We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome raft trip”

McCarthy River Tours & Outfitters - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$115.00*
and up
3-4 hr Kennicott Glacier Lake River Raft
More Info
US$95.00*
and up
Private Root Glacier Hike
More Info
US$95.00*
and up
Kennicott Glacial Lake Stand Up Paddle Board Tour
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in McCarthy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Offering guided day and multi-day raft trips and outfitting for private raft trips in McCarthy Alaska, located in Wrangell St. Elias National Park & Preserve. From 4 hour glacier lake and raft adventures, to multi day adventure raft trips, we offer the best trips in the Wrangells. Come with us and discover some of North America's best undiscovered rivers!
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Awesome raft trip”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Jule and Ryan were amazing guides and our trip with MRTO was fantastic. We couldn't recommend this company enough. Our camp night was made even better by the abundance of marshmellows for our campfire. If you are looking for experienced, personable guides to show you the area via raft look no further.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jess d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikMerlino, Owner at McCarthy River Tours & Outfitters - Day Tours, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for the great review Jess! Ryan and Jule still talk about how much fun they had as well! Glad to hear that there was plenty of Marshmallows, what if one were to drop in the fire? Thanks gain, we hope to see you again someday in the Wrangell Mountains!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    11
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
“Me and my Son Havin' Tons o' Fun!”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We took their lake and river half-day trip. Jule shared a lot of her knowledge about glaciers and the valley. Big boulders fell into to the lake beside us from the glacier! Then we went to the river. The lake was calm and serene, while the river gave us a more splashy adventure with crazy white water!! I'd sure do this again if I ever come back to this wonderful little corner of the world. Don't forget your camera or you'll regret it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AK2IBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikMerlino, Owner at McCarthy River Tours & Outfitters - Day Tours, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Glad to hear you had so much fun on your trip with us! All our guides take pride in being personable and laid back so you can feel comfortable asking questions while out exploring the lake. It has been a good year for watching the boulders roll in the GLacier, glad to hear you got a good show! Thanks again, we appreciate your review and look forward to seeing you in the Wrangell Mountains again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McCarthy, Alaska
1 review
“Worth Every second and penny!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We took the short lake and river trip. The experience was amazing and a lot of fun for everyone. Our guide (Jewel) was friendly, fun, energetic and a top notch professional and guide. We will be back in the future!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kaptbleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikMerlino, Owner at McCarthy River Tours & Outfitters - Day Tours, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thanks for taking the time to submit your review! We appreciate hearing everyone's thoughts about our trip. We take pride in the uniqueness of our day trip and the opportunity to explore such a new landscape while rafting some great class III whitewater as well! Hope to see you again and look forward to floating with you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Waves of fun!”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My daughter, I and four others (+ Jewel, our guide), took the 1/2 day trip. We first met Nick (owner) and Jewel while they were monitoring the river as it was expected to rise rapidly, which may have cancelled the trip. I was impressed at this because they put safety above profit. As it turned out, we were able to go. The raft trip was fun and exciting, Class III according to Jewel. Prior to running the river, time is spent floating/paddling on the glacier lake. This part lasted a couple hours. Though interesting and enjoyable meeting and talking with the others, it could have been a little shorter. An hour would have been enough. All in all the experience was very good. Nick, Jewel and the others were all great. I'd recommend it or a longer trip (which I may try in the future).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank elmoredave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikMerlino, Owner at McCarthy River Tours & Outfitters - Day Tours, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thanks for your review Dave! We all had a great day on the river that day, just before our seasonal Glacier Flood! We would like to make our river stretch longer but due to the access to the road system, trips of longer length require an airplane which drastically alters the cost. Exploring the Glacier Lake, its reflections, the newness and ever changing character of the lake can be enjoyed day after day without ever seeing it the same! We look forward to boating with you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitka, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for families”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Each trip is custom and personal, whether people are looking for a rowdy splashy adventure or a tranquil and spiritual connection with otherworldly ice scapes. Definitely worth the trip.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank AMS26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McCarthy River Tours & Outfitters - Day Tours also viewed

McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve
Kennicott, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve
 
McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve
McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve
 

Been to McCarthy River Tours & Outfitters - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing