third trip to Alaska, I got to see the Wrangell Mountains!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank virginia549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Currant Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Currant Ridge

Address: MIle 56.7 McCarthy Rd, McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve, AK 99588
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve > McCarthy
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in McCarthy
Price Range: £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe private Alaskan log guest houses sleep 2-4 easily. Full kitchens, private bathrooms, decks and bedrooms. Easy drive-in access and free parking. We do NOT offer WIFI at our property for customer use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Currant Ridge McCarthy, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing