We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can smell the breakfast coming!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McCarthy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aspen Meadows of McCarthy B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 McCarthy B&B and Inns
Elsing
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You can smell the breakfast coming!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed three nights at the beginning of August 2013. Bonnie gets up really early every morning to bake the muffins and cake for breakfast,they tasted heavenly! Such friendly hosts, excellent welcome and they know how to look after their guests. We were so pleased we chose to stay there a good base for getting to the footbridge.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AUSTIN
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We enjoyed our weekend stay here on a large property. The owners shared their garden with us--fresh tomatoes and cucumbers! The room was large with a kitchen (full size refrigerator) and a table. The grounds were well-maintained and mowed. It helped to keep the bugs down. Outdoors was a covered area where we could enjoy the outdoors and play board games. During the day, the bugs were not bad and easy to stay outside. We would stay again should we visit Wrangell St.elias National Park again.

Room Tip: Had a cabin with ensuite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluebuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My friend and I stayed here on out trip to Alaska in June 2013. We chose this B&B because of its proximity to the foot bridge going into McCarthy. Bonnie is an excellent hostess, bringing fresh muffins or coffee cake each morning. She is also very knowledgeable on the area and the different activities that are available. My friend and I elected to stay in Mom's place since we preferred our own bathroom. Having stayed in many "trailers" this was quite adequate. Even though the trailer is "dated" it was very comfortable and everything worked well. Don't expect long showers since this does have a small water heater.

I would not hesitate to stay here again on another visit to McCarthy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KC8212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This is a great, quiet little place. Need your own transportation to get there--about 2 miles from the footbridge. Wind past a private airstrip, the river, into the forest, and break out in the meadows. Bonnie is great. She will make you muffins or coffee cake in the morning. Cold cereal, milk, coffee and teas are provided. Bonnie says her place is "rustic." But hopefully that is why you chose to go to McCarthy in the first place! Be flexible. Be open to something a little different. Have fun. So glad we ended up there for two nights.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sage85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Our reservation at another B&B in the McCarthy area was cancelled at the (almost) last minute. Bonnie was nice enough to fit us in on a phone call's notice. We stayed at Mom's Place, which was converted from an old trailer. We chose it because this was the only unit with indoor plumbing available at the time. The outdated décor did not bother us, as we were grateful that we were able to find a place to stay to begin with. We were also appreciative that this was off of an unpaved road in McCarthy, AK. However, we were not warned about the small water tank that was in the trailer. The next morning, hot shower water ran out after about 2 minutes of usage. We would have been more prepared had we known about the situation. This caused a small inconvenience. Having said that, Bonnie was warm and welcoming. She baked fresh muffins for us the next morning and brought them over. BTW, do not expect the Wi-Fi to work on a consistent basis. After all, this is rural Alaska.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smyrnagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My husband and I stayed in the large cabin. We enjoyed visiting with the owners, Bonnie and Rick. Bonnie was extremely helpful ahead of time with information about purchasing groceries (in Glennallen) and activities in the McCarthy/Kinnecott area. We were able to cook all our meals in the cabin, which was great. There is no bathroom in the large cabin, but the bath house with toilet and shower was only a short distance away. We enjoyed the freshly baked muffins and coffee cakes Bonnie delivered to our door each morning. A wonderful place to stay in this unique part of Alaska!

Room Tip: We have no complaints about the large cabin, but I believe the newer cabin has a bathroom inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed in the New Cabin - it was wonderful - very cozy, very clean and very comfortable. Breakfast with fresh muffins was amazing. The host, Bonnie, is very friendly, helpful and nice. The B&B is located in a lovely scenery with moose and bears and wonderful scenery all around. This place is simply perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OP255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Aspen Meadows of McCarthy B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Meadows of McCarthy B&B

Property: Aspen Meadows of McCarthy B&B
Address: McCarthy #42, McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve, AK 99588
Region: United States > Alaska > Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve > McCarthy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in McCarthy
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Aspen Meadows Of McCarthy B&B Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing